LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Liz Trenow - Author

About the Author

Liz Trenow worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.

Featured books by Liz Trenow

The Poppy Factory

The Poppy Factory

Author: Liz Trenow Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/08/2014

A captivating story of two young women, bound together by the tragedy of two very different wars. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee. With the end of the First World War, Rose is looking forward to welcoming home her beloved husband ,Alfie, from the battlefields. But his return is not what Rose had expected. Traumatised by what he has seen, the Alfie who comes home is a different man to the one Rose married. As he struggles to cope with life in peacetime,Rose wrestles with temptation as the man she fell in love with seems lost forever. Many years later, Jess returns from her final tour of Afghanistan. Haunted by nightmares from her time at the front, her longed-for homecoming is a disaster and she wonders if her life will ever be the same again. Can comfort come through her great-grandmother Rose's diaries? For Jess and Rose, the realities of war have terrible consequences. Can the Poppy Factory, set up to help injured soldiers, rescue them both from the heartache of war?

ebook of the month
The Forgotten Seamstress

The Forgotten Seamstress

Author: Liz Trenow Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/01/2014

A stunning novel set in the Edwardian era about a seamstress working at Buckingham Palace. Full of drama, betrayal and addictive real-life detail - The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Joanne Harris. It is 1914 and Maria, a shy teenager, is appointed to Buckingham Palace as a seamstress for the royal family. She is lucky enough to meet the Prince of Wales and is captivated by his glamour and intensity. But theirs is a doomed love affair and soon Maria's life takes a tragic turn. Torn between passion and integrity, she makes a choice that has devastating consequences ...Can a beautiful quilt, discovered many years later reveal the truth behind what happened to Maria?

ebook of the month

Other books by Liz Trenow

Under a Wartime Sky

Under a Wartime Sky

Author: Liz Trenow Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/02/2020

Under a Wartime Sky is an enthralling historical novel by Liz Trenow, based on real-life events at a top-secret wartime research station. Telling the story of the heroes behind the discovery of radar, it's perfect for readers of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Hore. 1936: The dark clouds of war are gathering across Europe and the brightest minds in Britain have been brought together in a grand manor on the Suffolk coast. These select few have been tasked by Churchill to develop, in utmost secrecy, an invention that will help win the war and alter the course of history. In this tense atmosphere, an unlikely friendship develops between Vic, a brilliant but shy physicist, and Kathleen, a cheerful local girl helping her mother in the kitchens. Following the news that her brother intends to join the RAF, Kath yearns to do her bit for the war effort. So when Vic tells her they are recruiting women to operate his top secret system, she makes a choice that will change her life forever. As war is declared, the manor finds itself on the front line of a ferocious battle being fought in the skies as waves of German bombers set their sights on Britain. With the ever-present threat above them, Vic fights to solve problems that threaten to endanger the country, and Kath is forced to make a desperate, life-or-death decision . . .

The Dressmaker of Draper's Lane

The Dressmaker of Draper's Lane

Author: Liz Trenow Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/02/2019

The richest silk hides the deepest secrets . . . The Dressmaker of Draper's Lane by Liz Trenow is an immersive historical novel set during the opulence and extravagance of the London silk trade in the mid-eighteenth century. 1768, London. As a foundling who rose from poverty and now runs her own successful dressmaking business in the heart of society London, Miss Charlotte is a remarkable woman, admired by many. She has no need, nor desire, to marry. The people she values most are her friend Anna, her recently-found sister Louisa and nephew Peter. She feels herself fortunate, and should be content with what she has. But something is missing. A small piece of rare silk discovered in a bundle of scraps at auction triggers a curious sense of familiarity, and prompts her to unpick a past filled with extraordinary secrets and revelations . . .

In Love and War

In Love and War

Author: Liz Trenow Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/01/2018

From the bestselling author of The Poppy Factory comes this moving novel that brings together a group of women in ways they could never have imagined. July, 1919. At the Hotel de la Paix in the small village of Hoppestadt, three women arrive at the end of the war, searching for traces of the men they have loved and lost to the battlefields of Ypres in Belgium. Ruby is just twenty-one, a shy Englishwoman looking for the grave of her husband. Alice is only a little older but brimming with confidence; she has travelled all the way from America, convinced her brother is in fact still alive. Then there's Martha, and her son Otto, who are not all they seem to be . . . The three women in Liz Trenow's In Love and War may have very different backgrounds, but they are united in their search for reconciliation: to resolve themselves to what the war took from them, but also to what life might still promise for the future . . .

In Love and War

In Love and War

Author: Liz Trenow Format: eBook Release Date: 25/01/2018

Three women, once enemies. Their secrets will unite them.The First World War is over. The war-torn area of Flanders near Ypres is no longer home to troops, but groups of tourists. Controversial battlefield tourism now brings hundreds of people to the area, all desperate to witness first-hand where their loved ones fell.At the Hotel de la Paix in the small village of Hoppestadt, three women arrive, searching for traces of the men they have loved and lost.Ruby is just twenty-one, a shy Englishwoman looking for the grave of her husband. Alice is only a little older but brimming with confidence; she has travelled all the way from America, convinced her brother is in fact still alive. Then there's Martha, and her son Otto, who are not all they seem to be . . .The three women in Liz Trenow's In Love and War may have very different backgrounds, but they are united in their search for reconciliation: to resolve themselves to what the war took from them, but also to what life might still promise for the future . . .

The Silk Weaver

The Silk Weaver

Author: Liz Trenow Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/01/2017

*Published in the US as The Hidden Thread* Inspired by real historical events and characters, Liz Trenow's The Silk Weaver is a captivating, unforgettable story of illicit romance in a time of enlightenment and social upheaval. 1760, Spitalfields. Anna Butterfield's life is about to change forever, as she moves from her idyllic Suffolk home to be introduced into London society. A chance encounter with a French silk weaver, Henri, draws her in to the volatile world of the city's burgeoning silk trade. Henri is working on his 'master piece', to become a master weaver and freeman; Anna longs to become an artist while struggling against pressure from her uncle's family to marry a wealthy young lawyer. As their lives become ever more intertwined, Henri realizes that Anna's designs could give them both an opportunity for freedom. But his world becomes more dangerous by the day, as riots threaten to tear them apart forever . . .

Poppy Factory

Poppy Factory

Author: Liz Trenow Format: eBook Release Date: 28/08/2014

A captivating story of two young women, bound together by the tragedy of two very different wars. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee. With the end of the First World War, Rose is looking forward to welcoming home her beloved husband ,Alfie, from the battlefields. But his return is not what Rose had expected. Traumatised by what he has seen, the Alfie who comes home is a different man to the one Rose married. As he struggles to cope with life in peacetime,Rose wrestles with temptation as the man she fell in love with seems lost forever. Many years later, Jess returns from her final tour of Afghanistan. Haunted by nightmares from her time at the front, her longed-for homecoming is a disaster and she wonders if her life will ever be the same again. Can comfort come through her great-grandmother Rose's diaries? For Jess and Rose, the realities of war have terrible consequences. Can the Poppy Factory, set up to help injured soldiers, rescue them both from the heartache of war?

The Poppy Factory

The Poppy Factory

Author: Liz Trenow Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/08/2014

A captivating story of two young women, bound together by the tragedy of two very different wars. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee. With the end of the First World War, Rose is looking forward to welcoming home her beloved husband ,Alfie, from the battlefields. But his return is not what Rose had expected. Traumatised by what he has seen, the Alfie who comes home is a different man to the one Rose married. As he struggles to cope with life in peacetime,Rose wrestles with temptation as the man she fell in love with seems lost forever. Many years later, Jess returns from her final tour of Afghanistan. Haunted by nightmares from her time at the front, her longed-for homecoming is a disaster and she wonders if her life will ever be the same again. Can comfort come through her great-grandmother Rose's diaries? For Jess and Rose, the realities of war have terrible consequences. Can the Poppy Factory, set up to help injured soldiers, rescue them both from the heartache of war?

ebook of the month
The Forgotten Seamstress

The Forgotten Seamstress

Author: Liz Trenow Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/01/2014

A stunning novel set in the Edwardian era about a seamstress working at Buckingham Palace. Full of drama, betrayal and addictive real-life detail - The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Joanne Harris. It is 1914 and Maria, a shy teenager, is appointed to Buckingham Palace as a seamstress for the royal family. She is lucky enough to meet the Prince of Wales and is captivated by his glamour and intensity. But theirs is a doomed love affair and soon Maria's life takes a tragic turn. Torn between passion and integrity, she makes a choice that has devastating consequences ...Can a beautiful quilt, discovered many years later reveal the truth behind what happened to Maria?

ebook of the month

Author Info

Author's Website

https://liztrenow.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more