Susie Steiner - Author

About the Author

Susie Steiner began her writing career as a news reporter first on local papers, then on the Evening Standard, the Daily Telegraph and The Times. In 2001 she joined the Guardian, where she worked as a commissioning editor for 11 years. Her first novel, Homecoming - described as 'truly exceptional' by the Observer - was published by Faber & Faber in 2013. She lives in London with her husband and two children.

Featured books by Susie Steiner

Other books by Susie Steiner

Lucky Louie

Lucky Louie

Author: Susie Steiner Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/01/2018

Persons Unknown

Persons Unknown

Author: Susie Steiner Format: eBook Release Date: 04/07/2017

In this brilliant crime novel from the author of Missing, Presumed, a detective investigates her most personal case yet: a high-profile murder in which her own family falls under suspicion.';[Susie] Steiner populates this hot-button narrative with achingly human characters, but no one compares to the hormonal, mordantly funny mom-cop who will stop at nothing to save her son.'People (Book of the Week)As dusk falls, a young man staggers through a park, far from home, bleeding from a stab wound. He dies where he falls, cradled by a stranger, a woman's name on his lips in his last seconds of life. Detective Manon Bradshaw handles only cold cases. Five months pregnant, in pursuit of a work-life balance rather than romantic love, she's focused on being a good mother to her two children: her adopted twelve-year-old son, Fly Dent, and the new baby. But the man died just yards from the police station where she works, so Manon can't help taking an interest. And as she sidles in on the briefing she learns that the victim, a banker from London worth millions, is more closely linked to her than she could have imagined. When the case begins to circle in on Manon's home and her family, she finds herself pitted against the colleagues she once held dear: Davy Walker and Harriet Harper. Can Manon separate what she knows about the people she loves from the suspicion hanging over them? Can she investigate the evidence just as she would with any other case? Persons Unknown shows acclaimed author Susie Steiner writing her most intricate, suspenseful novel yet.Praise for Persons Unknown';A police procedural as concerned with the mysteries of human hearts as with who stabbed a banker to death at a park in Cambridgeshire. [Full of] winning prose, sympathetic characters and an appreciation of life's joys as keen as a knowledge of its dangers.'The Wall Street Journal';Susie Steiner blends the police procedural and the human drama perfectly.'The Charlotte Observer';[Steiner] has created a masterful mystery within an engaging narrative perfect for Kate Atkinson fans. Readers will be astonished by the unexpected turns at the conclusion,which will leave fans eagerly awaiting the next book. This series needs to be snapped up by the BBC or PBS.'Booklist(starred review)';[An] engrossing stunner, incorporating social justice issues into the narrative, along with superb plotting, dark humor, and excellent characterizations.'Library Journal (starred review)

Persons Unknown

Persons Unknown

Author: Susie Steiner Format: eBook Release Date: 29/06/2017

SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER `I loved it ... Persons Unknown is like walking on quicksand, for reader and detective alike' VAL MCDERMID Second literary thriller from bestselling author of MISSING, PRESUMED. A brutal murder. A detective with no one left to trust. As dusk falls a young man staggers through a park, far from home, bleeding from a stab wound. He dies where he falls; cradled by a stranger, a woman's name on his lips in his last seconds of life. DI Manon Bradshaw can't help taking an interest - these days she only handles cold cases, but the man died just yards from the police station where she works. She's horrified to discover that both victim and prime suspect are more closely linked to her than she could have imagined. And as the Cambridgeshire police force closes ranks against her, she is forced to contemplate the unthinkable. How well does she know her loved ones, and are they capable of murder?

Persons Unknown

Persons Unknown

Author: Susie Steiner Format: eBook Release Date: 27/06/2017

Fromtheauthor ofMissing, Presumed,a complicated detectiveinvestigates her mostpersonal case yet.Detective Manon Bradshaw is five months pregnant and has given up on finding romantic love. Instead, she is in hot pursuit of work-life balance and parked in a cold case corridorthe price shes had to pay for a transfer back to Cambridgeshire. This is fine, she tells herself. She can devote herself to bringing up her adopted twelve-year-old son, Fly Dent, and the new baby. Fly needed a fresh start anywayhe was always being stopped and searched in London by officers who couldnt see past the color of his skin.Yet when a wealthy businessman is found stabbed close to police headquarters, Manon cant help but sidle in on the briefing. Shes horrified to discover that the victim and the prime suspect are more closely linked to her than she could have imagined. And as the Cambridgeshire police force closes ranks against her, Manon is forced to contemplate the unthinkable: How well does she know her loved ones, and are they capable of murder?

Missing, Presumed

Missing, Presumed

Author: Susie Steiner Format: eBook Release Date: 28/06/2016

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice *;A page-turning mystery that brings to life a complex and strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons caseNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR *;NAMED ONE OF THE 10 BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR BY THE WALL STREET JOURNAL ';An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George.'Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer ';Surprise-filled . . . one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year. Detective Bradshaw's biting wit is a bonus.'The Wall Street Journal ';Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over it.'Redbook ';A highly charismatic and engaging story.'Kirkus Reviews (starred review) ';This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French.'BooklistAt thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleepand receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene. Edith Hinda beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Familyhas been missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be bigand that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive. The investigation starts with Edith's loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith's tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to her disappearance. With no clear leads, Manon summons every last bit of her skill and intuition to close the case, and what she discovers will have shocking consequences not just for Edith's family but for Manon herself. Suspenseful and keenly observed, Missing, Presumed is a brilliantly twisting novel of how we seek connection, grant forgiveness, and reveal the truth about who we are. Praise for Missing, Presumed';Smart, stylish . . . Manon is portrayed with an irresistible blend of sympathy and snark. By the time she hits bottom, professionally and privately, we're entirely caught up in her story.'TheNew York Times Book Review ';Nuanced suspense that's perfect for Kate Atkinson fans.'People';Drenched in character and setting, with pinpoint detail that breathes life and color into every sentence.'The News & Observer';You might come toMissing, Presumedfor the police procedural; you'll stay for the layered, authentic characters that Steiner brings to life.'Bethanne Patrick, NPR ';Where [Susie] Steiner excels is in the depth and clarity with which she depicts her characters. . . . It all adds up to a world that feels much bigger than the novel in which it is contained.'The Guardian

Missing, Presumed

Missing, Presumed

Author: Susie Steiner Format: eBook Release Date: 25/02/2016

A RICHARD & JUDY BESTSELLER 72 HOURS TO FIND HER... `Hits the sweet spot between literary and crime fiction - Gripping' ERIN KELLY `For those who love their crime fiction rich in psychology, beautifully written and laced with dark humour. Dive in' LUCIE WHITEHOUSE A MISSING GIRLEdith Hind is gone, leaving just her coat, a smear of blood and a half-open door. A DESPERATE FAMILYEach of her friends and relatives has a version of the truth. But none quite adds up. A DETECTIVE AT BREAKING POINTThe press grows hungrier by the day. Can DS Manon Bradshaw fend them off, before a missing persons case becomes a murder investigation?

Missing, Presumed

Missing, Presumed

Author: Susie Steiner Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/02/2016

A RICHARD & JUDY BESTSELLER 72 HOURS TO FIND HER... `Hits the sweet spot between literary and crime fiction - Gripping' ERIN KELLY `For those who love their crime fiction rich in psychology, beautifully written and laced with dark humour. Dive in' LUCIE WHITEHOUSE Mid-December, and Cambridgeshire is blanketed with snow. Detective Sergeant Manon Bradshaw tries to sleep after yet another soul-destroying Internet date - the low murmuring of her police radio her only solace. Over the airwaves come reports of a missing woman - door ajar, keys and phone left behind, a spatter of blood on the kitchen floor. Manon knows the first 72 hours are critical: you find her, or you look for a body. And as soon as she sees a picture of Edith Hind, a Cambridge post-graduate from a well-connected family, she knows this case will be big. Is Edith alive or dead? Was her `complex love life' at the heart of her disappearance, as a senior officer tells the increasingly hungry press? And when a body is found, is it the end or only the beginning?

Homecoming

Homecoming

Author: Susie Steiner Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/03/2014

Up on the North Yorkshire moors, the Hartle family is about to have a life-changing year. Ann and Joe, with more than thirty years of marriage and two sons between them, are torn between giving up and pressing on with their struggling farm. Max, their older son, is set to inherit the farm and his wife Primrose has news to share, but is he ready for these new responsibilities? Their younger son, Bartholomew, escaped to the south as soon as he could, building a new life for himself with his girlfriend Ruby. But when tragedy strikes he is forced to return home -- and must come to terms with his past, in order to create a future. Filled with both the joys and losses of ordinary life, Homecoming is a big-hearted drama about how a family falls apart and comes back together again from a hugely talented new writer.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.susiesteiner.co.uk/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more