The 2024 Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards, in association with The Sunday Times, has announced its ten category shortlists.

The awards are a major annual promotion for sports writing and publishing. They serve to highlight the most outstanding sports books published in the previous calendar year, to celebrate their merits and enhance their reputation and profile.

Among those nominated are some of the greatest sports men and women including Sarina Wiegman, Phil Tufnell, Paul Whitehouse, Sharron Davies, Guenther Steiner, Nick Compton, Sam Quek, Lee Craigie, Andriy Shevchenko, Stuart Broad, Beth Mead, Louise Minchin, Leah Williamson, Rassie Erasmus, Dame Kelly Holmes and Lawrence Dallaglio.

Nominee Stuart Broad, the England cricket hero, commented about being shortlisted: “It’s a real honour for my book to be shortlisted for Best Autobiography at the Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards 2024. Last year was one of the most fun and entertaining summers of my career, so I’m glad that the book could capture some of that magic as well as the other moments of my career. I’ve been blown away by the response to my story, so to be nominated for this award is great.”

The Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards, are judged by an outstanding academy including The Football Writers' Association, The Cricket Society, National Literacy Trust and The Rugby Union Writers' Club as well as well known sporting figures including Christine Ohuruogu, Annie Vernon, Mark Pougatch, Simon Halliday, Emma Paton, Jill Douglas, Amy Williams, Sue Antiss, Simon Brotherton and Jeanette Kwakye.

In addition to the shortlist that has been announced there is also a public vote now open for two of the categories: The Charles Tyrwhitt Autobiography of the Year and Sports Entertainment Book of the Year. Votes can be placed here: - take a look at the shortlists below and then choose your winner.

The Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards 2024 Shortlists in Full:

Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards Autobiography of the Year, in association with The Sunday Times

Broadly Speaking by Stuart Broad
Carl Frampton: My Autobiography by Carl Frampton with Paul Gibson
Kammy by Chris Kamara
The Extra Mile by Kevin Sinfield with Paul Hayward
Unbreakable by Ronnie O’Sullivan with Tom Fordyce
Unique - A Memoir by Dame Kelly Holmes
Who am I? by Danny Cipriani with Ben Dirs
Winning the Fight by Maggie Alphonsi with Gavin Mairs

Vikki Orvice Women's Sports Writing Award, in association with DAZN

The Homecoming by Jane Purdon
Roar: A Celebration of Great Sporting Women by Sam Quek
Other Ways to Win by Lee Craigie
Woman Up by Carrie Dunn
Fearless by Louise Minchin
In Her Nature by Rachel Hewitt

Pinsent Masons Sports Writing Award

Tinseltown by Ian Herbert
Nazaré by Matt Majendie
Unfair Play by Sharron Davies with Craig Lord
Concussed by Sam Peters
Courses for Horses by Nicholas Clee
1923 by Ned Boulting

Children’s Sports Book of the Year, supported by the National Literacy Trust & Waterstones

Gold Medal Mysteries: Thief on the Track by Ellie Robinson & illustrated by James Lancett
Quiet Storm by Kimberly Whittam
Roar by Beth Mead with Matt Oldfield
Football's Champions of Change by Damian Johnson & illustrated by Laura Greenan
Stupendous Sports: Cracking Cricket by Robin Bennett & illustrated by Matt Cherry
You Have the Power: Find Your Strength and Believe You Can by Leah Williamson with Suzanne Wrack

Charles Tyrwhitt Rugby Book of the Year, in association with the Rugby Union Writers’ Club

Brotherhood by Martin Pengelly and introduction by H. R. McMaster Concussed by Sam Peters
The Men in the Arena by Peter Burns & Tom English
Rassie by Rassie Erasmus with David O'Sullivan
The Boys of Winter by Lawrence Dallaglio & Owen Slot
Throwing the Book by Wayne Barnes with Ben Dirs

The Heartaches’ Cricket Book of the Year

Bazball by Nick Hoult and Lawrence Booth
Legacy by Nick Compton
Son of Grace by Vaneisa Baksh
Sticky Dogs and Stardust by Scott Oliver
White Hot by Tim Wigmore & Matt Roller
The Tour by Simon Wilde

Cycling Book of the Year

The Race of Truth by Leigh Timmis
Other Ways to Win by Lee Craigie
Coffee First, Then the World by Jenny Graham
1923 by Ned Boulting
Bloody Minded by Alex Dowsett
The Green Bullet by Matt Rendell

Football Book of the Year, in association with the Football Writers’ Association

“Get Your Tits Out For the Lads” by Sally Freedman
Blue Was The Colour by Andy Hamilton
Match Fit by Johnnie Lowery
The Match by Piero Trellini
Answered Prayers by Duncan Hamilton
Haaland by Lars Sivertsen
Revolution by John Greechan
The Three Lives of the Kaiser by Uli Hesse

The JP Marland Charitable Trust Illustrated Book of the Year

Old Manchester United In Colour by Manchester United & Andy Imrie
The Art of Liverpool FC by Liverpool FC & David Cottrell
Legends at the Lane by Danny Hall & Pete O'Leary
Playing for the Shirt by Michael Clifford
Remarkable Rugby Grounds by Ryan Herman
London Irish by Patrick Lennon
Bromley Cricket Club 1820-2020 Bicentenary History, Ed. by CDM Tooley

International Sports Book of the Year

What It Takes by Sarina Wiegman with Jeroen Visscher
Unstoppable by Mark Hughes
My Life, My Football by Andriy Shevchenko
MAGIC by Roland Lazenby
LeBron by Jeff Benedict
Phil by Alan Shipnuck

Sports Entertainment Book of the Year

The Tourist by Phil Tufnell with John Woodhouse
Everything to Play For by James Harkin & Anna Ptaszynski
The Football Weekly Book by Barry Glendenning & Max Rushden, Ed. by Jonathan Wilson
How We Fish by Paul Whitehouse & John Bailey, illustrated by Carys Reilly-Whitehouse
Surviving to Drive by Guenther Steiner
Newbon, Bloody Hell by Gary Newbon

The winners of the Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards, in association with The Sunday Times, will be announced at a star-studded ceremony on 6th June at the iconic Kia Oval, hosted by Mark Pougatch.

For more information about the Sports Book Awards 2024, visit