desmond elliott 2017 make the most of Lovereading join us on facebook
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Knights of the Hawk by James Aitcheson
  

Knights of the Hawk

Part of the The Conquest Series
Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Lovereading view...

Autumn, 1071. The struggle for England has been long and brutal. Five years after the fateful Battle of Hastings, only a desperate band of rebels in the Fens stands between King William and absolute conquest. Tancred, a proud and ambitious knight, is among the Normans marching to destroy them.

If you like James Aitcheson you might also like to read books by James Wilde and Berwick Coates.

Synopsis

Knights of the Hawk by James Aitcheson

The third novel in the compelling Conquest series (1066: The Bloody Aftermath) from the author of Sworn Sword. It is perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwall, Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane. Autumn, 1071. The struggle for England has been long and brutal. Five years after the fateful Battle of Hastings, only a desperate band of rebels in the Fens stands between King William and absolute conquest. Tancred, a proud and ambitious knight, is among the Normans marching to destroy them. Once lauded for his exploits, his fame is now dwindling. He yearns for the chance to restore his reputation through spilling enemy blood. But as the Normans' attempts to assault the rebels' island stronghold are thwarted, the King grows ever more frustrated. With the campaign stalling and morale in camp failing, he looks to Tancred to deliver the victory that will crush the rebellions once and for all.


Browse inside this book

About the Author

James Aitcheson was born in Wiltshire and read History at Emmanuel College, Cambridge, where began his fascination with the medieval period and the Norman Conquest in particular. Knights of the Hawk is his third novel. For more about the author and his work visit his website at www.jamesaitcheson.com

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

22nd May 2014

Author

James Aitcheson

More books by James Aitcheson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jamesaitcheson.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Arrow Books Ltd an imprint of Cornerstone

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780099558293

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools