Soulmates

by Holly Bourne

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel

LoveReading View on Soulmates

Introducing Poppy, 17-year-old cynic, and Noah, heart-throb guitarist: residents of mediocre Middletown, sometime students and…soulmates. After a chance meeting at a local band night, Poppy and Noah find themselves swept up in a whirlwind romance unlike anything they’ve ever experienced before. But with a secret international agency preparing to separate them, a trail of destruction rumbling in their wake, (and a looming psychology coursework deadline), they are left with an impossible choice between the end of the world, or a life without love…

A home-grown young author with a fearless freshness, poised to take the YA market by storm.  Perfect for fans of Louise Rennison, Sophie McKenzie and Cassandra Clare.

 

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for Soulmates a small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'This book is Amazing! 5*s!  It’s a breathtaking adventure that brings you both joy and sadness.'

Scroll down to read more reviews...

Soulmates Synopsis

Every so often, two people are born who are the perfect match for each other. Soulmates. But while the odds of this happening are about as likely as being struck by lightning, when these people do meet and fall in love, thunderstorms, lightning strikes and lashings of rain are only the beginning of their problems. After a chance meeting at a local band night, Poppy and Noah find themselves swept up in a whirlwind romance unlike anything they've ever experienced before. But with a secret international agency preparing to separate them, a trail of destruction rumbling in their wake, they are left with an impossible choice between the end of the world, or a life without love...

 

In Soulmates, Holly plays with the Hollywood perception that true love has to be difficult in order to still be considered ‘true’, she says: "Every day we’re spoon-fed fairytale narratives of what love should be. That the path to true love never runs smooth, that the most romantic love is ‘forbidden’, and that we all have a The One, just waiting to complete us. I wanted to take the most romantic concept of all, soulmates, and turn it on its head. What if finding your soulmate was the worst thing ever?"

Soulmates Reader Reviews

A small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review Soulmates.  Read their reviews below.

 

Molly Hudson - 'If you love a good romance book, but are into science-fiction too, this is perfect as it has a bit of each thrown in...we definitely need a sequel please Holly!! Definitely 5 stars!'  Click here to read the full review.



Ayesha Afghan
- 'Soulmates is probably one of the sweetest yet saddest romances ever...Holly Bourne did a really good job on writing this novel and I am looking forward to reading more of her novels in future.'  Click here to read the full review.



Delilah Acworth
- 'It was amazing, especially for a teenage girl like myself, because I could truly connect with the young characters. A stunning read, I highly recommend.'  Click here to read the full review.



Jhaneel Green -
'This book is Amazing! 5*s! it’s a breathtaking adventure that brings you both joy and sadness.'  Click here to read the full review.

 

 

_________________________

 

Further praise for Holly Bourne.

 

“Holly Bourne’s electrifying YA romance is guaranteed to set teenage hearts on fire. Forget Romeo and Juliet, and meet Poppy and Noah, a pair of contemporary star-crossed lovers whose doomed passion goes against love, life.... and science.” - Pam Norfolk, book reviewer for LEP

 

“Soulmates is awesome and educational, with an ending that is too beautiful for words!” - Once Upon A Bookcase

 

“A fantastic contemporary YA romance with a dark edge – I read it in one sitting!” - Melissa Cox, Waterstone’s Children’s Book Buyer

 

“Warning: this book will demolish your heart as it has demolished mine.” - CJ Skuse, YA author

 

“Holly Bourne is a bright rising star in British YA… you won’t want to miss this extraordinary debut!” - Jess Loves Books

 

“Soulmates is an impressive debut novel and a wonderfully original story with a fresh take on the idea of star crossed lovers.” - Narratively Speaking

Soulmates Press Reviews

A small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review Soulmates.  Read their reviews below.

 

Molly Hudson - 'If you love a good romance book, but are into science-fiction too, this is perfect as it has a bit of each thrown in...we definitely need a sequel please Holly!! Definitely 5 stars!'  Click here to read the full review.



Ayesha Afghan
- 'Soulmates is probably one of the sweetest yet saddest romances ever...Holly Bourne did a really good job on writing this novel and I am looking forward to reading more of her novels in future.'  Click here to read the full review.



Delilah Acworth
- 'It was amazing, especially for a teenage girl like myself, because I could truly connect with the young characters. A stunning read, I highly recommend.'  Click here to read the full review.



Jhaneel Green -
'This book is Amazing! 5*s! it’s a breathtaking adventure that brings you both joy and sadness.'  Click here to read the full review.

 

 

_________________________

 

Further praise for Holly Bourne.

 

“Holly Bourne’s electrifying YA romance is guaranteed to set teenage hearts on fire. Forget Romeo and Juliet, and meet Poppy and Noah, a pair of contemporary star-crossed lovers whose doomed passion goes against love, life.... and science.” - Pam Norfolk, book reviewer for LEP

 

“Soulmates is awesome and educational, with an ending that is too beautiful for words!” - Once Upon A Bookcase

 

“A fantastic contemporary YA romance with a dark edge – I read it in one sitting!” - Melissa Cox, Waterstone’s Children’s Book Buyer

 

“Warning: this book will demolish your heart as it has demolished mine.” - CJ Skuse, YA author

 

“Holly Bourne is a bright rising star in British YA… you won’t want to miss this extraordinary debut!” - Jess Loves Books

 

“Soulmates is an impressive debut novel and a wonderfully original story with a fresh take on the idea of star crossed lovers.” - Narratively Speaking

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Summer of Us
One Would Think the Deep
Dark Tracks
The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781409557500
Publication date: 01/09/2013
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781409557500
Publication date: 1st September 2013
Author: Holly Bourne
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 544 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Reader Reviewed Books,
Categories: Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage),

About Holly Bourne

Holly Bourne is the author of Am I Normal Yet?, How Hard Can Love Be?, What’s a Girl Gotta Do?, The Manifesto on How to be Interesting and Soulmates. She graduated with a first class degree in Journalism Studies at University of Sheffield and spent two years working as a local news reporter on the Surrey Mirror, garnering a nomination for Print Journalist of the Year in 2010. During her time there, Holly uncovered many national and international stories that received huge press coverage. She was nominated for Print Journalist of the Year – but found she ...

More About Holly Bourne

More Books By Holly Bourne

Cover for It Only Happens in the Movies by Holly Bourne
Cover for ...And a Happy New Year? by Holly Bourne
Cover for What's a Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne
View All Books By Holly Bourne

Share this book