Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

make the most of Lovereading book price comparison
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Jack of Spies by David Downing
  

Jack of Spies

Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   Thriller / Suspense   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

September 2013 eBook of the Month.

A fast-paced, highly enjoyable classic action adventure novel set just before the outbreak of WW1. Jack McColl travels the world as a luxury car salesman but he is also in the part-time employ of the embryonic British intelligence services feeding back titbits of information he uncovers. Suddenly however he finds himself in the midst of a dangerous and deadly plot by the Germans that could derail any hope of winning the impending war.

This is the first in a new series from this accomplished writer, perfect for fans of Wilbur Smith or Frederick Forsyth.

If you like David Downing you might also like to read books by Phillip Kerr, Philip Kerr and C. J. Sansom.

Synopsis

Jack of Spies by David Downing

Jack McColl is a globe-trotting salesman for a luxury car firm. He is also a part-time spy for the fledgling Secret Service on the eve of the First World War, doing London's bidding wherever internal or external enemies threaten the security of the British Empire. As 1913 ends he is in China, checking out the German naval base at Tsingtao between automobile demonstrations in Peking and Shanghai. Caitlin Hanley is a young Irish-American journalist with the sort of views that most British men would find dangerously advanced. McColl is no exception, but once captivated he finds himself unwilling to give her up -- even when Caitlin's radical politics and family connections threaten to compromise his undeclared career as a spy. Then the pair become involved in a plot that threatens the Empire in its hour of greatest need . . .

Reviews

Praise for David Downing:

'In the elite company of literary spy masters Alan Furst and Philip Kerr'
Washington Post

'Remarkable ... Downing is one of the brightest lights in the shadowy world of historical spy fiction' Birmingham Post

'A superb sequence of spy novels comes to an end . . . Like its predecessors, Masaryk Station offers tight, intelligent plots full of moral ambiguities and a cast of shadowy characters for whom deception is as natural as breathing. The clammy atmosphere of espionage is wonderfully conveyed.' Marcel Berlins in The Times

'The author not only creates intrigue but, over the course of six engrossing novels chronicles the shifting conscience of his main character. His descriptions ring true, not only in moments of crisis and action but of the quotidian days between: prewar negotiations, threats and reprieves, false alarms, dashed hopes, everyday pleasures, encroaching dread . . . Almost epic in scope, Downing's "Station" cycle creates a fictional universe rich with a historian's expertise but rendered with literary style and heart.' Wall Street Journal on the Station series

'Excellent ... Downing's strength is his fleshing out of the tense and often dangerous nature of everyday life in a totalitarian state' The Times

About the Author

David Downing

David Downing is the author of a political thriller, two alternative histories and a number of books on military and political history and other subjects as diverse as Neil Young and Russian Football.

Author photo © George Lewton

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd September 2013

Author

David Downing

More books by David Downing
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.davidrdowning.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Old Street Publishing

Format

Hardback

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
Thriller / Suspense
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Espionage & spy thriller
First World War fiction

ISBN

9781908699299

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools