Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Book of Love

by Fionnuala Kearney

Books of the Month Family Drama Relationship Stories Sagas and Romance Star Books

LoveReading View on The Book of Love

The normal, the extraordinary, the highest ups and very deepest downs, this absolutely gorgeous book is about life, in all of its wonderful, charming, heartbreaking glory. I’m very conscious about the fact that I will probably gush with enthusiasm because I quite simply adored it, sorry (not sorry), you’ll just have to go with me on this one. Erin and Dom marry in 1996, and her father gives them an empty book, a book to write what can not be said, an opportunity to create honesty, love, commitment, and so we are introduced to The Book of Love. Little excerpts from the book start each chapter, we hear from either Erin or Dom as we view their life, travelling in time from now which is 2017, and then, which starts in 1996 and travels forward to meet now. I will warn you that I whimpered and cried, I also smiled, laughed, and felt the joy of this couple, but there are points when I really really cried. Fionnuala Kearney allows you to get to know Erin and Dom without judgement getting in the way, she writes with huge compassion and brings their story to vibrant life, this is glorious writing, just glorious. I gobbled up the words, which join together to create a simple, touchable, beautiful tale. The Book of Love is one of my picks of the month, yes, yes, I loved it!

Liz Robinson

The Book of Love Synopsis

A gorgeously romantic novel you will fall in love with and tell all your friends about! One love. Two people. Twenty Years. From the moment their eyes met across the room at a house party, Erin and Dom were meant to be. If only it could be so simple. Over the years, the highs and lows of life conspire to keep them apart. But a notebook can bring them together. On the blank pages of their love story, they write down everything they can't always say - the secrets, the hopes and the love. Falling in love is easy but staying in love is where the story begins... 

The Book of Love Press Reviews

Praise for The Book of Love:

`The Book of Love is my book of the year. It deeply affected me with its exquisite portrayal of the highs and lows of a long-term relationship and the enduring power of love. Fionnuala Kearney writes with a depth of emotion that pulls the reader into the very heart of the story. Simply brilliant' Claire Allan

Praise for Fionnuala Kearney:

'This book would be an incredible achievement for any author, but for a debut author it's nothing short of stunning. An emotionally gripping page-turner that fans of The Husband's Secret by Liane Moriarty will love. I confidently predict great things for Fionnuala Kearney!' Claudia Carroll

`A gifted and accomplished storyteller' Niamh Greene

`[A] gripping story of lies, betrayal and family secrets' Sarah Webb

`Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Liane Moriarty, it's perceptive and gripping - you will be desperate to find out what happens next' Candis

`A deeply moving tale of a marriage in free fall... a stunning debut from a fresh and exciting new talent' Nuala Casey

`An endearing tale of life's ups and downs that your emotions will love to latch onto' Mel Sherratt

`A touching story about the aftermath of an affair, You, Me and Other People is an absorbing , empathetic read' Paula Daly

`A grown up, powerful and well observed portrait of a `perfect life' in freefall . . . A Stunning debut' Claire Allan

`A sophisticated debut full of relatable characters and plenty of reminders that none of us ever really know what's around the corner' Jemma Forte

`[Fionnuala Kearney] writes in a fulfilling way which enthrals readers . . .Definitely one for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and David Nicholls' Irish World

`An expertly crafted novel which explores a marriage in crisis . . .whilst combing a fresh perspective and humour as well as heartbreaking scenes, You, Me and Other People is an astute and accomplished debut with will make you think long after you have reached the last page' Ulster Tatler

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton
More Than a Feeling
Christmas at the Beach Hut
Miss Marley

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007594016
Publication date: 07/02/2019
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007594016
Publication date: 7th February 2019
Author: Fionnuala Kearney
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Family Drama, Liz Robinson's Picks of the Month, Relationship Stories, Sagas and Romance, Star Books,
Categories: Romance, Adult & contemporary romance,

About Fionnuala Kearney

Fionnuala Kearney lives in Ascot with her husband. They have two grown-up daughters (both with deliberately simple monosyllabic names). One of seven children, Fionnuala likes to write about the nuances and subtle layers of human relationships, peeling them away to see what's really going on beneath. Author photo © Laura Thomson    

More About Fionnuala Kearney

More Books By Fionnuala Kearney

Cover for The Day I Lost You by Fionnuala Kearney
Cover for You, Me and Other People by Fionnuala Kearney
View All Books By Fionnuala Kearney

Share this book