The Art Fiasco

Paperback edition released 23/10/2020

by Fiona Veitch Smith

Part of the Poppy Denby Investigates Series

Crime and Mystery Historical Fiction eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of The Art Fiasco

A wonderfully readable and atmospheric slice of historical crime fiction featuring a charismatic amateur sleuth.

A wonderfully atmospheric and engaging murder mystery set in the 1920’s, featuring a charismatic amateur sleuth. ‘The Art Fiasco’ is the latest in the Poppy Denby Investigates Series, which we included in our Book Series collection. Do start with The Jazz Files, it was shortlisted for the Crime Writers’ Association Historical Dagger Award, and this is a series that deserves to be savoured in order. Sitting three years after The Cairo Brief in 1924, Poppy visits Northumberland to celebrate her father’s birthday and finds herself embroiled in an investigation. Fiona Veitch Smith does a wonderful job of balancing cosy and charming with murder and mayhem. Behind the glitter and glitz the author examines class and child exploitation with care and consideration. The differing age groups work wonderfully together, and I just adore Aunt Dot. Poppy shines with vivacity, a romance hovers, while darkness threatens to overwhelm. The Art Fiasco really is a gloriously readable slice of historical crime fiction.

Liz Robinson

The Art Fiasco Synopsis

It's 1924 and Poppy Denby is heading up to Northumberland to celebrate her father's sixtieth birthday. She stops off in Newcastle en route to visit her Aunt Dot, who has temporarily relocated from London to renovate a house she's inherited.

One of Aunt Dot's guests is the world-renowned artist, Agnes Robson, who is staging an exhibition at the Laing Art Gallery. Reluctantly, Poppy is roped in to help when the artist's press liaison man falls ill.

She soon discovers that the local press has dug up some dirt on Agnes relating to the tragic death of a young art teacher in Ashington Colliery, twenty-seven years earlier. As she tries to suppress the story, Poppy begins to suspect that the teacher might have been murdered and that the killer may still be on the loose...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781782643197
Publication date: 23rd October 2020
Author: Fiona Veitch Smith
Publisher: Lion Fiction
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Be in with a Chance of Winning Our Latest Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Be in with a Chance of Winning Our Latest Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 31/07/2022

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from April to July. A perfect opportunity to stock up on some brilliant reads to enjoy this summer. The titles up for grabs are: Quicksand of Memory by Michael J. Malone - Published 14th April The Shot by Sarah Sultoon - Published 28th April Keep Her Sweet by Helen Fitzgerald - Published 26th May Little Drummer by Kjell Ola Dahl - Published 26th May Nothing Else by Louise Beech - Published 23rd June Tasting Sunlight by Ewald Arenz - Published 23rd June The Daves Next Door by Will Carver - Published 21st July This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st July 2022. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

The Assistant
The Tenderness of Wolves

Fiona Veitch Smith Press Reviews

Poppy Denby's back doing what she does best, and this time in Newcastle! Cleverly plotted as always, with an exceptional eye for detail and a fabulous amateur sleuth, Veitch Smith carries us back once more to the Golden Age for this delicious murder mystery. Jacky Collins (Dr Noir)

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781782643197
Publication date: 23/10/2020
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781782643203
Publication date: 23/10/2020
Format: Ebook

View All Editions

About Fiona Veitch Smith

Formerly a journalist, Fiona Veitch Smith is now an author of books for adults and children. She has also written theatre plays and screenplays. Her adult mystery series set in the 1920s, Poppy Denby Investigates, is published by Lion Fiction. The first book in the series, The Jazz Files, is a nominee for the Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) Endeavour Historical Dagger award, 2016. The second, The Kill Fee, was published in September 2016. For more on the Poppy Denby Investigates series including background material on the 1920s, film reels, period fashion and fabulous jazz recordings visit

More About Fiona Veitch Smith

More Books By Fiona Veitch Smith

The Art Fiasco
The Art Fiasco
The Art Fiasco
View All Books By Fiona Veitch Smith

Share this book