Search our site
The Songaminute Man How Music Brought My Father Home Again by Simon McDermott Read the opening extract of the brand new Simon McDermott book before its publication on 05/04/2018

What Would Mary Berry Do? by Claire Sandy
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

First of all, she does not appear in this tale, oh but her cakes do. Over the course of one year Marie goes from none baker to perfectionist, initially to outdo a prissy neighbour. This is all about families and communities. It’s tongue-in-cheek great fun. A nice, light, relaxing read with enough insight to keep you nodding your head in agreement and enough complications to keep you enthralled.

If you like Claire Sandy you might also like to read books by Allison Pearson, Sophie King and Jenny Colgan.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

What Would Mary Berry Do? by Claire Sandy

Marie Dunwoody doesn't want for much in life. She has a lovely husband, three wonderful children, and a business of her own. Except, her cupcakes are crap. Her meringues are runny and her biscuits rock-hard. She cannot bake for toffee. Or, for that matter, make toffee. Marie can't ignore the disappointed looks any more, or continue to be shamed by neighbour and nemesis, Lucy Gray. Lucy whips up perfect profiteroles with one hand, while ironing her bed sheets with the other. Marie's had enough: this is the year it all changes. She vows to follow - to the letter - recipes from the Queen of Baking and at all times ask 'What would Mary Berry do?' Husband Robert has noticed that his boss takes crumb structure as seriously as budget sheets and so puts on the pinny: serious redundancies are on the horizon. Twins Rose and Iris are happy to eat all the half-baked mistakes that come their way, but big brother Angus is more distant than usual, as if something is troubling him. And there is no one as nosey as a matching pair of nine-year-old girls ...Marie starts to realise that the wise words of Mary Berry can help her with more than just a Victoria Sponge. But can Robert save the wobbling souffle that is his career? And is Lucy's sweet demeanour hiding something secretly sour? This is a delicious feast of a funny novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Allison Pearson. *** This is a work of fiction, in no way endorsed by Mary Berry, and where neither Mary Berry herself nor her recipes feature. ***

Reviews

A laugh-out-loud story * Prima Baby and Pregnancy * A serious chocolate cake of a book: classic, delicious, dangerously moreish, and made with heaps of love. Fantastic. * Victoria Fox, bestselling author of Power Games * I recommend you devour it immediately * Kirsty Greenwood, bestselling author of Yours Truly * Wonderfully warm ... a delicious treat * Vanessa Greene, bestselling author of The Vintage Tea Cup Club * This book is a sheer delight. Funny, warm and a real page turner * Katie Fforde, bestselling author of The Perfect Match * A laugh on every page * Lucy Diamond, bestselling author of The Beach Cafe *


About the Author

Claire Sandy lives in Surrey with a husband and a daughter and loves lots of things, such as baking, reading, writing, eating, chatting about matters of global importance with her nine year old, dressing up her dog and inventing new things to do with gin. She's worked at many things - advertising, radio jingles, a wool shop - and thanks her lucky stars that writing What Would Mary Berry Do? involved every single item on her list of loved things.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th July 2014

Author

Claire Sandy

More books by Claire Sandy
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Paperback
432 pages
Interest Age: From 18 years

Categories

Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781447253495

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools