Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

twitter book price comparison
Search our site
A Long Way from Home by Cathy Glass Read the opening extract of the brand new Cathy Glass book before its publication on 22/02/2018

The Last Telegram by Liz Trenow
  

The Last Telegram

Romantic Fiction   Historical Fiction   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

Set in WWII this evocative and engaging story of love and prejudice and secrets is perfect for fans of The Postmistress and Pam Jenoff. Silk went from luxury to necessity in the war as life-saving parachutes were made from it. But Geman’s manning the looms, even if they are refugee Jews, raises prejudices and threatens a burgeoning love. Can it survive? The authors family have been silk weavers for nearly three hundred years - no wonder the book takes you so convincingly to the lives of the weavers.

If you like Liz Trenow you might also like to read books by Lucinda Riley, Louisa Young and Amanda Prowse.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Last Telegram by Liz Trenow

The war changed everything for Lily Verner. As the Nazis storm Europe, Lily becomes an apprentice at her family's silk weaving factory. When they start to weave parachute silk there is no margin for error: one tiny fault could result in certain death for Allied soldiers. The war also brings Stefan to Lily: a German Jewish refugee who works on the looms. As their love grows, there are suspicions someone is tampering with the silk. Can their love survive the hardships of war? And will the Verner's silk stand the ultimate test?

Reviews

'A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free, and she does so with heartfelt characters and vivid, scenic detail that will not soon be forgotten. Splendid.'
Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant's Girl

'This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating. Trenow weaves a poignant love story with a fresh and compelling touch ... Tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour.'
Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

About the Author

Liz Trenow

Liz Trenow worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

13th September 2012

Author

Liz Trenow

More books by Liz Trenow
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

liztrenow.com/

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Historical Fiction
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780007480821

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools