Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Sons and Lovers

by D. H. Lawrence

Part of the Oxford World's Classics Series

Modern and Contemporary Fiction

LoveReading View on Sons and Lovers

Set in Lawrence’s native Nottinghamshire, Sons and Lovers is a highly autobiographical and compelling portrayal of childhood, adolescence and the clash of generations. The marriage of Gertrude and Walter Morel has become a battleground. Repelled by her vulgar, choleric and sometimes violent drinker of a husband, delicate Gertrude devotes her life to her children, especially to her sons, William and Paul - determined they will not follow their father down the coal mines. Conflict is evitable when Paul seeks to escape his mother's suffocating grasp through relationships with women his own age but he is so emotionally bound to his mother that he has a difficult time of it.

As Philip Larkin is reported to have written, aged 19 “I have been reading ‘Sons and Lovers’ and feel ready to die. If Lawrence had been killed after writing that book he’d still be England’s greatest novelist.” This book will rekindle your love for classic literature or ignite it for the first time if it hasn’t developed yet. It’s a beautifully tender and engrossing portrayal of familial love, sexual love and romantic love and all of their complexities. I adore it.

Visit our '50 Classics Everyone Should Read' collection to discover more classic titles.


Sons and Lovers Synopsis

Lawrence's first major novel was also the first in the English language to explore ordinary working-class life from the inside. No writer before or since has written so well about the intimacies enforced by a tightly-knit mining community and by a family where feelings are never hidden for long.

When the marriage between Walter Morel and his sensitive, high-minded wife begins to break down, the bitterness of their frustration seeps into their children's lives. Their second son, Paul, craves the warmth of family and community, but knows that he must sacrifice everything in the struggle for independence if he is not to repeat his parents' failure.

Lawrence's powerful description of Paul's single-minded efforts to define himself sexually and emotionally through relationships with two women - the innocent, old-fashioned Miriam Leivers and the experienced, provocatively modern Clara Dawes - makes this a novel as much for the beginning of the twenty-first century as it was for the beginning of the twentieth.

ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.

If you loved this, you might like these...

We Are All Birds of Uganda
There's Only One Danny Garvey
A Man Who Is Not a Man
Victoria Park

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780199538881
Publication date: 01/12/2009
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780199538881
Publication date: 1st December 2009
Author: D. H. Lawrence
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 528 pages
Genres: Classics, Modern and Contemporary Fiction,
Collections: 50 Classics Everyone Should Read,
Categories: Classic fiction (pre c 1945),

About D. H. Lawrence

David Herbert Lawrence was born into a miner’s family in Eastwood, Nottinghamshire, in 1885, the fourth of five children. He attended Beauvale Board School and Nottingham High School, and trained as an elementary schoolteacher at Nottingham University College. He taught in Croydon from 1908. His first novel, The White Peacock, was published in 1911, just a few weeks after the death of his mother to whom he had been extraordinarily close. His career as a schoolteacher was ended by serious illness at the end of 1911.In 1912 Lawrence went to Germany with Frieda Weekley, the German wife of the Professor of Modern ...

More About D. H. Lawrence

More Books By D. H. Lawrence

Cover for Lady Chatterley's Lover : Abridged Audiobook by D. H. Lawrence
Cover for Lady Chatterley's Lover : Unabridged Audiobook by D. H. Lawrence
Cover for Etruscan Places  by D.H. Lawrence
View All Books By D. H. Lawrence

Share this book