Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

Search our site
A Long Way from Home by Cathy Glass Read the opening extract of the brand new Cathy Glass book before its publication on 22/02/2018

Killing Floor by Lee Child

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A 2011 World Book Night selection.

Meet Jack Reacher. If you are a woman you’ll fall in love, if a man you’ll want to emulate him – he’s great. He’s a tough, ex-military cop of no fixed address and strangely you’ll feel you need to get to know him – which is great for there are a lot of books - right up to the latest, 61 Hours, with its most extraordinary ending. So meet Jack Reacher and then really get to know him. Killing Floor is the first book in the phenomenal bestselling Jack Reacher series by Lee Child. It introduces Reacher for the first time, as the tough ex-military cop of no fixed abode. Trained to think fast and act faster, he is the perfect action hero for men and women alike.

A "Piece of Passion" from the publisher...

‘I fell in love with Jack Reacher as a character when I first read early material of this very first thriller by Lee Child – here was a hero for our time, trained to think fast and act faster, a strong, silent, pragmatic and ruthless righter of wrongs who also had his tender side and was therefore equally appealing to a woman like me as he was to my male colleagues: although the proofs of every new Reacher thriller are instantly snapped up, this first book remains a favourite of so many people at Transworld for the past fifteen years, and I can honestly say that everyone who works here takes pride in the way Lee has since broken through into the superleague of thriller writers.' Marianne Velmans, Publishing Director at Transworld

Our Editorial Guru, Sarah Broadhurst, has suggested others book and authors that would be perfect for you to read next or to pass on the recommendation - so your gift will keep on giving enjoyment. Her selections for this title are: Stephen Leather, Gerald Seymour, Tom Cain.

If you like Lee Child you might also like to read books by Matt Hilton, Harlan Coben and Andrew Grant.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst


Killing Floor by Lee Child

Margrave is a no-account little town in Georgia. Jack Reacher jumps off a bus and walks fourteen miles in the rain to reach it, an arbitrary detour in search of a dead guitar player.

But Margrave has just had its first homicide in thirty years. And Reacher is the only stranger in town. So he is thrown into jail. As the body count mounts, only one thing is for sure: They picked the wrong guy to take the fall.

Click below to listen to an extract from the audiobook edition of this title.

Killing Floor by Lee Child by Random House Audiobooks

Browse inside this book


‘Lee Child's tough but humane Jack Reacher is the coolest continuing series character now on offer’ - Stephen King

‘Races along, spattering blood and body parts on the way’ – Sunday Telegraph

About the Author

Lee Child

Lee Child is one of the world’s leading thriller writers. His novels consistently achieve the number one slot in hardback and paperback on bestsellers lists on both sides of the Atlantic, and are translated into over forty languages. His debut novel, Killing Floor, was written after he was made redundant from his television job in Manchester, and introduced his much-admired maverick hero, the former military cop Jack Reacher. Born in Coventry, he now lives in America.

The 2013 Crime Writers’ Association Diamond Dagger was awarded to Lee Child.

Members of the CWA vote for the Diamond Dagger award-winner, which celebrates an author with an outstanding body of work in crime fiction.

Peter James, chair of the CWA, said: “I am delighted that the CWA has chosen Lee Child as this year's recipient. Lee is one of the few British crime-thriller authors to have become a global brand name; he is also an extremely charming and open person and a tireless promoter of our genre.”

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th August 2010


Lee Child

More books by Lee Child
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Bantam Books (Transworld Publishers a division of the Random House Group) an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd


544 pages


Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense



You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.


With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe