debuts of the month Harry Potter House Eds desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

Jack of Spies by David Downing
  

Jack of Spies

Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   Thriller / Suspense   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £16.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

September 2013 eBook of the Month.

A fast-paced, highly enjoyable classic action adventure novel set just before the outbreak of WW1. Jack McColl travels the world as a luxury car salesman but he is also in the part-time employ of the embryonic British intelligence services feeding back titbits of information he uncovers. Suddenly however he finds himself in the midst of a dangerous and deadly plot by the Germans that could derail any hope of winning the impending war.

This is the first in a new series from this accomplished writer, perfect for fans of Wilbur Smith or Frederick Forsyth.

If you like David Downing you might also like to read books by Alan Furst, Dan Festerman and John Lawton.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Jack of Spies by David Downing

Jack McColl is a globe-trotting salesman for a luxury car firm. He is also a part-time spy for the fledgling Secret Service on the eve of the First World War, doing London's bidding wherever internal or external enemies threaten the security of the British Empire. As 1913 ends he is in China, checking out the German naval base at Tsingtao between automobile demonstrations in Peking and Shanghai. Caitlin Hanley is a young Irish-American journalist with the sort of views that most British men would find dangerously advanced. McColl is no exception, but once captivated he finds himself unwilling to give her up -- even when Caitlin's radical politics and family connections threaten to compromise his undeclared career as a spy. Then the pair become involved in a plot that threatens the Empire in its hour of greatest need . . .

Reviews

Praise for David Downing:

'In the elite company of literary spy masters Alan Furst and Philip Kerr'
Washington Post

'Remarkable ... Downing is one of the brightest lights in the shadowy world of historical spy fiction' Birmingham Post

'A superb sequence of spy novels comes to an end . . . Like its predecessors, Masaryk Station offers tight, intelligent plots full of moral ambiguities and a cast of shadowy characters for whom deception is as natural as breathing. The clammy atmosphere of espionage is wonderfully conveyed.' Marcel Berlins in The Times

'The author not only creates intrigue but, over the course of six engrossing novels chronicles the shifting conscience of his main character. His descriptions ring true, not only in moments of crisis and action but of the quotidian days between: prewar negotiations, threats and reprieves, false alarms, dashed hopes, everyday pleasures, encroaching dread . . . Almost epic in scope, Downing's "Station" cycle creates a fictional universe rich with a historian's expertise but rendered with literary style and heart.' Wall Street Journal on the Station series

'Excellent ... Downing's strength is his fleshing out of the tense and often dangerous nature of everyday life in a totalitarian state' The Times

About the Author

David Downing

David Downing is the author of a political thriller, two alternative histories and a number of books on military and political history and other subjects as diverse as Neil Young and Russian Football.

Author photo © George Lewton

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd September 2013

Author

David Downing

More books by David Downing
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.davidrdowning.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Old Street Publishing

Format

Hardback

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
Thriller / Suspense
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Espionage & spy thriller
First World War fiction

ISBN

9781908699299

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools