Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

make the most of Lovereading book price comparison
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
  

Lovereading view...

For fans of The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, a mad-cap, feel-good tale of a bunch of geriatrics on the rampage. Their care home is fast running out of funds and they decide that prisoners actually live better than old people in residential homes and prisoners don’t have to pay for board and lodging. A life in crime obviously pays in more ways than one. This is a great yarn, a real chuckle and a pure delight. Highly recommended.

If you like Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg you might also like to read books by Gavin Extence, Alexander McCall Smith and Jonas Jonasson.

Synopsis

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg

79-year-old Martha Andersson dreams of escaping her care home and robbing a bank. She has no intention of spending the rest of her days in an armchair and is determined to fund her way to a much more exciting lifestyle. Along with her four oldest friends -- otherwise known as the League of Pensioners -- Martha decides to rebel against all of the rules imposed upon them. Together, they cause uproar with their antics protesting against early bedtimes and plasticky meals. As the elderly friends become more daring, they hatch a cunning plan to break out of the dreary care home and land themselves in a far more attractive Stockholm establishment. With the aid of their Zimmer frames, they resolve to stand up for old aged pensioners everywhere - Robin Hood style. And that's when the adventure really takes off ...Perfect for fans of The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Translated by Rod Bradbury.

Reviews

'A shining expression of how joyous life is. It is not dangerous to grow old if you are like Martha and the gang' - Hyllan, blogg

'The funniest book this year!' - Magazine Familjen, Norway

'A book which should be read by people of all ages' - Radio P4

'A hilarious farce ... highly entertaining with very well crafted characters' - Frettabladid newspaper, Iceland

'It has humour, brilliant dialogue, irony and warmth. A light-hearted and enjoyable detective comedy with breath-taking events, which provide many smiles but also reflection on life' -PRO Pensionaren

'Criminally fun!' - Bonniers Bokklubb

'Very imaginative, fun and filled with gallons of humour!' - Katarina Mazetti

About the Author

Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg is a Swedish author who has written seventeen books in several genres, including popular science, cartoon, children's and historical fiction. Her individual writing style, featuring depth of insight, and sense of surprise and humour, gives her books a special appeal. So much so that in 1999 she won the prestigious Widding Prize as the best writer of popular history and historical novels. Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg is a former journalist and marine archaeologist. She now works full-time as an author.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd January 2014

Author

Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg

More books by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.catharinaingelman-sundb...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Paperback
464 pages
Interest Age: From 18 years

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781447250616

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools