Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Colour of Magic

by Terry Pratchett

Part of the Discworld Novels Series

'new gen' - Great Books for Young Adults eBooks of the Month Humour (fiction) Sci-Fi and Fantasy

LoveReading View on The Colour of Magic

Who would have believed back in 1985 that this first introduction into the madcap Discworld which satirised fantasy novels and introduced us to some fantastic characters would turn into the Discworld series numbering some forty works.  If you have wondered where to start in this huge series (which need not be read in order) then start here and read The Light Fantastic straight after it.  They are great books.


A "Piece of Passion" from the publisher...

‘The very first novel in what turned into the celebrated, magisterial Discworld series, this novel was first published by Corgi in 1985.  Although the more recent novels in the series have become more layered, satirical and thoughtful (number thirty-seven, Unseen Academicals, is the most recent) The Colour of Magic must remain one of my all-time favourites, for its soaring inventiveness, sparky parody and madcap humour – and for introducing us in the first place to that flat World so very different from, yet so very like our own. ' Marianne Velmans, Publishing Director at Transworld

Books in The Discworld Novels Series:

1. The Colour of Magic

2. The Light Fantastic

3. Equal Rites

4. Mort

5. Sourcery

6. Wyrd Sisters

7. Pyramids

8. Guards! Guards!

9. Eric

10. Moving Pictures

11. Reaper Man

12. Witches Abroad

13. Small Gods

14. Lords and Ladies

15. Men At Arms

16. Soul Music

17. Interesting Times

18. Maskerade

19. Feet of Clay

20. Hogfather

21. Jingo

22. The Last Continent

23. Carpe Jugulum

24. The Fifth Elephant

25. The Truth

26. Thief of Time

27. The Last Hero

28. The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents

29. Night Watch

30. The Wee Free Men

31. Monstrous Regiment

32. A Hat Full of Sky

33. Going Postal

34. Thud!

35. Wintersmith

36. Making Money

37. Unseen Academicals

38. I Shall Wear Midnight

39. Snuff

40. Raising Steam

41. The Shepherd's Crown

Serial Reader? Check out our 'Fall in Love With a Book Series' collection to find amazing book series to dive in to.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Colour of Magic Synopsis

Somewhere on the frontier between thought and reality exists the Discworld, a parallel time and place which might sound and smell very much like our own, but which looks completely different. Certainly it refuses to succumb to the quaint notion that universes are ruled by pure logic and the harmony of numbers.

But just because the Disc is different doesn’t mean that some things don’t stay the same. Its very existence is about to be threatened by a strange new blight: the arrival of the first tourist, upon whose survival rests the peace and prosperity of the land. But if the person charged with maintaining that survival in the face of robbers, mercenaries and, well, Death, is a spectacularly inept wizard, a little logic might turn out to be a very good idea...

The Colour of Magic Press Reviews

‘If you've never read a Discworld novel, what's the matter with you?’ - Guardian

‘Pratchett is as funny as Wodehouse and as witty as Waugh’ - Independent

‘His spectacular inventiveness makes the Discworld series one of the perennial joys of modern fiction’ - Mail on Sunday

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Children God Forgot
Space Hopper
Bear Head

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780552152921
Publication date: 01/04/2005
Publisher: Corgi Books an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd
Format: Paperback

About Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett (1948 - 2015) was born in 1948 in Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire. He had his first story published when he was just thirteen, and after leaving school at seventeen to become a journalist he continued writing, publishing his first novel, The Carpet People, in 1971 and going on to produce the phenomenally successful Discworld and his trilogy for young readers, The Bromeliad. His first Discworld novel for children, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents was awarded the 2001 Carnegie Medal. Terry Pratchett as well as numerous other books, winning many awards and becoming the UK’s bestselling author. He was appointed OBE ...

More About Terry Pratchett

More Books By Terry Pratchett

Cover for Johnny and the Dead by Terry Pratchett
Cover for The Shepherd's Crown by Terry Pratchett
Cover for The Shepherd's Crown by Terry Pratchett
View All Books By Terry Pratchett

Share this book