book price comparison Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
  

Lovereading view...

For fans of The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, a mad-cap, feel-good tale of a bunch of geriatrics on the rampage. Their care home is fast running out of funds and they decide that prisoners actually live better than old people in residential homes and prisoners don’t have to pay for board and lodging. A life in crime obviously pays in more ways than one. This is a great yarn, a real chuckle and a pure delight. Highly recommended.

If you like Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg you might also like to read books by Alexander McCall Smith, Jonas Jonasson and Gavin Extence.

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg

79-year-old Martha Andersson dreams of escaping her care home and robbing a bank. She has no intention of spending the rest of her days in an armchair and is determined to fund her way to a much more exciting lifestyle. Along with her four oldest friends -- otherwise known as the League of Pensioners -- Martha decides to rebel against all of the rules imposed upon them. Together, they cause uproar with their antics protesting against early bedtimes and plasticky meals. As the elderly friends become more daring, they hatch a cunning plan to break out of the dreary care home and land themselves in a far more attractive Stockholm establishment. With the aid of their Zimmer frames, they resolve to stand up for old aged pensioners everywhere - Robin Hood style. And that's when the adventure really takes off ...Perfect for fans of The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Translated by Rod Bradbury.

Reviews

'A shining expression of how joyous life is. It is not dangerous to grow old if you are like Martha and the gang' - Hyllan, blogg

'The funniest book this year!' - Magazine Familjen, Norway

'A book which should be read by people of all ages' - Radio P4

'A hilarious farce ... highly entertaining with very well crafted characters' - Frettabladid newspaper, Iceland

'It has humour, brilliant dialogue, irony and warmth. A light-hearted and enjoyable detective comedy with breath-taking events, which provide many smiles but also reflection on life' -PRO Pensionaren

'Criminally fun!' - Bonniers Bokklubb

'Very imaginative, fun and filled with gallons of humour!' - Katarina Mazetti

About the Author

Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg is a Swedish author who has written seventeen books in several genres, including popular science, cartoon, children's and historical fiction. Her individual writing style, featuring depth of insight, and sense of surprise and humour, gives her books a special appeal. So much so that in 1999 she won the prestigious Widding Prize as the best writer of popular history and historical novels. Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg is a former journalist and marine archaeologist. She now works full-time as an author.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd January 2014

Author

Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg

More books by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.catharinaingelman-sundb...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781447250616

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools