book price comparison
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Last Telegram by Liz Trenow
  

The Last Telegram

Romantic Fiction   Historical Fiction   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

Set in WWII this evocative and engaging story of love and prejudice and secrets is perfect for fans of The Postmistress and Pam Jenoff. Silk went from luxury to necessity in the war as life-saving parachutes were made from it. But Geman’s manning the looms, even if they are refugee Jews, raises prejudices and threatens a burgeoning love. Can it survive? The authors family have been silk weavers for nearly three hundred years - no wonder the book takes you so convincingly to the lives of the weavers.

If you like Liz Trenow you might also like to read books by Kate Morton, Lucinda Riley and Judith Lennox.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Last Telegram by Liz Trenow

The war changed everything for Lily Verner. As the Nazis storm Europe, Lily becomes an apprentice at her family's silk weaving factory. When they start to weave parachute silk there is no margin for error: one tiny fault could result in certain death for Allied soldiers. The war also brings Stefan to Lily: a German Jewish refugee who works on the looms. As their love grows, there are suspicions someone is tampering with the silk. Can their love survive the hardships of war? And will the Verner's silk stand the ultimate test?

Reviews

'A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free, and she does so with heartfelt characters and vivid, scenic detail that will not soon be forgotten. Splendid.'
Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant's Girl

'This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating. Trenow weaves a poignant love story with a fresh and compelling touch ... Tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour.'
Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

About the Author

Liz Trenow

Liz Trenow worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

13th September 2012

Author

Liz Trenow

More books by Liz Trenow
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

liztrenow.com/

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Historical Fiction
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780007480821

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools