The winners of the prestigious Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) Dagger Awards, which honour the very best in the crime-writing genre, have been announced at the CWA gala dinner at the Leonardo Royal Hotel in London.

Winners included Una Mannion, Jordan Harper, Jo Callaghan, and Anthony Horowitz.

Created in 1955, the world-famous CWA Daggers are the oldest and most respected awards in the genre and have been synonymous with quality crime writing for over half a century.

Una Mannion was awarded the Gold Dagger for the best crime novel of the year for her second novel, Tell Me What I Am. Past winners of the Gold Dagger, include Ian Rankin, John le Carré, Reginald Hill, and Ruth Rendell.

Praised but the judging panel who commented that Tell Me What I am is ‘haunting and beautifully written’ saying the character-driven thriller ‘expertly examines the boundaries of love, power and control and will stay with you long after you turn the last page.’

Awarded for the best thriller the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger was awarded to Jordan Harper for his second thriller, Everybody Knows.

Judges commented that Harper’s novel was ‘brilliantly constructed and fast-paced’ taking readers into the ‘heart of the darkness of Hollywood, guided by a sensationally atypical protagonist.’

Maxim Jakubowski, Chair of the Daggers Committee, said: “Yet another remarkable year of crime writing in which our impartial judges have uncovered a crop of wonderful books. In a year in which many of our 'big beasts' had new books, it's refreshing to see so many new names and talents winning. And a momentous occasion for independent publishers who have swooped on the majority of the awards and, in particular, Faber & Faber who have achieved a rare double of Gold and Steel Daggers.”

Highlighting the best debut novel, the ILP John Creasey (New Blood) dagger wet to Jo Callaghan with her novel In the Blink of an Eye which the judges praised as being ‘fresh, original and gripping’.

Jake Lamar took home the Historical Dagger for Viper’s Dream, a daring look at the jazz-scene of mid-century Harlem and the dangerous underbelly of its drug trade. Judges praised its skilled plotting and ‘elegantly spare prose’ creating a ‘pungent sense of the jazz age’.

Our editorial Expert Matt Johnson was shortlisted for the The ALCS Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction for No Ordinary Day, his throught provoking read about the shocking history and ongoing fight for justice after the murder of Police Constable Yvonne Fletcher. Unfortunately he was pipped to the post on the night as the award was given to Nicholas Shakespeare’s Ian Fleming: The Complete Man. Judges found it a ‘deeply felt and meticulous portrait’ that adroitly shows how Bond emerged from Fleming’s own life and career.

Maud Ventura’s, My Husband, translated by Emma Ramadan was awarded the Crime Fiction in Translation Dagger which was praised but the judges for its ‘sharp twist in the tail’.

The CWA Daggers are one of the few high-profile awards that honour the short story. This year the accolade goes to Sanjida Kay for The Divide in The Book of Bristol, edited by Joe Melia and Heather Marks. Judges said it was a ‘tale of social division, loneliness, and how our desire for connection can make us vulnerable, with a bittersweet conclusion.’

Anthony Horowitz won Dagger in the Library award having been nominated for his body of work and support of libraries by librarians and library users. The CWA judging panel said: “Renowned for Foyle’s War and Midsomer Murders on the screen, Anthony’s books are triumphs too; the Alex Rider series, his James Bond, and his Sherlock Holmes novels. Now the author has surpassed himself with standalone mysteries and the endearing, inventive Hawthorne, and Horowitz series.”

Pushkin Vertigo (Pushkin Press) Won the Best Crime and Mystery Publisher of the Year Dagger, which celebrates publishers and imprints demonstrating excellence and diversity in crime writing.

Announced in early spring 2024, Lynda La Plante and James Lee Burke were joint winners of the CWA Diamond Dagger which celebrates the crime writing career of those whose crime-writing career has demonstrated sustained excellence.

The Red Herring Award which dates back to 1959 and recognises individuals whose contribution to the crime genre deserves special merit was awarded to Jean Briggs and Dea Parkin. Darren Wills also received a Red Herring award, which was presented to him privately earlier in the year.

The Winners in Full:

Tell me What I Am by Una Mannion

Everybody Knows by Jordan Harper

In The Blink of An Eye by Jo Callaghan

Viper's Dream by Jame Lamar

My Husband by Maud Ventura , translated by Emma Ramadan

Ian Fleming: The Complete Man by Nicholas Shakespeare

The Divide by Sanjida Kay from The Book of Bristol edited by Joe Melia and Heather Marks

Anthony Horowitz

Pushkin Press

Congratulations to this year's winners, you can look back through the shortlists and longlists here and shop the winners below.