LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Scrublands

by Chris Hammer

Scrublands Synopsis

'Stunning ... Scrublands is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory' Sunday Times (Crime Book of the Month) 'A heatwave of a novel, scorching and powerful... Extraordinary' AJ Finn The #1 Bestselling Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself. A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events. Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight. Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

Scrublands Press Reviews

A heatwave of a novel, scorching and powerful... Extraordinary * AJ Finn * Set in the parched Australian landscape, Scrublands is a brilliantly plotted thriller which reveals a town full of brooding secrets. I couldn't put this compelling debut down -- Sarah Ward * author of The Shrouded Path * It's hard not to compare Chris Hammer's Scrublands to Jane Harper's acclaimed The Dry ... [It will]capture your imagination from the first page -- Karen Hardy * The Age * Scrublands is the epic novel about rural life in Australia that we need right now ... It sits right up there with the late Peter Temple's Broken Shore, Garry Disher's Bitterwash Road and Jane Harper's The Dry, even as it extends their focus and reach ... Remarkable * Sidney Morning Herald *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472255136
Publication date: 8th January 2019
Author: Chris Hammer
Publisher: Wildfire an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 496 pages
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Chris Hammer

Chris Hammer was a journalist for more than thirty years, dividing his career between covering Australian federal politics and international affairs. For many years he was a roving foreign correspondent for SBS TV's flagship current affairs program Dateline. He has reported from more than thirty countries on six continents. Chris's non-fiction book, The River, published in 2010 to critical acclaim, was the recipient of the ACT Book of the Year Award and was shortlisted for the Walkley Book Award. Scrublands, his first novel, was published in 2018 and won the CWA John Creasey Debut Dagger Award, as well as being shortlisted for ...

More About Chris Hammer

More Books By Chris Hammer

Cover for Silver  by Chris Hammer
Cover for Scrublands by Chris Hammer
Cover for Silver  by Chris Hammer
View All Books By Chris Hammer

Share this book