book price comparison
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
  

Wolf by Wolf

Part of the Wolf by Wolf Series
NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Powerfully thought-provoking alternate-history thriller in which an unforgettable heroine seeks revenge on Hitler.

It’s 1956, more than ten years since the Nazis won the war, and 17 year-old Yael belongs to a resistance movement. After enduring scientific experimentation as a child in Auschwitz, she possesses the power to change her appearance at will, along with tattoos of wolves on her arm, and a single-minded determination to kill Hitler. To this end, Yael must embark on a road-trip like no other; she must win a motorbike race that sees her traverse the world.

Alternating between Yael’s epic journey as a young woman and events from her childhood, this is an extravaganza of a story, a multi-layered tapestry of alternate-history, dystopian thriller and heroine-driven quest. Like Yael, the writing is fearless, smart and energetic, and readers will be left desperate for the sequel. ~ Joanne Owen

Synopsis

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Over ten years since the Nazis won the war, 17-year-old Yael has one mission: to kill Hitler. But first she's got to get close enough to him to do it. Wolf by Wolf is a captivating YA alternative history thriller, selected as the BBC Radio 2 Book Club title for 4th January 2016 and perfect for fans of The Book Thief. Once upon a different time, there was a girl who lived in a kingdom of death. Wolves howled up her arm. A whole pack of them - made of tattoo ink and pain, memory and loss. It was the only thing about her that ever stayed the same. Her story begins on a train. Experimented on by scientists during her childhood in Auschwitz, Yael escaped from the concentration camp with the unique ability to change her appearance at will. The only parts of her which always remain are the five tattooed wolves on her arm, one for each of the people she's lost. Now she is intent on getting revenge and achieving her goal: to kill the Fuhrer and change history forever. But to get close enough she must win an epic and gruelling motorcycle race from Berlin to Tokyo - disguised as someone else ...

Reviews

'An absorbing, exciting and interesting novel with a great central character' The Bookbag

'Yael joins a long list of strong female leads - warriors, really - in young adult fiction, who prove their worth by exceeding expectations normally associated with males. Her desire for revenge is palpable and her determination well portrayed. Wolf by Wolf is as fast-paced and tense as The Hunger Games and will keep you wondering not only who will win the race, but also what their final victory will be.' The Bookseller

About the Author

Ryan Graudin was born in Charleston, South Carolina with a severe case of wanderlust. When she's not travelling, she's busy photographing weddings, writing and spending time with her husband and wolf-dog. You can visit her website at ryangraudin.com and follow her on Twitter @ryangraudin.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th May 2016

Author

Ryan Graudin

More books by Ryan Graudin
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Indigo (an Imprint of Orion Children's) an imprint of Hachette Children's Group

Format

Paperback
320 pages
Interest Age: From 12 to 17 years

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage)
Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage)
Thrillers (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781780622033

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools