rebus 30th anniversary debuts of the month newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Portrait of an Unknown Woman by Vanora Bennett
  

Portrait of an Unknown Woman

Literary Fiction   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £15.00

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Longlisted for the 2007 Romantic Novel of the Year Award. I'm no expert in art, but that had no bearing whatsoever on my enjoyment of this novel. It's enchanting. The author manages to transport you back in time and completely immerses you in this fascinating story. If you liked Girl With a Pearl Earring, you'll love this.

If you like Vanora Bennett you might also like to read books by Philippa Gregory, Tracy Chevalier and Sarah Dunant.

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Portrait of an Unknown Woman by Vanora Bennett

The year is 1526. Hans Holbein the Younger is at the beginning of his remarkable career when he travels to England under the patronage of Sir Thomas More. His arrival brings the Renaissance in painting from Europe to Britain. As a guest in the splendid More household in Chelsea, Holbein begins to paint their first family portrait. Little could he know that in a few short years, the family, Tudor society and England itself would have changed beyond recognition.

The great household of the courtier and scholar, Sir Thomas More, was famous for its liveliness and learning. More had taken under his patronage distinguished astrologers, artists, politicians and men of religion, as well as wards of court, protégés and many others. Two people visiting the great house find themselves irresistibly drawn to Meg Giggs, one of More's foster daughters. One of them is John Clement - dark, tall, elegant - an erstwhile tutor, now practising to become a medical doctor; a man of compelling presence and mysterious background. The other is Holbein himself - warm, ebullient, radical and foreign - sent by the great Erasmus to paint the More family portraits. Meg will find herself powerfully drawn to these two wildly contrasting men. She will love one, and marry the other.

The two Holbein family portraits frame this remarkable story with its background of love, family, and of religious and political turmoil. Vanora Bennett has created an exceptionally rich novel, presenting the atmosphere of this Tudor household as rarely achieved.

Reviews

Praise for 'Portrait of an Unknown Woman': 'Bennett's background detail is impeccable -- part love story, part thriller, all excellently imagined and written.
The Times

'Bennett has a fine grasp of historical detail and a light style'. The Observer 'There is plenty to admire and enjoy in Bennett's portrayal of a society convulsed by radical change!Vanora Bennett is a writer to watch.'
Times Literary Supplement

'Distinguished!Romance, intrigue and art history are confidently blended, and Holbein canvases are afforded starring roles.'
Daily Mail

'If you want a classier-than-average romantic read, one contender is this fine historiccal debut, a 'Girl with a Pearl Earring'-style tale.'
Sunday Times

'An atmospheric, passionate novel set against a backdrop of religious and political upheaval.'
Woman and Home More praise for

'Portrait of an Unknown Woman': 'Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Philippa Gregory will lap up this meticulously researched historical tale!A brilliant study of passion, politics, religion and art.'
Eve magazine

'Fans of Girl with a Pearl Earring will greet this with open arms: it's a similarly intriguing, clever web of art, passion and historical characters!atmospheric and alive with philosophy and treachery -- exhilarating.'
Easy Living

'Rich in period detail, full of human passion, 'Portrait of an Unknown Woman'
mingles art, politics and family drama to evoke the period when humanism was taking root in England. A fascinating tale, skilfully told and highly recommended

.
Iain Pears, author of

'The Portrait' 'An enjoyable read.'
Guardian

'If only history was taught by people like Vanora Bennett!I loved this book.'
Penny Smith, First magazine

'This is a remarkable love story with a background of religious and political turnoil in Tudor England'. New Books Magazine 'An absolute must-read'
Historical Novels Review

About the Author

Vanora Bennett was born and brought up in London. She is a writer and a freelance journalist. She lives in North London with her husband and two children.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd October 2006

Author

Vanora Bennett

More books by Vanora Bennett
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

vanorabennett.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harpercollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
528 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780007224920

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools