LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Brian Mcgilloway - Author

About the Author

Brian McGilloway was born in Derry, Northern Ireland, in 1974, and teaches English at St Columb's College, Derry. He lives near the Irish borderlands with his wife and their four children. He is the author of six previous crime novels: Little Girl Lost, The Rising, Bleed A River Deep, Gallows Lane, Borderlands and The Nameless Dead. Little Girl Lost was the first novel to feature DS Lucy Black, who returns in Hurt.

Featured books by Brian Mcgilloway

Little Girl Lost

Little Girl Lost

Author: Brian Mcgilloway Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/05/2012

The breathtaking new crime thriller from the author of the acclaimed Inspector Devlin series. Midwinter. A child is found wandering in an ancient woodland, her hands covered in blood. But it is not her own. Unwilling or unable to speak, the only person she seems to trust is the young officer who rescued her, Detective Sergeant Lucy Black. Soon afterwards, DS Black is baffled to find herself suddenly moved from a high-profile case involving a kidnapping of another girl, a prominent businessman's teenage daughter. At home, Black is struggling with caring for her increasingly unstable father, and trying to avoid conflict with her frosty mother who also happens to be the Assistant Chief Constable. As she tries to identify the unclaimed child, Black begins to realise that her case and the kidnapping may be linked by events from the grimmest days of the country's recent history events that also defined her own trouble childhood.

ebook of the month

Other books by Brian Mcgilloway

Bad Blood

Bad Blood

Author: Brian Mcgilloway Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/05/2018

'Brian McGilloway blends timeless values with ripped-from-the-headlines issues to produce some of the very best crime fiction being written today' Lee Child A young man is found in a riverside park, his head bashed in with a rock. The only clue to his identity is an admission stamp for the local gay club. DS Lucy Black is called in to investigate. As Lucy delves into the community, tensions begin to rise as the man's death draws the attention of the local gay rights group to a hate-speech Pastor who, days earlier, had advocated the stoning of gay people and who refuses to retract his statement. Things become more complicated with the emergence of a far right group targeting immigrants in a local working-class estate. As their attacks escalate, Lucy and her boss, Tom Fleming, must also deal with the building power struggle between an old paramilitary commander and his deputy that threatens to further enflame an already volatile situation. Hatred and complicity abound in the days leading up to the Brexit vote in McGilloway's new Lucy Black thriller. Compelling and current, Bad Blood is an expertly crafted and acutely observed page-turner. 'Set just before the Brexit vote, this book explores important questions of community and identity. McGilloway shies away from easy answers; instead he gives us a tense and beautifully-written crime novel that takes the reader into lives that aren't seen often enough' Ann Cleeves

Preserve The Dead

Preserve The Dead

Author: Brian Mcgilloway Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/11/2015

'Preserve the Dead is storytelling of the highest order from one of Irish crime writing's most unassuming masters' - Irish Independent Detective Sergeant Lucy Black is visiting her father, a patient in a secure unit in Gransha Hospital on the banks of the River Foyle. He's been hurt badly in an altercation with another patient, and Lucy is shocked to discover him chained to the bed for safety. But she barely has time to take it all in, before an orderly raises the alarm - a body has been spotted floating in the river below... The body of an elderly man in a grey suit is hauled ashore: he is cold dead. He has been dead for several days. In fact a closer examination reveals that he has already been embalmed. A full scale investigation is launched - could this really be the suicide they at first assumed, or is this some kind of sick joke? Troubled and exhausted, Lucy goes back to her father's shell of a house to get some sleep; but there'll be no rest for her tonight. She's barely in the front door when a neighbour knocks, in total distress - his wife's sister has turned up badly beaten. Can she help? In Preserve The Dead, Brian McGilloway weaves a pacy, intricate plot, full of tension to the very last page. DS Lucy Black's third outing since the bestselling Little Girl Lost, confirms her as one of the decade's most original female detectives: strong, sensitive and ever determined.

Someone You Know: Part Three

Someone You Know: Part Three

Author: Brian Mcgilloway Format: eBook Release Date: 20/05/2014

The third and final installment in Brian McGilloways thrilling novel Someone You Know!Want to dip into the story before you decide? Start reading Parts One Two of Three now (chapters 1 49). It is not the whole book.Love what youve read? You can buy Part Three (chapters 50 64) or the full-length book on May 20, 2014.An unforgettable and moving thriller for fans of Tana French and Elizabeth George, from the author of the New York Times bestseller Little Girl Lost.Just before Christmas, the body of a sixteen-year-old girl is found along the train tracks on the outskirts of a small town. As Detective Lucy Black investigates the teenagers tragic last hours in search of clues to her death, she realizes that some of the victims friends may have been her most dangerous enemiesand that whoever killed her is ready to kill again. Haunted by the memory of a case gone wrong, and taunted by a killer on the loose, Lucy finds herself pitted against a lethal opponent hiding in plain sight.From an author described by John Connolly as a major force in suspense literature, Someone You Know is one of the most atmospheric, powerful thrillers youll read all year.

