LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Rory Clements - Author

About the Author

Rory Clements is the bestselling author of the John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. His six acclaimed novels, Martyr, Revenger, Prince, Traitor, The Heretics and The Queen's Man, follow Elizabeth's Intelligencer, John Shakespeare, brother to the playwright William, through the dark underworld of Tudor England as he unmasks the traitors and conspirators who plot against the Queen. The seventh John Shakespeare novel, Holy Spy, is due to be published in February 2015. Rory Clements won the Crime Writers' Association Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award in 2010 for Revenger, and has been shortlisted for CWA Awards for Martyr, Prince and The Heretics. A TV series is currently in development.

Author photo © Madeleine Clements

Featured books by Rory Clements

Other books by Rory Clements

Heretics

Heretics

Author: Rory Clements Format: eBook Release Date: 21/01/2014

An exorcism a siege a stealthy killer What else could go wrong?John Shakespeareintrepid private detective and brother to a rising young playwright in Elizabethan Londonis approached by a condemned Jesuit priest with an unusual proposition: the Father is haunted by the memory of Thomasyn Jade, a teenage girl subjected to brutal exorcism rites a decade past.He wants Shakespeare to track her down and offer reparations for her treatment.As Shakespeare begins his investigation, a plot to assassinate the Queen is underway, and rumors of a papist conspiracy begin swirling from Seville. And when, one by one, Shakespeares trusted spies are horribly murdered, all clues seem to be linked to the mysterious Thomasyn Jade Heart-pounding and packed with fascinating historical detail, The Heretics is a thriller to rival the best of C. J. Sansom and Alex Grecian.

Man in the Snow

Man in the Snow

Author: Rory Clements Format: eBook Release Date: 10/12/2013

A riveting novella set in Elizabethan Englandperfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and The Tudors.Just a few days before Christmas, a reluctant John Shakespearebrother of a rising playwrightanswers a plea for help from Joshua Peace, Searcher of the Dead, but he has no idea the kind of menace he will face. A naked man has been found in a snowdrift, a wreath of holly crowning his head and a bullet in his back.As all around him prepare for the festive season, Shakespeare must unravel a complex plot of passion and treachery and confront a cold-blooded murderer who will not hesitate to kill again.

Traitor

Traitor

Author: Rory Clements Format: eBook Release Date: 05/11/2013

The Elizabethan Bond is back . . .Under the threat of a second Spanish Armada, John Shakespeare is sent to Lancashire to guard over Englands secret weapon and its inventor, the maverick magician Dr. Dee.But nothing is so simple when the country is a hotbed of secret loyalties and civil unrest. During his mission, Shakespeare stumbles upon Catholic priests in hiding, a mysterious Bohemian seductress, andof coursemurder.Between facing off with a nefarious witch hunter and attending one of the first performances of A Midsummer Nights Dream, the intrepid John Shakespeare fights to stay alive while on the hunt for a deadly traitor.

Man in the Snow: A Christmas Crime (a John Shakespeare story)

Man in the Snow: A Christmas Crime (a John Shakespeare story)

Author: Rory Clements Format: eBook Release Date: 29/11/2012

*****FANS OF THE EXPLOSIVE BBC TV SERIES 'GUNPOWDER' STARRING KIT HARRINGTON will love the bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers from Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award*****'[Clements] does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times**********When a reluctant John Shakespeare answers a plea for help from Joshua Peace, Searcher of the Dead, a few days before Christmas, he cannot know what lies ahead. A naked man has been found in a snowdrift, a wreath of holly crowning his head and a bullet in his back. But it is no ordinary corpse. Shakespeare recognises him as Giovanni Jesu, a black man from Venice, a close associate - and some say much more - of the disgraced Earl of Oxford. Who would kill such a man and why? As all around him prepare for the festive season, Shakespeare must unravel a complex plot of passion and treachery and confront a cold-blooded murderer who will not hesitate to kill again.

Martyr John Shakespeare 1

Martyr John Shakespeare 1

Author: Rory Clements Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2009

For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, MARTYR is the first of Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times England is close to war. Within days the axe could fall on the neck of Mary Queen of Scots, and Spain is already gathering a battle fleet to avenge her. Tensions in Elizabeth I's government are at breaking point. At the eye of the storm is John Shakespeare, chief intelligencer in the secret service of Sir Francis Walsingham. When an intercept reveals a plot to assassinate England's 'sea dragon', Francis Drake, Shakespeare is ordered to protect him. With Drake on land fitting out his ships, he is frighteningly vulnerable. If he dies, England will be open to invasion. In a London rife with rumour, Shakespeare must decide which leads to follow, which to ignore. When a high-born young woman is found mutilated and murdered at an illicit printing house, it is political gunpowder - and he has no option but to investigate. But why is Shakespeare shadowed at every turn by the brutal Richard Topcliffe, the blood-drenched priest-hunter who claims intimacy with Queen Elizabeth herself? What is Topcliffe's interest in a housemaid, whose baby has been stolen? And where do two fugitive Jesuit priests fit into the puzzle, one happy to die for God, the other to kill for Him? From the splendour and intrigue of the royal court, to the sleek warships of Her Majesty's Navy and the teeming brothels of Southwark, Shakespeare soon learns that nothing is as it seems . . .

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.roryclements.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Rory Clements on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more