LoveReading - Editorial Expert

Latest Reviews By LoveReading

Contented Dementia
An indispensable handbook for anyone living with the effects of dementia. The SPECAL method (Specialized Early Care for Alzheimer's) outlined in this book works by creating links between past memories and the routine activities of daily life in the present. Drawing on real-life examples and user-friendly tried-and-tested methods, Contented Dementia provides essential information and guidance for carers, relatives and professionals. View Full Review
Somebody I Used to Know
Wendy Mitchell spent twenty years as a non-clinical team leader in the NHS before being diagnosed with Young Onset Dementia in July 2014 at the age of fifty-eight. Shocked by the lack of awareness about the disease, both in the community and in hospitals, she vowed to spend her time raising awareness about dementia.  This memoir is a brave, compelling and poignant account of living life with dementia. By sharing her story Wendy challenges assumptions and ignorance about dementia. Read this amazing book, it is a gift to all who have been diagnosed with dementia, and their loved ones. View Full Review
Kino and Kinder
Paula Sieber, born in 1889 into the affluent merchant class, lived a privileged life. An entrepeneuse in the dazzling society of Vienna, she prospered until the terrible events caused by the Nazi annexation of Austria overtook her and her Jewish family. Paula's granddaughter, Vivien, has researched her family's history with the forensic skills of her scientific background. She has produced a history both detailed and accessible, which hums with glamour and fear, movement and concealment, travel to a strange country, and the slow realisation of the Nazi's final solution. This book spans a period of great changes in Europe and tells ... View Full Review
The Puppet Show
One of my all-time favourite series’ began with The Puppet Show, a serial-killer thriller like no other. The story follows the hunt for a killer who is burning people alive in the Lake District’s stone circles. I read much of this one through my fingers, by turns flinching and laughing out loud as Mike Craven has this rare ability to combine the macabre with effortless humour, a frantic pace and, in Washington Poe and Tilly Bradshaw, the kind of odd couple protagonists that see me counting each day until their return. Wildly entertaining and not for the ... View Full Review
Heartstopper Volume Four
Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. The bestselling LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the fourth volume of Heartstopper, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. View Full Review
Supertato Night of the Living Veg
It's fright-time in the supermarket, and the veggies are seriously spooked! Strange shapes, weird noises and eerie shuffling - whatever can be behind these ghostly goings-on? Join Supertato and the gang to find out in their latest unmissable adventure! The perfect book to calm bedtime fears and snuggle up with this Autumn. View Full Review
Educated: A Memoir
This extraordinary story of Tara Westover just blew my mind.  Tara was raised in rural Idaho, in a household entrenched in poverty, so removed from society and controlled by a father with rigid religious beliefs and to top it all off an abusive brother. Despite not entering a classroom until she was 17, through education, self-education Tara triumphs with her finally earning her doctorate at Cambridge. This is her story of reinvention, of her finding her feet and her voice after such a traumatic start in life. This is an inspiring tale from one incredible individual and although it was ... View Full Review
The Anniversary
They thought the killer had no motive. But these murders are not what they seem . . . On 15th June 1994, Travis Green - husband, father, upstanding citizen - walked through the streets of Hartstead and killed eleven of his neighbours. The last victim was little Cassie Colman's father. As the twenty-five-year anniversary approaches, Cassie tries to forget the past - even as her mother struggles to remember it at all. Then something hidden in her mother's possessions suggests the murders were not what everyone believes. Cassie can't stop herself from digging up the past. But someone will do anything to keep it ... View Full Review
Blindsighted
This is the first of the Grant County Series, following Police Chief Jeffrey Tolliver and pediatrician and town coroner Dr Sarah Linton. We love Karin Slaughter's writing and her first book is as addictive as her latest. Blidsighted investigates a case full of twists and turns. The relationship between divorced couple Sara and Jeffrey is nuanced and adds more complexity to the case, as they work together to stop a violent and experienced predator and serial killer. The Grant County Series: 1. Blindsighted 2. Kisscut 3. A Faint Cold Fear 4. Indelible 5. Faithless 6. Skin Privilege You'll also find the character, Dr Sara Linton in ... View Full Review
The Crow Trap
The Vera Stanhope Series: 1. The Crow Trap 2. Telling Tales 3. Hidden Depths 4. Silent Voices 5. The Glass Room 6. Harbour Street 7. The Moth Catcher 8. The Seagull 9. The Darkest Evening View Full Review
Game of Hearts
If you love a bit of Bridgerton, you have got to read these books! Twenty years ago, Katy Moran found an old Georgette Heyer novel on a dusty bookshelf and fell headlong into a world of gloriously practical heroines and charismatic heroes and her love of regency romance was born. And aren't we glad she did! In this newly-published paperback trilogy featuring books Wicked by Design, Scandalous Alchemy and Game of Hearts she brings this alternative historical world to life, set in a time in which Napoleon won the Battle of Waterloo. It's 1819 Cornwall and London, in the midst of ... View Full Review
Demon
The sixth story in Matt Wesolowski’s intense and distinctive Six Stories series. The elusive online journalist Scott King makes a stunning return as his Six Stories podcast explores a 1995 cold case and alleged demon possession. Chills will run down your spine as you read this brilliant new instalment that weaves together fiction, our obsession with true crime and horror. View Full Review