likeyoulove desmond elliott 2017 rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

The Child Thief by Dan Smith
  

The Child Thief

Family Drama   Thriller / Suspense   Historical Fiction   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A page-turning, atmospheric and taut historical thriller, set in 1930s Russia. Perfect for any fan of snowy-scened Scandinavian crime. A stranger appears in a village and soon after a girl vanishes. Only her uncle, an ex-soldier, has the necessary skills to find her and so his hunt begins. Dan Smith’s top notch thrillers are given an extra edge of realism as he has lived in the places he writes about, this time the bleak barren landscapes of a wintry Ukraine.

If you like Dan Smith you might also like to read books by Tom Rob Smith, James Meek and David Benioff.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Child Thief by Dan Smith

From out of the whiteness, a dark figure comes...December, 1930, Ukraine. After the horrors of war, Luka wants a quiet life with his family. His village has, so far, remained hidden from the advancing Soviet brutality - but everything changes the day a stranger arrives, pulling a sled bearing a terrible cargo: the bodies of two children. When the villagers' fear turns deadly, they think they have saved themselves. And then a little girl vanishes. Luka is the only man with the skills to find the stolen child in these frozen lands. And though his toughest enemy is the man he tracks through the harsh winter landscape, his strongest bond is a promise to his family back home...

Reviews

Atmospheric pursuit thriller set in 1930s Ukraine in which war veteran Luka stalks his niece's psychopathic kidnapper across frozen terrain. * BIG ISSUE IN THE NORTH * Smith is a talented writer who incorporates the forbidding landscape of Ukraine as a central character in the cat-and-mouse chase ... the well-constructed plot is nicely complemented by Smith's adept turn of phrase * SUNDAY BUSINESS POST * A terrific book with an original setting ... [it] works both as a compelling thriller, in which readers are drawn into Luka's confrontation with the mysterious child thief, and as the story of one man entangled in historical events larger than his personal battle against a psychopathic murderer * BBC HISTORY MAGAZINE * The tone is dark and disturbing in this tightly written story, tension mounting until the unexpected ending. Sure to appeal to fans of David Benioff and Tom Rob Smith * THE BOOKBITCH * ... a straightforward, beautifully written thriller about surviving hardships against all odds with honor and humanity. * NEW YORK JOURNAL OF BOOKS * This is a pursuit thriller of the highest quality, reminiscent of the classic of the genre, Geoffrey Household's Rogue Male. * IRISH INDEPENDENT * Smith succeeds in creating a narrative that is both an engrossing thriller and the story of a man struggling in the grip of historical events that he only partially understands. * SUNDAY TIMES *


About the Author

Dan Smith

Dan Smith's first 18 years were spent following his parents across the world to Africa, Indonesia and Brazil. He has been writing short stories for as long as he can remember and has been shortlisted for the Royal Literary Fund mentor scheme and the NORTHERN WRITER'S AWARDS. DRY SEASON is inspired by the four years he spent living in the interior of Brazil. He lives in Newcastle with his wife and two young children.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

9th May 2013

Author

Dan Smith

More books by Dan Smith
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.dansmithsbooks.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Thriller / Suspense
Historical Fiction
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781780222868

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools