by Brian Mcgilloway

Part of the DS Lucy Black Series

Books of the Month - <b>May</b> Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Hurt

December 2013 Book of the Month and eBook of the Month.

Hurt is a tense and page-turning crime thriller about the abuse of power and how the young and vulnerable can fall prey to those they should be able to trust. Hurt is the second case for Brian McGilloway’s young headstrong DS Lucy Black where the mobile phone and social media connections are all she has to go on in a murder case involving a sixteen year old girl. A crime author who is definitely worth discovering.

Hurt Synopsis

Late December. A sixteen-year-old girl is found dead on a train line. Detective Sergeant Lucy Black from the Public Protection Unit is called to identify the body. The murdered girl, Karen Hughes, having a father in prison and an alcoholic mother, had no choice but to live in residential care. With not much to go on DS Black finds the only clue to the girl's movements are her mobile phone and social media and soon discovers her 'friends' may not be all they seem...Meanwhile Lucy's mind is consumed with the recurring trauma of a previous case, where a child lost their life in house fire and the killer runs free. But Lucy has to tread carefully: with a new DI to contend with and the Assistant Chief Constable looking over her shoulder, she can't afford to make a mistake.

Hurt Press Reviews

Praise for Little Girl Lost:


'Effortlessly blending Black's personal woes into her professional life, McGilloway weaves a taut police procedural in an unadorned style that belies the stories complexity.' Irish Times


'Cleverly constructed, packed with vibrant and believable characters...It confirms him as one of the most original voices in the notably expanding field of Irish crime fiction.' Irish Independent


'Assured and grittily realistic tale from an author who is being compared to James Lee Burke and Ian Rankin.' Sunday Business Post

If you loved this, you might like these...

Sleeping in the Ground DCI Banks 24
Insidious Intent (Tony Hill and Carol Jordan, Book 10)
The Naming Of The Dead
When the Music's Over The 23rd DCI Banks Mystery

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781472111142
Publication date: 14/11/2013
Publisher: Constable Crime an imprint of Constable and Robinson
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472111142
Publication date: 14th November 2013
Author: Brian Mcgilloway
Publisher: Constable Crime an imprint of Constable and Robinson
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Brian Mcgilloway

Brian McGilloway was born in Derry, Northern Ireland, in 1974, and teaches English at St Columb's College, Derry. He lives near the Irish borderlands with his wife and their four children. He is the author of six previous crime novels: Little Girl Lost, The Rising, Bleed A River Deep, Gallows Lane, Borderlands and The Nameless Dead. Little Girl Lost was the first novel to feature DS Lucy Black, who returns in Hurt.

More About Brian Mcgilloway

More Books By Brian Mcgilloway

Cover for Little Girl Lost by Brian Mcgilloway
Cover for The Nameless Dead by Brian Mcgilloway
Cover for Bleed a River Deep by Brian Mcgilloway
View All Books By Brian Mcgilloway

Share this book