Wolf by Wolf

by Ryan Graudin

Part of the Wolf by Wolf Series

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on Wolf by Wolf

Powerfully thought-provoking alternate-history thriller in which an unforgettable heroine seeks revenge on Hitler.

It’s 1956, more than ten years since the Nazis won the war, and 17 year-old Yael belongs to a resistance movement. After enduring scientific experimentation as a child in Auschwitz, she possesses the power to change her appearance at will, along with tattoos of wolves on her arm, and a single-minded determination to kill Hitler. To this end, Yael must embark on a road-trip like no other; she must win a motorbike race that sees her traverse the world.

Alternating between Yael’s epic journey as a young woman and events from her childhood, this is an extravaganza of a story, a multi-layered tapestry of alternate-history, dystopian thriller and heroine-driven quest. Like Yael, the writing is fearless, smart and energetic, and readers will be left desperate for the sequel.

Joanne Owen

Wolf by Wolf Synopsis

Over ten years since the Nazis won the war, 17-year-old Yael has one mission: to kill Hitler. But first she's got to get close enough to him to do it. Wolf by Wolf is a captivating YA alternative history thriller, selected as the BBC Radio 2 Book Club title for 4th January 2016 and perfect for fans of The Book Thief. Once upon a different time, there was a girl who lived in a kingdom of death. Wolves howled up her arm. A whole pack of them - made of tattoo ink and pain, memory and loss. It was the only thing about her that ever stayed the same. Her story begins on a train. Experimented on by scientists during her childhood in Auschwitz, Yael escaped from the concentration camp with the unique ability to change her appearance at will. The only parts of her which always remain are the five tattooed wolves on her arm, one for each of the people she's lost. Now she is intent on getting revenge and achieving her goal: to kill the Fuhrer and change history forever. But to get close enough she must win an epic and gruelling motorcycle race from Berlin to Tokyo - disguised as someone else ...

Wolf by Wolf Press Reviews

'An absorbing, exciting and interesting novel with a great central character' The Bookbag

'Yael joins a long list of strong female leads - warriors, really - in young adult fiction, who prove their worth by exceeding expectations normally associated with males. Her desire for revenge is palpable and her determination well portrayed. Wolf by Wolf is as fast-paced and tense as The Hunger Games and will keep you wondering not only who will win the race, but also what their final victory will be.' The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Summer of Us
One Would Think the Deep
Dark Tracks
Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes?

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781780622033
Publication date: 05/05/2016
Publisher: Indigo (an Imprint of Orion Children's) an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781780622033
Publication date: 5th May 2016
Author: Ryan Graudin
Publisher: Indigo (an Imprint of Orion Children's) an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, eBook Favourites,
Categories: Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage), Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage), Thrillers (Children's / Teenage),

About Ryan Graudin

Ryan Graudin was born in Charleston, South Carolina with a severe case of wanderlust. When she's not travelling, she's busy photographing weddings, writing and spending time with her husband and wolf-dog. You can visit her website at ryangraudin.com and follow her on Twitter @ryangraudin.

More About Ryan Graudin

Share this book