newgen books for YA readers debuts of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
You, Me and Other People by Fionnuala Kearney
  

You, Me and Other People

Family Drama   Debuts of the Month   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

July 2015 Debut of the Month.

A fabulous debut novel, You, Me and Other People is clever, wistful and endearing. Beth and Adam have been married for years, secrets also kept for years are set to rampage though and trample over their lives. In alternate chapters over several months we hear from them both, as time passes, shocks, surprises and all the emotions they bring, lie in wait. While Fionnuala Kearney covers heartbreak and despair, this is not a melancholy book, instead it is full of smiles, warmth and hope. The author writes with a beautiful heartfelt balance, it feels as though she has reached into her characters hearts and minds and exposed their inner core. it is difficult to put this wonderful book down, each page encourages you to keep reading and once finished, to look forward with anticipation to the author's next novel. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Jo Turner - 'A compelling read & emotional rollercoaster. A tale of secrets & lies, love & loss, trust & betrayal, strength & hope. It had me hooked!'
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'I loved ‘You, Me & Other People’ right from page one to last page.'
  • Joanne Nuttie - 'Wow!!! I loved this book.'
  • Alison Bisping - 'I loved this book from beginning to end.  The characters all felt so real and I could definitely empathise with them.'
  • Evelyn Love- Gajardo - 'I enjoyed the book, although maybe not one to read if you need cheering up!'
  • Nickey Hawryszczuk - 'A really heartfelt story about a marriage break up where it starts with just the one lie and then the secrets start to emerge and we discover more and more. Excellent read!'
  • Christine Phillips - 'Secrets, families, love and real life characters - it's a must read.'
  • Sarah Borley - 'I was gripped from the very beginning, it is such a powerful book all about secrets, lies and trust.'
  • Sarah Smith - 'Fionnuala deals with the different issues that come from a family splitting apart, sometimes the emotions are raw and she takes you through the rollercoaster of emotions.'
  • Julie Wragg - 'An absorbing read told from both viewpoints, it’s full of emotion and some unexpected events.'
  • Alison Burns - 'Fionnuala Kearney's writing style made this an easy read and a page turner, and I found myself still reading long after I should have gone to sleep.'
  • Sarah Harper - 'A multi-layered story with brilliant characters, this is an absolutely fantastic debut novel.'
  • Nicola Kingswell - 'Secrets are the truth that can destroy a marriage... Overall, a great story with great characters, well constructed and thorough. It would make an excellent movie and I look forward to reading more by Fionnuala.'
  • Claire Holden - 'a thoroughly enjoyable, romantic read.  It is not your usual brand of ‘chick literature’, dealing with life and its many ups and downs in a realistic and honest fashion.'
  • Nikki Clark - 'It's just about life - things don't always go your way but you deal with it the best way you can. A great, honest read in my opinion.'
  • Russ Pasquill - 'The author’s style of writing is very easy to read.  Short chapters.  No lengthy prose. I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys a story involving human relationships.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'A well-written story based on the time honoured questions of how much trust we can ever put into the hands of our partners, and how much we actually really know about them.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

You, Me and Other People by Fionnuala Kearney

You, Me and Other People is the life-affirming, heartbreaking and ultimately stunning debut novel from Fionnuala Kearney. THEY SAY EVERY FAMILY HAS SKELETONS IN THEIR CLOSET ...But what happens when you open the door and they won't stop tumbling out? For Adam and Beth the first secret wasn't the last, it was just the beginning. You think you can imagine the worst thing that could happen to your family, but there are some secrets that change everything. And then the question is, how can you piece together a future when your past is being rewritten? For fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and David Nicholls.

Reviews

Praise for Fionnuala Kearney: 'This book would be an incredible achievement for any author, but for a debut author it's nothing short of stunning. An emotionally gripping page-turner that fans of The Husband's Secret by Liane Moriarty will love. I confidently predict great things for Fionnuala Kearney!
Claudia Carroll

'A gifted and accomplished storyteller'
Niamh Greene

'[A] gripping story of lies, betrayal and family secrets'
Sarah Webb

'A deeply moving tale of a marriage in free fall... a stunning debut from a fresh and exciting new talent'
Nuala Casey

'An endearing tale of life's ups and downs that your emotions will love to latch onto'
Mel Sherratt

'A touching story about the aftermath of an affair, You, Me and Other People is an absorbing , empathetic read'
Paula Daly

'A grown up, powerful and well observed portrait of a 'perfect life'
in freefall

... A Stunning debut
Claire Allan

'A sophisticated debut full of relatable characters and plenty of reminders that none of us ever really know what's around the corner'
Jemma Forte

'[Fionnuala Kearney] writes in a fulfilling way which enthrals readers ...Definitely one for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and David Nicholls'
Irish World

'An expertly crafted novel which explores a marriage in crisis ...whilst combing a fresh perspective and humour as well as heartbreaking scenes, You, Me and Other People is an astute and accomplished debut with will make you think long after you have reached the last page'
Ulster Tatler

'You, Me And Other People is a poignant and stunning debut'
Handwritten Girl

About the Author

Fionnuala Kearney

Fionnuala Kearney lives in Ascot with her husband. They have two grown-up daughters (both with deliberately simple monosyllabic names). One of seven children, Fionnuala likes to write about the nuances and subtle layers of human relationships, peeling them away to see what's really going on beneath.

Author photo © Laura Thomson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

18th June 2015

Author

Fionnuala Kearney

More books by Fionnuala Kearney
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.fionnualakearney.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Debuts of the Month
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007593972

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools