Eva Dolan - Author

About the Author

Eva Dolan is an Essex-based copywriter and intermittently successful poker player. Shortlisted for the Crime Writers' Association Dagger for unpublished authors when she was just a teenager, Long Way Home is her debut novel and the start of a major new crime series.

Featured books by Eva Dolan

Between Two Evils

Between Two Evils

Author: Eva Dolan Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/08/2020

Intelligent and thrilling with a fierce bite attached, this is a highly recommended read. As DI Zigic and DS Ferreira investigate the murder of a doctor from an all-female detention centre, a violent criminal is released on a technicality, he has a grudge against police, and they know he will strike again. Entering an established series out of sync can be bewildering, so it something I don’t often enjoy doing. This though, can most definitely be read as a standalone novel, and of course, I now want to go back and read the rest of the Zigic and Ferreira series! Within a few pages, I was not only invested in the characters, I felt as though I knew them. I thoroughly enjoyed being alongside the team as they worked. Eva Dolan faces society issues and problems head-on and this feels incredibly readable while also being whip-smart. Between Two Evils is an eloquent and gripping read with assured attitude, winning it one of my Liz Robinson picks of the month.

Liz Robinson's Picks of the Month
Watch Her Disappear

Watch Her Disappear

Author: Eva Dolan Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/09/2017

YOU CAN RUN FROM YOUR PAST. BUT YOU CAN'T RUN FROM MURDER. The body is found by the river, near a spot popular with runners. With a serial rapist at work in the area, DI Zigic and DS Ferreira are initially confused when the Hate Crimes Unit is summoned to the scene. Until they discover that the victim, Corinne Sawyer, was born Colin Sawyer...

eBooks of the Month
Tell No Tales

Tell No Tales

Author: Eva Dolan Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/01/2015

The car that ploughs into the bus stop early one morning leaves a trail of death and destruction behind it. DS Ferreira and DI Zigic are called in from the Peterborough Hate Crimes Unit to handle the hit-and-run, but with another major case on their hands, one with disturbing Neo-Nazi overtones, they are relieved when there seems to be an obvious suspect. But the case isn't that simple and with tensions erupting in the town leading to more violence, the media are soon hounding them for answers. Ferreira believes that local politician Richard Shotton, head of a recently established right-wing party, must be involved somehow. Journalists have been quick to acclaim Shotton, with his Brazilian wife and RAF career, as a serious contender for a major political career, despite his extremist views, but is his party a cover for something far more dangerous?

eBooks of the Month
Long Way Home

Long Way Home

Author: Eva Dolan Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/06/2014

The launch of a major new detective series from the publishers of Henning Mankell, Arnaldur Indridason and Fred Vargas A man is burnt alive in a suburban garden shed. DI Zigic and DS Ferreira are called in from the Peterborough Hate Crimes Unit to investigate the murder. Their victim is quickly identified as a migrant worker and a man several people might have had good reason to see dead. A convicted arsonist and member of a far-right movement has just been released from prison, while witnesses claim to have seen the dead man fighting with one of the town's most prominent slum landlords. Zigic and Ferreira know all too well the problems that come with dealing with a community that has more reason than most not to trust the police, but when another migrant worker is attacked, tensions rapidly begin to rise as they search for their killer.

eBooks of the Month

Other books by Eva Dolan

One Half Truth

One Half Truth

Author: Eva Dolan Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/02/2022

'EVERYONE should read Eva Dolan' Mark Billingham When the police are called to the report of a late-night shooting, they expect it to be drugs or gang-related. They don't expect to find a young student executed on his way home. Jordan Radley was an aspiring journalist: hard working, well-liked, dedicated. His first major story - looking at the fallout following the closure of a major local factory - had run recently and looked to be the first step in his longed-for career. Even after the story ran, Jordan continued to stay in contact with those he interviewed: he was on his way back from their social club the night he was murdered. But as the detectives quickly discover, not only was Jordan killed, but those responsible also broke into his house, taking his laptop and notes. What was he researching that might have led to his death? And can this really be linked to another case - long ruled an accident - in the same area? Or are the police being forced to prioritise those with the best connections rather than the ones that most need their help? From the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award nominated author, Eva Dolan, this novel is perfect for fans of Susie Steiner, Sarah Hilary and Jane Casey. __________________________________________ Praise for Eva Dolan: 'Dolan is expert at the orchestration of tension' Guardian 'Elegantly crafted, humane and thought-provoking. She's top drawer' Ian Rankin on This is How it Ends 'A master of pace... [Dolan writes] richly imagined, cleverly plotted and socially aware stories' Independent 'Dolan infuses old-fashioned police work with contemporary issues to paint a disturbing picture of our times' Daily Mail

This Is How It Ends

This Is How It Ends

Author: Eva Dolan Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/08/2018

LONGLISTED FOR THE THEAKSTON OLD PECULIER CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month The Times Crime Book of the Month Mail on Sunday Thriller of the Week 'Elegantly crafted, humane and thought-provoking. She's top drawer' Ian Rankin This is how it begins. With a near-empty building, the inhabitants forced out of their homes by property developers. With two women: idealistic, impassioned blogger Ella and seasoned campaigner, Molly. With a body hidden in a lift shaft. But how will it end?

Watch Her Disappear

Watch Her Disappear

Author: Eva Dolan Format: Ebook Release Date: 26/01/2017

Random House presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of Watch Her Disappear by Eva Dolan, read by David Thorpe.The body is found by the river, near a spot popular with runners.With a serial rapist at work in the area, DI Zigic and DS Ferreira are initially confused when the Hate Crimes Unit is summoned to the scene. Until they discover that the victim, Corinne Sawyer, was born Colin Sawyer.Police records reveal there have been violent attacks on trans women in the local area. Was Corinne a victim of mistaken identity? Or has the person who has been targeting trans women stepped up their campaign of violence? With tensions running high, and the force coming under national scrutiny, this is a complex case and any mistake made could be fatal...

After You Die

After You Die

Author: Eva Dolan Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/09/2016

CAN THEY UNPICK THE TRUTH AND BRING A KILLER TO JUSTICE? DS Ferreira is back on the force after being severely injured in the line of duty. The first case to land on her desk takes her and DI Zigic to a brutal crime scene where a woman has been stabbed to death and her disabled daughter left to starve upstairs. The murdered woman is Dawn Prentice - a woman who had come to Ferreira for help when she and her daughter were being subjected to harassment. As Ferreira battles her demons and Zigic clashes with another officer, the detectives realise that the Prentice case rests on one crucial question - who was the real target of the killer: mother or daughter? 'Elegantly crafted, humane and thought-provoking. She's top drawer' Ian Rankin 'Hard-hitting, tragic, compelling and timely' Daily Express 'A hard-boiled, fast-paced mystery with a tight ring of suspects' Irish Times 'The authority of Dolan's writing grows from book to book' Financial Times

Tell No Tales

Tell No Tales

Author: Eva Dolan Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/01/2016

Two men are kicked to death in brutal attacks. Caught on CCTV, the murderer hides his face - but raises a Nazi salute. In a town riddled with racial tension, Detectives Zigic and Ferreira from the Hate Crimes Unit are under pressure to find the killer. But when a car ploughs into a bus stop early one morning, the Detectives have another case on their hands, and soon the media are hounding them for answers. Riots break out, the leader of right-wing party steps into the spotlight, and Zigic and Ferreira must act fast - before more violence erupts. 'A rising star of crime fiction' BBC Radio 4 Front Row 'Powerful' Sunday Times 'Breathlessly exciting' Sunday Mirror 'Gritty' Daily Express 'Everyone should read this' Sarah Hilary 'Frightening in its believability' Big Issue

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more