You, Me and Other People

by Fionnuala Kearney

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month Family Drama Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on You, Me and Other People

July 2015 Debut of the Month.

A fabulous debut novel, You, Me and Other People is clever, wistful and endearing. Beth and Adam have been married for years, secrets also kept for years are set to rampage though and trample over their lives. In alternate chapters over several months we hear from them both, as time passes, shocks, surprises and all the emotions they bring, lie in wait. While Fionnuala Kearney covers heartbreak and despair, this is not a melancholy book, instead it is full of smiles, warmth and hope. The author writes with a beautiful heartfelt balance, it feels as though she has reached into her characters hearts and minds and exposed their inner core. it is difficult to put this wonderful book down, each page encourages you to keep reading and once finished, to look forward with anticipation to the author's next novel. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

You, Me and Other People Synopsis

You, Me and Other People is the life-affirming, heartbreaking and ultimately stunning debut novel from Fionnuala Kearney. THEY SAY EVERY FAMILY HAS SKELETONS IN THEIR CLOSET ...But what happens when you open the door and they won't stop tumbling out? For Adam and Beth the first secret wasn't the last, it was just the beginning. You think you can imagine the worst thing that could happen to your family, but there are some secrets that change everything. And then the question is, how can you piece together a future when your past is being rewritten? For fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and David Nicholls.

You, Me and Other People Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Jo Turner - 'A compelling read & emotional rollercoaster. A tale of secrets & lies, love & loss, trust & betrayal, strength & hope. It had me hooked!'
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'I loved ‘You, Me & Other People’ right from page one to last page.'
  • Joanne Nuttie - 'Wow!!! I loved this book.'
  • Alison Bisping - 'I loved this book from beginning to end.  The characters all felt so real and I could definitely empathise with them.'
  • Evelyn Love- Gajardo - 'I enjoyed the book, although maybe not one to read if you need cheering up!'
  • Nickey Hawryszczuk - 'A really heartfelt story about a marriage break up where it starts with just the one lie and then the secrets start to emerge and we discover more and more. Excellent read!'
  • Christine Phillips - 'Secrets, families, love and real life characters - it's a must read.'
  • Sarah Borley - 'I was gripped from the very beginning, it is such a powerful book all about secrets, lies and trust.'
  • Sarah Smith - 'Fionnuala deals with the different issues that come from a family splitting apart, sometimes the emotions are raw and she takes you through the rollercoaster of emotions.'
  • Julie Wragg - 'An absorbing read told from both viewpoints, it’s full of emotion and some unexpected events.'
  • Alison Burns - 'Fionnuala Kearney's writing style made this an easy read and a page turner, and I found myself still reading long after I should have gone to sleep.'
  • Sarah Harper - 'A multi-layered story with brilliant characters, this is an absolutely fantastic debut novel.'
  • Nicola Kingswell - 'Secrets are the truth that can destroy a marriage... Overall, a great story with great characters, well constructed and thorough. It would make an excellent movie and I look forward to reading more by Fionnuala.'
  • Claire Holden - 'a thoroughly enjoyable, romantic read.  It is not your usual brand of ‘chick literature’, dealing with life and its many ups and downs in a realistic and honest fashion.'
  • Nikki Clark - 'It's just about life - things don't always go your way but you deal with it the best way you can. A great, honest read in my opinion.'
  • Russ Pasquill - 'The author’s style of writing is very easy to read.  Short chapters.  No lengthy prose. I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys a story involving human relationships.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'A well-written story based on the time honoured questions of how much trust we can ever put into the hands of our partners, and how much we actually really know about them.'

You, Me and Other People Press Reviews

Praise for Fionnuala Kearney: 'This book would be an incredible achievement for any author, but for a debut author it's nothing short of stunning. An emotionally gripping page-turner that fans of The Husband's Secret by Liane Moriarty will love. I confidently predict great things for Fionnuala Kearney!
Claudia Carroll

'A gifted and accomplished storyteller'
Niamh Greene

'[A] gripping story of lies, betrayal and family secrets'
Sarah Webb

'A deeply moving tale of a marriage in free fall... a stunning debut from a fresh and exciting new talent'
Nuala Casey

'An endearing tale of life's ups and downs that your emotions will love to latch onto'
Mel Sherratt

'A touching story about the aftermath of an affair, You, Me and Other People is an absorbing , empathetic read'
Paula Daly

'A grown up, powerful and well observed portrait of a 'perfect life'
in freefall

... A Stunning debut
Claire Allan

'A sophisticated debut full of relatable characters and plenty of reminders that none of us ever really know what's around the corner'
Jemma Forte

'[Fionnuala Kearney] writes in a fulfilling way which enthrals readers ...Definitely one for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and David Nicholls'
Irish World

'An expertly crafted novel which explores a marriage in crisis ...whilst combing a fresh perspective and humour as well as heartbreaking scenes, You, Me and Other People is an astute and accomplished debut with will make you think long after you have reached the last page'
Ulster Tatler

'You, Me And Other People is a poignant and stunning debut'
Handwritten Girl

If you loved this, you might like these...

One Would Think the Deep
Pieces of Her
How Hard Can It Be?
11 Missed Calls

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007593972
Publication date: 18/06/2015
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007593972
Publication date: 18th June 2015
Author: Fionnuala Kearney
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Debuts of the Month, eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Fionnuala Kearney

Fionnuala Kearney lives in Ascot with her husband. They have two grown-up daughters (both with deliberately simple monosyllabic names). One of seven children, Fionnuala likes to write about the nuances and subtle layers of human relationships, peeling them away to see what's really going on beneath. Author photo © Laura Thomson    

More About Fionnuala Kearney

More Books By Fionnuala Kearney

Cover for The Day I Lost You by Fionnuala Kearney
View All Books By Fionnuala Kearney

Share this book