The Leviathan

by Rosie Andrews

Relationship Stories Historical fiction Debuts Horror and supernatural fiction Literary Fiction Book Club Recommendations Star Books

LoveReading Expert Review of The Leviathan

Myth, murder and sinister 17th-century superstition - this dazzling debut is a sumptuously atmospheric triumph, and bewitching with it.

Set in the 17th-century during “a time of witches, a time of saints”, an era of “Gods and monsters, myths and legend”, Rosie Andrews’ The Leviathan smoulders with atmosphere and the tension of its turbulent political context. It’s unique enchantments will surely delight fans of The Essex Serpent, The Binding and The Familiars.

It’s 1643 and England is in the throes of civil war when Esther Treadwater calls her brother back to their family farm fearing their father has been drawn into the “corruptions” of their new servant. From the off, the writing dances and enthrals with absorbing imagery and detail to create an utterly immersive world. By the time Thomas reaches home, their father has suffered a stroke and the servant has been accused of witchcraft, whereupon readers are plunged into village life, the courtroom, rural inns, and the increasingly beleaguered family home. Indeed, the siblings’ conflicts and predicaments have you in their thrall as much as the richly-realised world - these are characters who feel thoroughly alive.

Considering himself a forward-thinking man, Thomas has little time for superstition, but it’s not long before Esther is afflicted by unknown internal torments, and he uncoils an uncanny ancient event that might explain their present tribulations. What a divinely dark, accomplished debut this is.

Joanne Owen

The Leviathan Synopsis

A beguiling tale of superstition, myth and murder, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Essex Serpent and Once Upon a River.

She is awake...

Norfolk, 1643. With civil war tearing England apart, reluctant soldier Thomas Treadwater is summoned home by his sister, who accuses a new servant of improper conduct with their widowed father. By the time Thomas returns home, his father is insensible, felled by a stroke, and their new servant is in prison, facing charges of witchcraft.

Thomas prides himself on being a rational, modern man, but as he unravels the mystery of what has happened, he uncovers not a tale of superstition but something dark and ancient, linked to a shipwreck years before.

Something has awoken, and now it will not rest.

Richly researched, incredibly atmospheric, and deliciously unsettling, The Leviathan is set in England during a time of political turbulence and religious zealotry. It is a tale of family and loyalty, superstition and sacrifice, but most of all it is a spellbinding mystery and a story of impossible things.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781526637338
Publication date: 3rd February 2022
Author: Rosie Andrews
Publisher: Raven Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 320 pages
Collections:
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

What To Read After The Leviathan

The Key In The Lock
The Thread
The Art of Waiting
Go Tell the Bees that I am Gone

Rosie Andrews Press Reviews

Darkly compelling and dripping with atmosphere, The Leviathan is a bewitching tale of good, evil and all the shades in-between -- Stacey Halls, author of THE FAMILIARS

It's hard to believe that such an accomplished novel could be a debut - The Leviathan is a gloriously dark story that sweeps you along to its harrowing yet satisfying conclusion. Superb -- Susan Stokes-Chapman, author of PANDORA

Infused with creepy gothic dread and gorgeously written. Fantastic -- Amy McCulloch, author of BREATHLESS

An original and compelling page-turner, beautifully told -- Annie Kirby, author of THE HOLLOW SEA

This debut oozes quality. I wanted to savour the incredible language, by turns lyrical and earthy, and the beautifully researched historical detail ... The Leviathan is a sumptuous treat that positively thrums with tension. A story that does not shy away from questions of religion, personal choice and responsibility, good versus evil ... Great to read at any time, but especially when the night is dark with howling wind and lashing rain. I absolutely loved it -- Lianne Dillsworth, author of THEATRE OF MARVELS

A sinister, twisting tale, thoroughly gripping and utterly absorbing -- Jennifer Saint, author of ARIADNE

An outstanding historical debut, which blends emotional resonance with the chill factor of an M R James story. Utterly compelling from start to finish, The Leviathan is a seething, haunting delight -- Beth Underdown, author of THE WITCHFINDER'S SISTER

A confident and accomplished debut, which skilfully blends historical detail, myth, faith and the fantastic into a dark and compelling story of huge imagination -- Anita Frank, author of THE LOST ONES

Chilling and beguiling, The Leviathan is a novel to be devoured greedily. Vivid and original, I was utterly captivated from the first page until the last -- Joanne Burn, author of THE HEMLOCK CURE

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781526637338
Publication date: 03/02/2022
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

More Books By Rosie Andrews

The Leviathan
The Leviathan
View All Books By Rosie Andrews

Share this book