The Last Telegram

by Liz Trenow

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Sagas and Romance

LoveReading View on The Last Telegram

Set in WWII this evocative and engaging story of love and prejudice and secrets is perfect for fans of The Postmistress and Pam Jenoff. Silk went from luxury to necessity in the war as life-saving parachutes were made from it. But Geman’s manning the looms, even if they are refugee Jews, raises prejudices and threatens a burgeoning love. Can it survive? The authors family have been silk weavers for nearly three hundred years - no wonder the book takes you so convincingly to the lives of the weavers.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Last Telegram Synopsis

The war changed everything for Lily Verner. As the Nazis storm Europe, Lily becomes an apprentice at her family's silk weaving factory. When they start to weave parachute silk there is no margin for error: one tiny fault could result in certain death for Allied soldiers. The war also brings Stefan to Lily: a German Jewish refugee who works on the looms. As their love grows, there are suspicions someone is tampering with the silk. Can their love survive the hardships of war? And will the Verner's silk stand the ultimate test?

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Closing date: 31/08/2018

We are offering THREE lucky people the chance to win the Series 4 box set of the hit ITV period drama (RRP: £24.99). 1796: To defend Cornwall and those he loves from an empowered George, Ross must learn to play the political game on a journey that takes him to the nation's capital and into new perils. While Demelza manages the Poldark’s affairs at home, Elizabeth moves to further secure her marriage. Drake struggles in resigning Morwenna to life with Osborne and the Enyses are tested as never before. Prime Minister Pitt calls an election and uncertainty grips the country. While Ross watches Cornwall suffer under the power of Truro’s MP, George Warleggan, Demelza’s infidelity leaves her strained between her husband and a lovesick Hugh, who is set to rival George in the upcoming election. The Enyses contemplate having a child and Elizabeth seeks the same to secure her marriage. Meanwhile, Morwenna uses Osborne’s affair with her sister Rowella to keep the reverend’s advances at bay and Demelza seeks to reconcile rival local Lords Falmouth and Basset. The draw closes on the 31st August and the winner will be notified by the 7th September.

Enter Now

The Last Telegram Press Reviews

'A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free, and she does so with heartfelt characters and vivid, scenic detail that will not soon be forgotten. Splendid.'
Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant's Girl

 

'This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating. Trenow weaves a poignant love story with a fresh and compelling touch ... Tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour.'
Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Love Letter
My Dear, I Wanted to Tell You
You Left Early
The Pearl Sister

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007480821
Publication date: 13/09/2012
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007480821
Publication date: 13th September 2012
Author: Liz Trenow
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Reading Groups, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Historical fiction,

About Liz Trenow

Liz Trenow worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.

More About Liz Trenow

More Books By Liz Trenow

Cover for The Poppy Factory by Liz Trenow
Cover for The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow
View All Books By Liz Trenow

Share this book