LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Book of Love

by Fionnuala Kearney

Books of the Month Family Drama Relationship Stories Sagas and Romance Star Books

LoveReading View on The Book of Love

The normal, the extraordinary, the highest ups and very deepest downs, this absolutely gorgeous book is about life, in all of its wonderful, charming, heartbreaking glory. I’m very conscious about the fact that I will probably gush with enthusiasm because I quite simply adored it, sorry (not sorry), you’ll just have to go with me on this one. Erin and Dom marry in 1996, and her father gives them an empty book, a book to write what can not be said, an opportunity to create honesty, love, commitment, and so we are introduced to The Book of Love. Little excerpts from the book start each chapter, we hear from either Erin or Dom as we view their life, travelling in time from now which is 2017, and then, which starts in 1996 and travels forward to meet now. I will warn you that I whimpered and cried, I also smiled, laughed, and felt the joy of this couple, but there are points when I really really cried. Fionnuala Kearney allows you to get to know Erin and Dom without judgement getting in the way, she writes with huge compassion and brings their story to vibrant life, this is glorious writing, just glorious. I gobbled up the words, which join together to create a simple, touchable, beautiful tale. The Book of Love is one of my picks of the month, yes, yes, I loved it!

Liz Robinson

The Book of Love Synopsis

A gorgeously romantic novel you will fall in love with and tell all your friends about! One love. Two people. Twenty Years. From the moment their eyes met across the room at a house party, Erin and Dom were meant to be. If only it could be so simple. Over the years, the highs and lows of life conspire to keep them apart. But a notebook can bring them together. On the blank pages of their love story, they write down everything they can't always say - the secrets, the hopes and the love. Falling in love is easy but staying in love is where the story begins... 

MEGA GIVEAWAY! Win a year's worth of reading with our 2019 Star Books!

MEGA GIVEAWAY! Win a year's worth of reading with our 2019 Star Books!

Closing date: 06/12/2019

WE LOVE BOOKS! LoveReading is the UK’s leading book recommendation website. Our mission is to promote a love of books and reading to all by offering the tools, advice and information needed to help our members and browsers to find their next favourite book. We have a panel of editorial experts that select books right across the genres and read the latest releases to keep you fully updated. Their reviews and recommendations make it easy for you to choose the perfect book to read next. Search by author, genre or book title to find the next book for you - and once you are a member, you can sign up to receive regular newsletters and save all the books you want to read or have read to your own digital bookshelf. Membership of the site is free and delivers a helpful range of unique online tools, including 10-15 page opening extracts and listening to samples of audiobooks from specially selected titles. You can also subscribe to our personalised newsletters to help you keep on top of all the new releases while having recommendations tailored just for you. Our Star Books are a selection of our personal favourites from the books we've read each year. The ones that have really stood out from the crowd for us. We always say if you're only going to buy a few books this year, take a look at our Star Books selection. We have a HUGE giveaway for you to really end your year on a high. We're giving you the opportunity to win all the books selected as Star Books this year! That's around 40 books that you can keep for yourself, share with friends and family or give as Christmas gifts. A year's worth of reading and some of our favourite books published this year, for you, for free! What are you waiting for? This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 6th December 2019. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The Book of Love Press Reviews

Praise for The Book of Love:

`The Book of Love is my book of the year. It deeply affected me with its exquisite portrayal of the highs and lows of a long-term relationship and the enduring power of love. Fionnuala Kearney writes with a depth of emotion that pulls the reader into the very heart of the story. Simply brilliant' Claire Allan

Praise for Fionnuala Kearney:

'This book would be an incredible achievement for any author, but for a debut author it's nothing short of stunning. An emotionally gripping page-turner that fans of The Husband's Secret by Liane Moriarty will love. I confidently predict great things for Fionnuala Kearney!' Claudia Carroll

`A gifted and accomplished storyteller' Niamh Greene

`[A] gripping story of lies, betrayal and family secrets' Sarah Webb

`Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Liane Moriarty, it's perceptive and gripping - you will be desperate to find out what happens next' Candis

`A deeply moving tale of a marriage in free fall... a stunning debut from a fresh and exciting new talent' Nuala Casey

`An endearing tale of life's ups and downs that your emotions will love to latch onto' Mel Sherratt

`A touching story about the aftermath of an affair, You, Me and Other People is an absorbing , empathetic read' Paula Daly

`A grown up, powerful and well observed portrait of a `perfect life' in freefall . . . A Stunning debut' Claire Allan

`A sophisticated debut full of relatable characters and plenty of reminders that none of us ever really know what's around the corner' Jemma Forte

`[Fionnuala Kearney] writes in a fulfilling way which enthrals readers . . .Definitely one for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and David Nicholls' Irish World

`An expertly crafted novel which explores a marriage in crisis . . .whilst combing a fresh perspective and humour as well as heartbreaking scenes, You, Me and Other People is an astute and accomplished debut with will make you think long after you have reached the last page' Ulster Tatler

If you loved this, you might like these...

Gravity Is the Thing
A Million Dreams
Wrapped Up In You
Christmas Shopaholic

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007594016
Publication date: 07/02/2019
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007594016
Publication date: 7th February 2019
Author: Fionnuala Kearney
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Family Drama, Liz Robinson's Picks of the Month, Relationship Stories, Sagas and Romance, Star Books,
Categories: Romance, Adult & contemporary romance,

About Fionnuala Kearney

Fionnuala Kearney lives in Ascot with her husband. They have two grown-up daughters (both with deliberately simple monosyllabic names). One of seven children, Fionnuala likes to write about the nuances and subtle layers of human relationships, peeling them away to see what's really going on beneath. Author photo © Laura Thomson    

More About Fionnuala Kearney

More Books By Fionnuala Kearney

Cover for The Day I Lost You by Fionnuala Kearney
Cover for You, Me and Other People by Fionnuala Kearney
View All Books By Fionnuala Kearney

Share this book