Betrayal

by David Gilman

Part of the The Englishman Series

Political / Legal Thrillers Crime and Mystery Action Adventure Thriller and Suspense Books of the Month Star Books

LoveReading Expert Review of Betrayal

A vividly intense spy thriller overflowing with courage, resourceful smarts, and a whole host of furious combative encounters.

If you get your reading kicks diving into an espionage thriller full of heart-pounding action running alongside a wickedly intricate plot, then hello, THIS is your book. Former Foreign Legion operative Dan Raglan is called to support a Pentagon intelligence officer and ex-comrade. Joining the first novel The Englishman as a LoveReading Star Book, Betrayal continues The Englishman Series in fine style and cements these books as ones to follow. This is a series where you can just throw yourself in with abandon and trust in David Gilman. The main man Raglan is most definitely someone you would want on your side, however he operates within a murky field of grey obeying his own set of rules and conscience. The other characters support the energy that builds around Raglan, and highlight his essence and caliber. The highly volatile nature of work within the intelligence community is confirmed and trust is in very short supply. As with the first novel Raglan travels to different countries, and the fiery finale plays out in the Honduran rainforest. Charging around the world works so successfully as it not only adds to the intensity but also confirms Raglan’s skills and willingness to do whatever is needed. Allowing a much-needed escape from reality, Betrayal is an absolute corker of a read and as energising and satisfying as can be.

Liz Robinson

Betrayal Synopsis

Dan Raglan, former Foreign Legion fighter, alias The Englishman, returns. The new high-octane international thriller from David Gilman.

Someone's going to start a war. And Raglan's just walked into the kill zone.

It has been many years since Dan Raglan served in the French Foreign Legion, but the bonds forged in adversity are unbreakable and when one of his comrades calls for help, Raglan is duty-bound to answer.

An ex-legionnaire, now an intelligence officer at the Pentagon, disappears. He leaves only this message: should he ever go missing, contact Raglan. But Raglan's not the only one looking for the missing man. From the backstreets of Marseilles, Raglan finds himself following a trail of death that will lead him to Florida, to the camaraderie of a Vietnam vet in Washington D.C., and into the heart of a bitter battle in the upper echelons of the US intelligence community.

Pursued by both the CIA and a rogue female FBI agent, Raglan's search will place him in the cross hairs of an altogether more lethal organisation. Tracking his old comrade, he finds himself in the midst of deadly conspiracy, and on a journey to a fatal confrontation deep in the Honduran rainforest.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781838931438
Publication date: 6th January 2022
Author: David Gilman
Publisher: Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book an imprint of Head of Zeus
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 544 pages
Collections:
Primary Genre Espionage and Spy Thriller
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

What To Read After Betrayal

The Angry Sea
The Constant Gardener
Never
The Spy and the Traitor The Greatest Espionage Story of the Cold War

Betrayal Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

Hi-octane thriller. Highly recommended to all fans of thriller fiction.

If you like Hi- octane thrillers, then this is the book for you. Like Reacher or Rapp then this the book for you. Raglan AKA as the Englishman drags readers through the pages packed with intrigue, deceit and corruption. Corruption that reaches into the law enforcement agencies such as the FBI and infiltration at government level via the Pentagon
Raglan barrels through the pages that are battle singed, unsure who is his enemy or his friend. On the trail of one murdered agent and one missing. He is unsure who is behind it and who he can trust. He must trust in his skills, learnt in the Foreign Legion's special forces and hope he comes out on the victorious side.
This is the second book in the Englishman series but stands well on its own and is a brilliant read. Perfect for fans of Lee Child and Vince Flynn. A brilliant read that drags the reader through the story and keeps them turning the pages. An exciting, well written tale that I would recommend to all readers of thriller fiction.

Alfred Nobile

What a fast, moving action packed thriller.

Betrayal is the second book in the Englishman series by David Gilman, but it works as a stand alone novel.
This is a fast-moving, action-packed thriller. It features Dan Raglan, ex French Foreign Legionnaire who answers a call to help an old comrade. But searching for this missing colleague, leads Raglan to uncover a much bigger conspiracy. Pursued by a rogue FBI employee and a ruthless assassin, it is a race to uncover who is behind the conspiracy and kill them unless they get to him first. Raglan is a man with morals not a mindless killing machine, so you are rooting for him throughout.
Although the book is over 500 pages, I romped through it in 2 days and was totally hooked. I can thoroughly recommend this.

Carolyn Fraser

A blistering paced action packed book, that won’t release you until the end.

I have never read any of this author before so was interested to read this book, as the back story sound good.
I was not disappointed, the story moved along at a blistering pace. The main character reminded me a lot of Jack Reacher from Lee Child books. The story was written so well and dragged you in and release you until the end. It was actioned packed from start to finsh.
I loved it and will be looking for more by this author.

Mrs Maz Tucker

An adrenalin-fuelled thriller. Draw the blinds, put the phone on silent and find a comfy chair ... you're in for a breath taking ride!

It felt quite nostalgic to read this fast paced international thriller. A tip off through his former Foreign Legion networks leads the enigmatic hero Raglan to France, the USA and central America to settle a few scores. We are treated to FBI/CIA turf wars, double agents, complicated car chases, modern subterfuge and a hint of sexual attraction. It's a great read but not the best if you are squeamish about violent encounters.

Annie Day

An action packed thriller, featuring the sometimes enigmatic hero, Dan Raglan.

“Betrayal” is the second in a series in which Dan Raglan, the Englishman, is the central character. Raglan spent several years in the French Foreign Legion, where he forged strong bonds with several of his comrades. These tough men knew that they could rely on each other, even though they had retired from the Legion. So, when Raglan receives a message that an ex-legionnaire is missing, he resolves to find him.
Links are made between various retired legionnaires and Raglan is led to the United States. The FBI have been tasked to keep an eye on him, but Raglan allays their fears by pretending to be a tourist. However, the deeper his undercover investigations go, the more blood is shed by an unknown assassin. Raglan eventually uncovers a plot hatched by some important people in the U.S government and security services. His determination and expertise lead him into some very dangerous situations as he seeks to find the missing man and prevent the plot from coming to fruition.
This is a fast-paced, exciting book. The plot is intricate, but never muddled; the characters are memorable, without much time spent explaining them and their actions. We are given enough clues to know what we need to know about them.
If you want page turning thriller, “Betrayal” should fit the bill.

Angela Thomas

Gripping page turner that leaves you feeling exhausted!

The second in the series novel by David Gilman (I haven’t read the first) is so fast paced that you’re hoping for a slow chapter so you can draw breath. There isn’t one. Our hero, Raglan, is a clever, quick-witted ex Foreign Legion soldier with the right contacts to help him achieve his aims. He’s astute and always one pace ahead of everyone else. I reckon he anticipates you turning the page before you even know you’ll do it yourself! The story is well crafted, and never lets up. This is full pelt espionage, throwing us from the UK to France, USA and South America and it will keep you fully focussed and as taut as a wire.

Heather Byrne

David Gilman Press Reviews

PRAISE FOR THE ENGLISHMAN:

'The pace is relentless, the action and fight scenes superbly choreographed and Raglan is nicely complex: an action man with inner depths ... The Englishman is a cracking, finely crafted thriller' Financial Times.

'The Englishman is electrifying proof that high-tension international thrillers are back - and with an absolute vengeance' William Shaw, author of Deadland.

'Fight scenes, car chases, sex scenes, lots of foreign locations and dead goons, and even a bondesque escape by snowmobile ... Vivid and inventive' Sunday Times.

'Full of thrills' Literary Review.

'The pulse-pounding pace just never lets up' Peter May, author of Lockdown.

'A sweat-inducing tour de force' The Times.

'Verve, pace, shocks and intrigue, this is spy thriller writing by an author at the zenith of his powers' -- Peter James

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781838931452
Publication date: 04/08/2022
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781838931438
Publication date: 06/01/2022
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About David Gilman

David Gilman enjoyed many careers - including firefighter, paratrooper and photographer - before turning to writing full time. He is an award-winning author and screenwriter.

More About David Gilman

More Books By David Gilman

Betrayal
Betrayal
Betrayal
View All Books By David Gilman

Share this book