debuts of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Soulmates by Holly Bourne
  

Soulmates

NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Introducing Poppy, 17-year-old cynic, and Noah, heart-throb guitarist: residents of mediocre Middletown, sometime students and…soulmates. After a chance meeting at a local band night, Poppy and Noah find themselves swept up in a whirlwind romance unlike anything they’ve ever experienced before. But with a secret international agency preparing to separate them, a trail of destruction rumbling in their wake, (and a looming psychology coursework deadline), they are left with an impossible choice between the end of the world, or a life without love…

A home-grown young author with a fearless freshness, poised to take the YA market by storm. Perfect for fans of Louise Rennison, Sophie McKenzie and Cassandra Clare.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for Soulmates a small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'This book is Amazing! 5*s! It’s a breathtaking adventure that brings you both joy and sadness.'

Scroll down to read more reviews...

Synopsis

Soulmates by Holly Bourne

Every so often, two people are born who are the perfect match for each other. Soulmates. But while the odds of this happening are about as likely as being struck by lightning, when these people do meet and fall in love, thunderstorms, lightning strikes and lashings of rain are only the beginning of their problems. After a chance meeting at a local band night, Poppy and Noah find themselves swept up in a whirlwind romance unlike anything they've ever experienced before. But with a secret international agency preparing to separate them, a trail of destruction rumbling in their wake, they are left with an impossible choice between the end of the world, or a life without love...

In Soulmates, Holly plays with the Hollywood perception that true love has to be difficult in order to still be considered ‘true’, she says: "Every day we’re spoon-fed fairytale narratives of what love should be. That the path to true love never runs smooth, that the most romantic love is ‘forbidden’, and that we all have a The One, just waiting to complete us. I wanted to take the most romantic concept of all, soulmates, and turn it on its head. What if finding your soulmate was the worst thing ever?"

Reviews

A small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review Soulmates. Read their reviews below.

Molly Hudson - 'If you love a good romance book, but are into science-fiction too, this is perfect as it has a bit of each thrown in...we definitely need a sequel please Holly!! Definitely 5 stars!' Click here to read the full review.



Ayesha Afghan
- 'Soulmates is probably one of the sweetest yet saddest romances ever...Holly Bourne did a really good job on writing this novel and I am looking forward to reading more of her novels in future.' Click here to read the full review.



Delilah Acworth
- 'It was amazing, especially for a teenage girl like myself, because I could truly connect with the young characters. A stunning read, I highly recommend.' Click here to read the full review.



Jhaneel Green -
'This book is Amazing! 5*s! it’s a breathtaking adventure that brings you both joy and sadness.' Click here to read the full review.

_________________________

Further praise for Holly Bourne.

“Holly Bourne’s electrifying YA romance is guaranteed to set teenage hearts on fire. Forget Romeo and Juliet, and meet Poppy and Noah, a pair of contemporary star-crossed lovers whose doomed passion goes against love, life.... and science.” - Pam Norfolk, book reviewer for LEP

“Soulmates is awesome and educational, with an ending that is too beautiful for words!” - Once Upon A Bookcase

“A fantastic contemporary YA romance with a dark edge – I read it in one sitting!” - Melissa Cox, Waterstone’s Children’s Book Buyer

“Warning: this book will demolish your heart as it has demolished mine.” - CJ Skuse, YA author

“Holly Bourne is a bright rising star in British YA… you won’t want to miss this extraordinary debut!” - Jess Loves Books

“Soulmates is an impressive debut novel and a wonderfully original story with a fresh take on the idea of star crossed lovers.” - Narratively Speaking

About the Author

Holly Bourne

Holly Bourne is the author of Am I Normal Yet?, How Hard Can Love Be?, What’s a Girl Gotta Do?, The Manifesto on How to be Interesting and Soulmates. She graduated with a first class degree in Journalism Studies at University of Sheffield and spent two years working as a local news reporter on the Surrey Mirror, garnering a nomination for Print Journalist of the Year in 2010. During her time there, Holly uncovered many national and international stories that received huge press coverage. She was nominated for Print Journalist of the Year – but found she didn’t have the stomach for the job.

Her first two books, Soulmates and The Manifesto on How to be Interesting, have been critically acclaimed and translated into six languages. Am I Normal Yet? has been chosen as a World Book Night book for 2016, and shortlisted for The Bookseller YA Book Prize.

Her own experiences of blatant sexism, drove her to write Am I Normal Yet? - the first book in the critically acclaimed Normal series about three girls who start their own grassroots feminist campaign group. The trilogy has inspired young girls to start their own groups all over the UK and Holly tours schools and festivals to talk to young people about gender equality. To mark the release of What’s a Girl Gotta Do? – the last book in the trilogy – Holly launched the #IamaFeminist social media campaign which trended worldwide. She lives in Lewes.

She worked as a journalist for TheSite.org an advice and information website for 16-25 year olds, click here to read a Q&A with Holly.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st September 2013

Author

Holly Bourne

More books by Holly Bourne
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.hollybourne.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Format

Paperback
544 pages

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781409557500

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools