Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

A Promise of Ankles

by Alexander McCall Smith

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Books of the Month Family Drama Feel-Good Fiction Humorous fiction Star Books Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of A Promise of Ankles

The most lovely reading experience awaits in this amusing, gentle, and exquisitely written book set in Edinburgh.

Hugely entertaining in a wonderfully witty and gentle way, this forms part of the 44 Scotland Street Series. While you could read A Promise of Ankles as a standalone novel and be perfectly and completely happy, you would be missing out on forming a relationship with the rest of series. From young Bertie (what a joy he is), through to student Torquil, and the Duke of Johannesburg, the variety of residents that greet you ensures an engaging read. As is the case with all of his books, the beauty of this read is in the detail. Alexander McCall Smith exquisitely places the finer points, delivering a lightness of touch that hits with precision. The detail matters, expanding and filling the space, allowing feelings freedom to mutter against Irene and delight in Cyril. By the way, the title is gorgeous, and connected to a certain someone, all will become clear! Chosen as a LoveReading star book, A Promise of Ankles delivers real life with a little extra sparkle and is the most lovely reading experience.

Liz Robinson

A Promise of Ankles Synopsis

We are back in Scotland Street, where Bertie is now living with his father and younger brother, Ulysses, his mother, Irene, having gone off to Aberdeen (at long last, in the view of some). Bertie's father has found a friend, and is trying to get to know her better. Irene, though, may have other ideas. Big Lou is developing her coffee bar, aided by her new business partner, Matthew, father of triplets and dealer in art. Bruce, the confirmed narcissist, meets a charming dental hygienist. Will he reform and settle down? The mysterious Italian nun who arrived in Scotland with Antonia, one of the residents of Scotland Street, is becoming more enigmatic. Her meteoric social rise, however, continues unabated. She is now on the board of the Scottish National Gallery and is planning a rehang of the nation's paintings. Will she get away with that?

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781846975561
Publication date: 5th November 2020
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Publisher: Birlinn Ltd an imprint of Birlinn General
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 256 pages
Collections: Our Favourite Books of 2020, 80+ Humorous Novels - from Wry and Sly Observations to Outright Chuckles and Laughter., 50 Books for Every Dad this Father's Day,
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction
Other Genres:
Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 30/06/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! Not only is a bundle of Orenda Books up for grabs, we also have a £15 voucher for the winner to use on Orenda's new look website! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from April to June. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: The Source be Sarah Sultoon - Published 15th April Facets of Death by Michael Stanley - Published 29th April The Assistant by Kjell Ola Dahl - Published 13th May This is How We Are Human by Louise Beech - Published 10th June Everything Happens for a Reason by Katie Allen - Published 10th June One Last Time by Helga Flatland - Published 24th June This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th June 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

Good Eggs
Saving Missy
Would I Lie to You?
The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781846975561
Publication date: 05/11/2020
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Alexander McCall Smith

McCall Smith’s generous writing and dry humor, his gentleness and humanity, and his ability to evoke a place and a set of characters without caricature or condescension have endeared his books to readers — New York Times Alexander McCall Smith, often referred to as ‘Sandy’,  is one of the world’s most prolific and best-loved authors. For many years he was a professor of Medical Law and worked in universities in the UK and abroad before turning his hand to writing fiction. He has written and contributed to more than 100 books including specialist ...

More About Alexander McCall Smith

More Books By Alexander McCall Smith

A Promise of Ankles
A Promise of Ankles
A Promise of Ankles
View All Books By Alexander McCall Smith

Share this book