LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

LoveReading - Editorial Expert

Latest Reviews By LoveReading

The Last Paper Crane
This novel moves from poetry to prose, and back again, as it explores a girl’s relationship with her Grandfather.  Mizuki can see something is deeply troubling to her Grandfather Ichiro, but she can’t find its source, except it is somehow connected with an old book and Ichiro’s need to create origami paper cranes from it.    Mizuki’s worries are expressed in verse before we jump back into prose - to the at times brutal description of the day the bomb fell on Hiroshima and Ichiro’s role in that ... View Full Review
The Two Lives of Lydia Bird
This bundle of sweetness is a gorgeous love story, an emotional treat, beautifully written by Josie Silver.  Lydia and Freddie are tight, they're strong, they've been together forever. Nothing can separate them, right? But it does. This is an incredibly romantic story, and unashamedly so. A real feel-good read and much-needed escape from reality. View Full Review
Creative Writing Skills
I wish this book had been produced when I first started teaching, I would have loved all the different ideas and the clear and interesting way the pages are laid out. As an experienced teacher, however, I found that many of the ideas, story starters and writing suggestions a little predictable. Nonetheless, the ideas/brainstorming pages were brilliantly written with some super ideas to inspire, such as the A-Z of character traits, the use of a dice to choose settings for a story and the work on genres and choosing better words. It is a very accessible book and I ... View Full Review
Pet
In their riveting and timely young adult debut, acclaimed novelist Akwaeke Emezi asks difficult questions about what choices a young person can make when the adults around them are in denial. View Full Review
The Wainwrights Pocket Log & Tick List
The Wainwrights Pocket Log and Tick List is a handsome little book, small enough to pop in your pocket and take up into the Lakeland fells. Conveniently grouped in accordance with the famous Wainwright Pictorial Guides, the pocket log has a dedicated page for each of the 214 Wainwright Fells to record details of your walks and keep a tally of your achievements. With a velvet-like cover and gilded pages it has a quality feel and would be a welcome addition to any walker's Christmas stocking. View Full Review
Crown of Midnight
Undeniably THE hottest new fantasy series, this is the highly anticipated sequel to Throne of Glass. Every teenage girl who had Throne of Glass was blown away by it so an eager audience awaits this sequel which promises more gripping action heart wrenching romance plus an augmented reality cover look. Love or loathe Celaena, she will slice open your heart with her dagger. Celaena must decide what she will fight for: survival, love or the future of a kingdom. Because an assassin cannot have it all ...And trying to may just destroy her. She will also leave you bleeding long ... View Full Review
Heir of Fire
This third novel in the Throne of Glass sequence, from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, is packed with more heart-stopping action, devastating drama and swoonsome romance, and introduces some fierce new heroines to love and hate. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones. View Full Review
Joys and Sorrows
This is not precisely autobiography so a bit of a cheat but Casals is a man you must meet. These are memoirs, remembered moments told to Albert. E. Kahn, a lifelong friend of Casals. Casals was possibly the greatest cellist of the twentieth century. He lived in France after his self-imposed exile at the end of the Spanish Civil War. His life was remarkable. He knew everyone, claimed kings and queens and many prominent artists as friends. Not only will this book introduce you to a great artist but also to a man with immense integrity. Carol Drinkwater, from our ... View Full Review
The Lover, Wartime Notebooks, Practicalities
A memoir of 1940s France. Some of you might already know that Duras is one of my heroines. Her novel, The Lover, is one of my all-time favourites. This memoir is complied from a series of four notebooks. Duras recounts episodes from her adolescent years in Indochina and onwards through the war years in France and the Résistance. This work is remarkable, searing in its honesty. Its views of war, grief and loss are unforgettable. Carol Drinkwater, from our Best Autobiographies Ever Blog. View Full Review
West with the Night
Beryl Markham grew up in Kenya and then became a pilot - she was the first person to cross the Atlantic solo from east to west. Her life as a child fooling around with lions in Africa is just as astonishing as her adult life as a pioneering aviator. Elizabeth Wein, from our Best Autobiographies Ever Blog. View Full Review
The Diary of a Young Girl
Anne Frank's diary is eternally relevant, eternally profound, and an eternal testament both to the cruelty of human beings and our inherent goodness. I believe everyone should read this book. Julie Cohen, from our Best Autobiographies Ever Blog. View Full Review
Skyfaring A Journey with a Pilot
A uniquely personal account of the wonder of flight written by a commercial airline pilot who is also a self-confessed aeroplane romantic. The book is crammed with fascinating facts about aviation but also suffused with the poetry of a life lived largely in the air. Carolyn Kirby, from our Best Autobiographies Ever Blog. View Full Review