LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

LoveReading - Editorial Expert

Latest Reviews By LoveReading

Silver Medal Winner in the Young Adult Fiction category and Silver Medal Winner for Best Book Series at the International Moonbeam Children's Awards 2013 . June 2013 Book of the Month  Spread your wings and hang on tightly as mighty Stormcracker takes you on a roller-coaster ride across the Old Wall and into the frozen north where you can slide down the ice flumes to the subterranean world of the Ice Bear Clan, land on an iceberg, or explore the mysteries of the long abandoned sea citadel. If you like magic there is lethal maelstrom magic conjured up from ... View Full Review
Silver medal Winner at the International Moonbeam Children's Awards 2013 for Best Book Series.    Battles and adventures aplenty in this second book in the Dragonsdome Chronicles series which began with The Dragon Whisperer and is followed by Dragon Lords Rising. View Full Review
Silver medal Winner at the International Moonbeam Children's Awards 2013 for Best Book Series & shortlisted for the Scottish Book Award 2010. A delightful, frothily fanciful story full of dragons, superstitions, epic battles and the kind of adventure that becomes the stuff of legends. Eleven year old Quenelda’s father is Commander of the Stealth Dragon Services and all her life she has longed to join him in the desperate fight against the hobgoblins. But no girl has yet won a place in the Stealth Dragon Services Battle Academy on Dragon Isle. Can Quenelda, with her very special skills, be the ... View Full Review
An all-female high-seas YA fantasy adventure of survival and revenge, with a diverse cast and filmic feel, perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Leigh Bardugo. View Full Review
Set mainly in Syria, this is a book about counter-intelligence and double-dealings during the conflict. It was interesting to get an idea of what is really going on behind the news. We are never quite sure who are the good guys and who are the bad guys, and there are some pretty nasty characters. The game keeps changing and the story has many twists and turns. There's plenty of action-imagine James Bond in a tight spot - and things don't always turn out as one might imagine. It's a cleverly constructed story, but one does need to concentrate as who ... View Full Review
Comprising a range of sister-to-sister, friend-to-friend nuggets of advice, this anthology of personal stories of survival and success seeks to give women the confidence to tackle challenges and flourish on their own terms. The women’s experiences range from making “seize the day” type moves across the world, to getting through grief, to getting qualifications and starting new enterprises later in life. It’s peppered with poems that seek to embolden, some of which have a religious outlook, and is abundant in practical and spiritually-oriented action points and exercises that aim to set readers on the ... View Full Review
Twenty-year-old Jane Beacon is one of life’s mavericks - a young sea-woman who navigates her own life-course against convention, against the odds, against expectation. The setting is 1940 Dunkirk and Jane has risen from joining the Wren Cadets in 1939 to single-handedly skippering a naval cutter to rescue injured soldiers. From the opening pages Jane’s formidable spirit and wit is brought to the fore, as are the prejudices of the time: “Very largely the Navy has accepted us and they know that we Wren have done a huge amount of good work, But there is always a ... View Full Review
According to authors Julia Keys and Jacqui Coles, infidelity has a script, in that the same reasons, excuses and reactions occur over and over, no matter who you are - a viewpoint that certainly seems borne out by the testimonies included in this book. From learning to spot age-old telltale signs that a bloke is playing away from home (among them “stained underpants” and “throwing out his faithful old boxers for new underwear”), to dealing with the shock, and how to emerge a stronger, happier person, this covers the experience from start to finish, setting out ... View Full Review
Any adult who deals with children, and not just teachers and others who work in school settings, would find this enlightening, thought provoking and revealing.  As we learn from the little snippets from the school reports of Paul Dix at the end of each chapter, the author has direct experience of being one of the ‘bad boys’ and now has more than 25 years of working to transform the most challenging behaviour in schools, referral units and colleges to call upon. As a 14-year-old he vowed he would change the way adults deal with behaviour and I defy ... View Full Review
This is a book which any adult who deals with children, and not just teachers and others who work in school settings, would find enlightening, thought provoking and revealing.  As we learn from the little snippets from the school reports of Paul Dix at the end of each chapter, the author has direct experience of being one of the ‘bad boys’ and now has more than 25 years of working to transform the most challenging behaviour in schools, referral units and colleges to call upon. As a 14-year-old he vowed he would change the way adults deal with ... View Full Review
This light-hearted, easy-to-read tale set in the USA, is told through emails, texts, diary entries, and extracts from stories. When her relationship falters Crystal finds herself living back with her loving but interfering Mom. Crystal decides her mum needs a boyfriend and signs her up for a lifelike experimental robot, what on earth could go wrong?! I started reading with a slight hesitation but soon settled down as I got used to the texts and emails laid out on the page in front of me. The characters are inventively introduced by Crystal Hemmingway through different forms of electronic communication. The ... View Full Review
A short self-help book to encourage anyone living a solo life to live it to the full. Author Christine Ingall says that being single or solo doesn’t mean being a second-class citizen. This book is to “help anyone who struggles with their solo life to live it… without excuses, and without fear of being seen to be alone”. The number of people living alone in mid-life, and people describing themselves as lonely has increased. The author offers a number of exercises, uses her own life as an example, and gives encouragement. While an awful lot ... View Full Review