Lucifer's Tears

by James Thompson

Books of the Month - <b>August</b> Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Lucifer's Tears

December 2011 Book of the Month.

Second in this exciting Scandinavian crime series with Inspector Kari Vaara, loved by readers and other authors alike, sees him investigating a violent murder where the prime suspect is clearly being framed. Fans of Michael Connelly, Dennis Lehane and Jo Nesbo will love this mesmerisingly taut thriller.

Lucifer's Tears Synopsis

Inspector Kari Vaara of Helsinki is thrown into a case that sees a beautiful young woman murdered in an apparent sadomasochistic attack! But his investigation leads to him coming up against a wall of silence that implicates the very highest levels of power. His previous case left Kari Vaara with a scarred face, chronic insomnia and a full body count's worth of ghosts. A year later, in Helsinki, and Kari is working the graveyard shift in the homicide unit. Kari is drawn into the murder-by-torture case of Iisa Filippov, the philandering wife of a Russian businessman. Her lover is clearly being framed and while Ivan Filippov's arrogance is highly suspicious, he's got friends in high places. Kari is sucked ever deeper and soon the past and present collide in ways no one could have anticipated!

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Closing date: 06/09/2018

We are giving FIVE lucky people the chance to win SIGNED Hardback copies of Karin Slaughter's latest book, Pieces of Her. The draw closes on the 6th September and the winner will be notified by the 10th September. The latest, thrilling new book from the No.1 Internationally Bestselling Author, Pieces of Her makes you question how well you know your nearest and dearest. Andrea Oliver knows everything about her mother Laura. She knows she's always lived in the small town of Belle Isle; she knows she's a pillar of the community; she knows she's never kept a secret in her life. but she's hiding something... Then one day, a trip to the mall explodes into a shocking act of violence and Andy suddenly sees a completely different side to Laura. and it could destroy them both...

Enter Now

Lucifer's Tears Press Reviews

'This book is wonderful. It took me right in, dropped me into a strange new world, and kept me captivated from first to last page. James Thompson has done a masterful job!'
Michael Connelly

'Taut and Mesmerising.'
Lisa Gardner

'Fast, brutal, yet told with a sort of laid-back calm.'
Peter Hoeg

'Gritty, dark, and gripping -- I couldn't put it down.'
Meg Gardiner

If you loved this, you might like these...

Two Kinds of Truth
The Late Show
Two Kinds of Truth
Kings of America

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781847562319
Publication date: 24/11/2011
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781847562319
Publication date: 24th November 2011
Author: James Thompson
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense,

About James Thompson

James Thompson, an American, age forty-five, has lived in Helsinki, Finland, for twelve years. He has a Master’s degree in English Philology from The University of Helsinki, where he also studied Swedish and Finnish, in which he is fluent. He is married to Finnish sociologist and theatre instructor Annukka Öljymäki. Thompson is a fulltime novelist. Snow Angels has been published in several languages and over a dozen countries. In the past, Thompson has worked as a bartender, bouncer, construction worker, photographer, rare coin dealer and soldier.

More About James Thompson

Share this book