LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Liz Robinson - Editorial Expert

About Liz Robinson

I have been an Editorial Expert writing reviews for LoveReading since 2014. Reading has always played a huge part in my life and I can quite happily chat books all day. I previously spent twenty years working as a member of police support staff, including roles as Criminal Intelligence Analyst, Briefing Officer and Crime Reduction Advisor. I relish my time spent exploring all genres, and particularly enjoy novels that encourage my emotions to run riot, or fling me around in time or to unknown places. I’m also thrilled when broadsided by an unexpected twist. I was a judge for the Romantic Novelists' Association Goldsboro Romantic Novel of the Year Award 2018 and the Chiddingstone Castle Literary Festival Short Story Competition 2019 and 2020. I have been judging the LoveReading Very Short Story Award since 2018 and am delighted to be a judge for the Crime Writers’ Association Gold Dagger 2020. I would describe myself as a reader, a lover of all things books, and can be found on Twitter and Instagram as @LRLizRobinson.

Latest Reviews By Liz Robinson

Queenie
A sharp and smart debut novel, containing real heart (both ache and joy). 25 year old Queenie is on a break from her boyfriend, can’t concentrate at work, and is having a hard time balancing her life. Feeling trapped as she moves in with her grandparents, she soon finds her life closing down. Within a few pages I was settled in my chair and didn’t budge as I read this in one wonderfully heady sitting. Popping backwards and forwards in time Candice Carty-Williams opens a doorway into Queenie’s soul. She created a connection for me ... View Full Review
Stone Mattress Nine Tales
Atwood is able to subtly weave a sledgehammer of a story, here are nine tales with themes ranging from revenge to resignation, from grace to greed and all connected by the wheel of time and change. If you haven't read any of her previous works, this is the perfect place to start; a story might link in to another, one might be very short, another dipping a toe into a fantasy realm. You will undoubtedly have your favourite stories and characters, and that is part of the charm, the wit, the clever competent writing. This is also the perfect place ... View Full Review
Clouds of Love and War
Evocative, emotional and compelling, this historical novel may centre on a relationship, yet it throws open a door to the Second World War. Meet Spitfire pilot Eddie and painter Eva as they leave their teenage years at the onset of war. The prologue in late 1940 sets the scene for what is to come, I found myself in the clouds in the middle of a dogfight between Spitfire and Messerschmitt, the outcome of which stayed with me as I read on. Chapter one took me back to March 1939, I slid effortlessly in as Rachel Billington ensures the small and intimate elements ... View Full Review
The Axeman's Jazz
So, so much more than just a crime novel, this beautifully written tale, inspired by real events that took place in New Orleans during 1919, weaves a hypnotic web of intrigue, tension and suspense. New Orleans struts and parades her way through the story, the author brings not only the city but also the time and people vividly to life. A musically talented Mr Armstrong makes an appearance, alongside The Mob, Voodou and a chilling letter from the real killer written in May 1919. The murders that scatter the pages are secondary to the reasons the three main characters need to find ... View Full Review
The Rabbit Hunter
It begins with a nursery rhyme. Nineteen minutes later you die... The sixth gripping thriller in Lars Kepler's internationally bestselling series featuring Joona Linna. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. A hard-hitting rocket of a ride, if you’re squeamish, you may well be peeking between your fingers as you read. Superintendent Saga Bauer enlists the help of Joona Lina, who is serving time in prison, in order stop to a killer named the Rabbit Hunter. The authors are a well established, internationally best-selling writing duo, they seemlessly blend their skills into a story that blasts ... View Full Review
Salt Lane
An assured, intelligent, and fascinating series awaits you. Kent as a location broods its way through the story while DS Cupidi is a strong lead. View Full Review
Slow Horses
This is the start to one of my favourite crime series based around the misfits of the Intelligence Service. Jackson Lamb leads the 'slow horses' who have been banished to Slough House. Set in a seriously twisted world, with blurts of laughter just waiting around the corner, this is a series that just keeps getting better and better. Highly recommended. View Full Review
We Should All be Feminists
An absolute powerhouse of a little book proving that feminism should not be considered a dirty word. This is an essay written by the author from a speech she delivered at a conference on Africa. There are a lot of references to aspects of Nigerian culture, however the thoughts and feelings can easily transfer across nations. Several sentences and paragraphs cause intense reactions of understanding and show just how much of an impact words can have. This would be a perfect gift for both men and women, boys and girls and although small in size it is weighty in impact. View Full Review
The Court of Miracles
Is there such a word as bookstruck? Because that is what I'm feeling right now, The Court of Miracles is a debut, the start of a trilogy, and a stonkingly good story. I believe both young adults and adults will fall for this and I suggest just throwing yourself in and letting go. Find yourself in a reimagined Paris years after the French Revolution has failed with some of the cast of Les Miserables… this is what might have been. As well as cast members (with notable exceptions), there are little references to Les Mis to ... View Full Review
Sight Unseen
A thoughtful yet suspense filled novel introducing the first Sarah Sutherland thriller. Sarah, in her 40’s and divorced, rushes from her day job to care for her father who lives alone. She delights in a second role telling chilling stories to tourists about the Scottish witch trials of the 17th century. I have read Sandra Ireland’s previous three standalone novels and love her blend of piercing reality and folklore. Here we step into a new series and as Sarah narrates, I felt myself sympathising, smiling, and investing in her as a character. Both Sarah and her father ... View Full Review
The Court of Miracles
Is there such a word as bookstruck? Because that is what I'm feeling right now, The Court of Miracles is a debut, the start of a trilogy, and a stonkingly good read. I believe both (older) young adults and adults will fall for this and I suggest just throwing yourself in and letting go. Find yourself in a reimagined Paris years after the French Revolution has failed with some of the cast of Les Miserables… this is what might have been. As well as cast members (with notable exceptions), there are little references to Les Mis to discover along ... View Full Review
Spirited
A beautifully thoughtful, hopeful, and compelling read that ran wild in my mind and tugged at my heartstrings. It’s 1858 and three women are pushing the boundaries of what it is to be a woman. Spiritualism, seances, and the capturing of something otherworldly sit centre stage, dissected by newspaper reports and other material that splinters connections being made. Julie Cohen cleverly reveals information in the reports that increases tension, and left me itching with concern for what was to happen. Occasionally we travel back in time which encouraged my thoughts to hesitate and reform. The relationships unfurled slowly, almost ... View Full Review