twitter rebus 30th anniversary Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

The Last Telegram by Liz Trenow
  

The Last Telegram

Romantic Fiction   Historical Fiction   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

Set in WWII this evocative and engaging story of love and prejudice and secrets is perfect for fans of The Postmistress and Pam Jenoff. Silk went from luxury to necessity in the war as life-saving parachutes were made from it. But Geman’s manning the looms, even if they are refugee Jews, raises prejudices and threatens a burgeoning love. Can it survive? The authors family have been silk weavers for nearly three hundred years - no wonder the book takes you so convincingly to the lives of the weavers.

If you like Liz Trenow you might also like to read books by Amanda Prowse, Judith Lennox and Kate Morton.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Last Telegram by Liz Trenow

The war changed everything for Lily Verner. As the Nazis storm Europe, Lily becomes an apprentice at her family's silk weaving factory. When they start to weave parachute silk there is no margin for error: one tiny fault could result in certain death for Allied soldiers. The war also brings Stefan to Lily: a German Jewish refugee who works on the looms. As their love grows, there are suspicions someone is tampering with the silk. Can their love survive the hardships of war? And will the Verner's silk stand the ultimate test?

Reviews

'A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free, and she does so with heartfelt characters and vivid, scenic detail that will not soon be forgotten. Splendid.'
Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant's Girl

'This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating. Trenow weaves a poignant love story with a fresh and compelling touch ... Tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour.'
Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

About the Author

Liz Trenow

Liz Trenow worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

13th September 2012

Author

Liz Trenow

More books by Liz Trenow
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

liztrenow.com/

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Historical Fiction
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780007480821

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools