Celebrating 30 years of Ian Rankin's Rebus mysteries - gritty detective stories set on the dirty streets of Edinburgh with a delightfully anti-social hero.

30 Years of Rebus...

Ian Rankin has a throng of dedicated followers the world over for his eponymous Rebus mysteries. The latest case, Rather Be the Devil, is out now: a tale of twisted power, deep-rooted corruption and bitter rivalries. If you haven’t discovered this stand-out crime writing yet, we envy you. You can find all of the darkly addictive Rebus cases here. Enjoy.

New to Rankin? See the Reader Reviews on Black & Blue and The Naming of the Dead and get an idea of what you can expect!

On 19 March 1987, Ian Rankin wrote in his diary: Knots & Crosses is published, to not much acclaim and not many reviews.’

30 years on it's a different story:

'Superbly told, impossible to put down...it precisely underlines the treasure that Rebus has become.' Daily Mail

'This elegantly crafted and witty thriller proves this old devil still has all the best tunes.' Sunday Mirror

Ian_Rankin_2014_copyright_Hamish_BrownIan Rankin was born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature.  His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into thirty-six languages and are bestsellers worldwide. Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award for Resurrection Men. He has also been shortlisted for the Anthony Award in the USA, won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis. Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews, Edinburgh, Hull and the Open University.A contributor to BBC2's Newsnight Review, he also presented his own TV series, Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts. Rankin is a number one bestseller in the UK and has received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons.
Author photo © Hamish Brown.

There have been 21 Rebus novels and below is the whole list in order of publication - just click on the title you would like to find out more about:

The Rebus series:

1. Knots and Crosses
2. Hide and Seek
3. Tooth and Nail     
4. Strip Jack
5. The Black Book
6. Mortal Causes
7. Let It Bleed
8. Black and Blue
9. The Hanging Garden
10. Dead Souls
11. Set in Darkness
12. The Falls
13. Resurrection Men
14. A Question of Blood
15. Fleshmarket Close
16. The Naming Of The Dead
17. Exit Music
18. Standing in Another Man's Grave
19. Saints of the Shadow Bible
20. Even Dogs in the Wild
21. Rather Be the Devil

For even more information on Ian Rankin visit his website - click here