Someone You Know: Parts One & Two

Someone You Know: Parts One & Two

Author: Brian Mcgilloway Format: eBook Release Date: 13/05/2014

The first and second installments in Brian McGilloways stunning three-part sequel to Little Girl Lost!Someone You Know by Brian McGilloway can be read either in three parts or as a full-length book (available May 20, 2014). Cant wait that long? Start reading Parts One Two of Three now (chapters 1 49). It is not the whole book.Love what youve read? To get the entire story, you can buy Part Three (chapters 50 64) or the full-length book on May 20, 2014.An unforgettable and moving thriller for fans of Tana French and Elizabeth George, from the author of the New York Times bestseller Little Girl Lost.Just before Christmas, the body of a sixteen-year-old girl is found along the train tracks on the outskirts of a small town. As Detective Lucy Black investigates the teenagers tragic last hours in search of clues to her death, she realizes that some of the victims friends may have been her most dangerous enemiesand that whoever killed her is ready to kill again. Haunted by the memory of a case gone wrong, and taunted by a killer on the loose, Lucy finds herself pitted against a lethal opponent hiding in plain sight.From an author described by John Connolly as a major force in suspense literature, Someone You Know is one of the most atmospheric, powerful thrillers youll read all year.

Gallows Lane

Gallows Lane

Author: Brian Mcgilloway Format: eBook Release Date: 29/09/2009

The heart-stopping follow-up to Brian McGilloway's thrilling debut, Gallows Lane continues the compelling series that captures modern Ireland and showcases a striking new voice in crime writing.In his critically acclaimed debut, Borderlands, Brian McGilloway opened a window onto modern Ireland through the eyes of Garda Inspector Benedict Devlin, drawing comparisons to John Connolly and Ian Rankin for his tight, fast-paced plotting. In Gallows Lane, the Donegal summer dawns unusually hot, and Inspector Devlin returns to the borderlands separating the North and South of Ireland, waiting for a notorious ex-con, James Kerr, to return home on early release. Kerr claims to have found God while in prison, but the superintendant of police wants him to stay on the other side of the border.When a young woman is found beaten to death on a building site in what appears to be a sexually-motivated killing, Devlin is distracted from his assignment of keeping tabs on Kerr. Enquiries into the murder soon point to a local bodybuilder and steroid addict. But days later, the born-again ex-con Kerr is found nailed to a tree-crucified. Increasingly torn between his young family and his job, Devlin is determined to apprehend those responsible for the murders before they strike again, even as the carnage begins to jeopardize those he cares about most. Taking its title from the name of the road down which condemned Donegal criminals were once led, Gallows Lane is a sharp, modern thriller; a stunning second installment in what John Connolly says is "e;set to become one of the great series in modern crime fiction."e;

Borderlands

Borderlands

Author: Brian Mcgilloway Format: eBook Release Date: 18/09/2009

The snow ceased as the assistant state pathologist arrived, black medical bag in hand. I stood by the river as she worked, and watched the sun exploding low over the horizon. From the New York Times bestselling author of Little Girl Lost comes a new voice in Irish crime fiction. Winter 2002. The corpse of local teenager Angela Cashell is found on the Tyrone-Donegal border, between the North and South of Ireland, in an area known as the Borderlands. Garda Inspector Benedict Devlin heads the investigation. The only clues are a gold ring placed on the girl's finger and an old photograph, left where she died. While Devlin searches for the girl's killer, her father has his own ideas about who is responsible-and his own ideas about how to make them pay. Meanwhile, Devlin becomes reacquainted with an old flame eager to rekindle their affair. Then another teenager is murdered, and Devlin unearths a link between the recent killings and the disappearance of a prostitute twenty-five years earlier-a case in which he fears one of his own colleagues is implicated. As a thickening snow storm blurs the border between North and South, Devlin finds the distinction between right and wrong, vengeance and justice, and even police officer and criminal becoming equally unclear.A dazzling and highly lyrical debut crime novel, Borderlands marks the beginning of a compelling new series featuring Inspector Benedict Devlin.