The IPG Independent Publishing Awards celebrates all aspects of publishing and this year's awards were announced at a Gala Lunch at the OXO Tower in London on Wednesday 24th April. Whilst LoveReading wasn't lucky enough to win this time we had a brilliant time celebrating independent publishing with the other shortlistees in attendance. Last year saw the biggest awards yet and this year the judges said that once again the standard of entries was exceptionally high.

This year the awards were decided by 24 judges. These judges were:  Graham Bell, EDItEUR; Steve Daniels, CPI; Elise Dillsworth, Elise Dillsworth Agency; James Dunphy, Durnell Marketing; Natasha Edmonds, ProQuest, part of Clarivate; Vicky Ellis-Duveen, Clays; Oliver Gadsby, IPG President; Jonny Gallant, Bookspeed; Marzia Ghiselli, consultant; Ashley Gordon, HP; Jane Harris, consultant; Ruth Jones, digital consultant; Alison Kaye, CPI; James Kellow, consultant; Mia Lioni, Zebralution; Kevin Paul, Ribbonfish; Steve Potter, Far Corner; Gareth Rapley, Reed Exhibitions; Rose Sandy, consultant and author; Caroline Summers, PBShop; Phil Turner, Virtusales; Rik Ubhi, consultant; Sarah Walden, World of Books; George Walkley, Outside Context; and Tom West, Publishers’ Licensing Services.

The CPI Independent Publisher of the Year and Clays Children's Publisher of the Year was Magic Cat Publishing. When commenting on the winners the judges said: “Magic Cat has had amazing growth and it feels like it’ll be a major force in children’s books for years to come. It’s showing other publishers the paths to follow on sustainability.”

This year Bloomsbury once more took home the Publiship International Award. The judges remarked on Bloomsbury's growth and initiatives over the last year: “It’s a comprehensive and impressive set of achievements around the world. The Bloomsbury team know exactly what they’re doing in every region and go the extra mile to get the results.”

The World of Books Impact Award had joint winners, Cambridge University Press and newcomer Roll & Play Press. Cambridge University Press shares the award for its Cambridge Open Equity Initiative, with Roll & Play recognised for the impressive and creative impact of One Shot Wonders. 

Winner of the Alison Morrison Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award is Renard Press, who have shown commitment to diverse and gender-balanced publishing from the start, with special focus on LGBTQAI+ writers and queer experiences. The judges said: “Renard is building bridges to a lot of different under-represented groups. It’s truly inclusive and diverse and the output really reflects its ethos.”

Daniel Miele, the regional sales manager at Edinburgh University Press was awarded The Ola Gotkowska Young Independent Publisher Award. Miele is at the heart of EUP's growth throughout 2023 and has a passion for publishing as well as being a respected partner for numerous clients.

The full list of winners of the 2024 Independent Publishing Awards can be found below:

CPI Independent Publisher of the Year

Magic Cat Publishing

PBShop Trade Publisher of the Year

Swift Press

Clays Children’s Publisher of the Year

Magic Cat Publishing

ProQuest Academic and Professional Publisher of the Year

Bristol University Press

PLS Education Publisher of the Year

Jolly Learning

Ribbonfish Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year

Heartwood Publishing

The Bookseller Newcomer Award

Roll & Play Press

Publiship International Award

Bloomsbury Publishing

World of Books Impact Award

Cambridge University Press and Roll & Play Press (joint)

The Alison Morrison Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award

Renard Press

HP Sustainability Award

Renard Press

Zebralution Audio Award

Bloomsbury Publishing

Virtusales Metadata Award

b small publishing

The Ola Gotkowska Young Independent Publisher Award

Daniel Miele, Edinburgh University Press

IPG Services to Independent Publishers Award


We look forward to next year's awards.