Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

S. J. Kincaid - Author

About the Author

S. J. Kincaid  is a fully trained nurse who wrote six books before Insignia was picked up to be published. She originally wanted to be an astronaut, but decided to become a full-time writer after spending a year studying in Edinburgh and living next to a haunted graveyard. Her favourite place to write is her apartment, and she has reverted back to being a lover of print books after a brief flirtation with (and expensive destruction of) an e-reader. S. J. Kincaid lives in Schaumburg, Illinois, USA.

Featured books by S. J. Kincaid

Other books by S. J. Kincaid

The Empress

The Empress

Author: S. J. Kincaid Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/11/2017

Get ready for the breath-taking sequel to The Diabolic - the novel that got everyone talking! `Nemesis is my kind of strong female character - she fights ruthlessly, she loves to the max and she even dances brilliantly. But is she human?' Sally Green, author of Half Bad `A thrilling, pacy, addictive YA read' Amy Alward, author of The Potion Diaries `Epic and electrifying' Maximum Pop `With an adventurous, high-concept plot and emotionally complex characters, The Diabolic is definitely one of the best YA books of the year' Culturefly It's a new day in the Empire. Tyrus has ascended to the throne with Nemesis by his side and now they can find a new way forward - one where they don't have to hide or scheme or kill. But having power isn't the same thing as keeping it, and change isn't always welcome. The ruling class has held control over planets and systems for centuries and they are not going to give up their power willingly, especially not to a teenage Emperor and Nemesis, who they consider nothing more than a creature and certainly not worthy of being Empress. Nemesis knows she will protect Tyrus at any cost; he is the love of her life and they are partners in this new beginning. But she also knows she can't protect him by being the killing machine she once was. Instead she will have to prove the humanity that she's found inside herself to the whole Empire - or she and Tyrus may lose more than just the throne... they might lose their lives. Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Victoria Aveyard and George R.R. Martin, The Empress will take you on a thrilling ride, not letting go until the very last page.

Empress

Empress

Author: S. J. Kincaid Format: eBook Release Date: 31/10/2017

The thrilling sequel to S.J. Kincaid's New York Times bestselling novel, The Diabolic that TeenVogue.com called ';the perfect kind of high-pressure adventure.'It's a new day in the Empire. Tyrus has ascended to the throne with Nemesis by his side and now they can find a new way forwardone where they don't have to hide or scheme or kill. One where creatures like Nemesis will be given worth and recognition, where science and information can be shared with everyone and not just the elite. But having power isn't the same thing as keeping it, and change isn't always welcome. The ruling class, the Grandiloquy, has held control over planets and systems for centuriesand they are plotting to stop this teenage Emperor and Nemesis, who is considered nothing more than a creature and certainly not worthy of being Empress. Nemesis will protect Tyrus at any cost. He is the love of her life, and they are partners in this new beginning. But she cannot protect him by being the killing machine she once was. She will have to prove the humanity that she's found inside herself to the whole Empireor she and Tyrus may lose more than just the throne. But if proving her humanity means that she and Tyrus must do inhuman things, is the fight worth the cost of winning it?

The Diabolic

The Diabolic

Author: S. J. Kincaid Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/11/2016

A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you've been created for. Nemesis is a Diabolic, a humanoid teenager created to protect a galactic senator's daughter, Sidonia. The two have grown up side by side, but are in no way sisters. Nemesis is expected to give her life for Sidonia, and she would do so gladly. She would also take as many lives as necessary to keep Sidonia safe. When the power-mad Emperor learns Sidonia's father is participating in a rebellion, he summons Sidonia to the Galactic court. She is to serve as a hostage. Now, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Nemesis travels to the court disguised as Sidonia - a killing machine masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced senators' children. It's a nest of vipers with threats on every side, but Nemesis must keep her true abilities a secret or risk everything. As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns there is something more to her than just deadly force. She finds a humanity inside her that is true and pure - more so than that of most humans she encounters. Amidst all the danger, action and intrigue, her humanity just might be the thing that saves her life - and the empire.

Diabolic

Diabolic

Author: S. J. Kincaid Format: eBook Release Date: 01/11/2016

';The perfect kind of high-pressure adventure.' TeenVogue.com A New York Times bestseller! Red Queen meets The Hunger Games in this epic novel about what happens when a senator's daughter is summoned to the galactic court as a hostage, but she's really the galaxy's most dangerous weapon in disguise.A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person youve been created for. Nemesis is a Diabolic, a humanoid teenager created to protect a galactic senators daughter, Sidonia. The two have grown up side by side, but are in no way sisters. Nemesis is expected to give her life for Sidonia, and she would do so gladly. She would also take as many lives as necessary to keep Sidonia safe. When the power-mad Emperor learns Sidonias father is participating in a rebellion, he summons Sidonia to the Galactic court. She is to serve as a hostage. Now, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Nemesis travels to the court disguised as Sidoniaa killing machine masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced senators children. Its a nest of vipers with threats on every side, but Nemesis must keep her true abilities a secret or risk everything. As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns there is something more to her than just deadly force. She finds a humanity truer than what she encounters from most humans. Amidst all the danger, action, and intrigue, her humanity just might be the thing that saves her lifeand the empire.

Catalyst

Catalyst

Author: S. J. Kincaid Format: eBook Release Date: 28/10/2014

S. J. Kincaid has created a fascinating dystopian world for Insignia, her futuristic science-fiction adventure series perfect for fans of Enders Game. Earth is in the middle of WWIII, battling to determine which governments and corporations will control the resources of the solar system.Teen Tom Raines grew up with nothing, some days without even a roof over his head. Then his exceptional gaming skills earned him a spot in the Intrasolar Forces, the countrys elite military training program, and his life completely changed.Now inCatalyst, the explosive series conclusion, dangerous changes have come to the Pentagonal Spire where Tom and his friends train. When a mysterious figure starts fighting against the evil corporations horrifying plans, but with methods Tom finds shocking, he must decide which side hes on.With slim odds of success, is it even worth the fight?

Vortex

Vortex

Author: S. J. Kincaid Format: eBook Release Date: 02/07/2013

The impossible was just the beginning. Now in their second year as superhuman government weapons-in-training at the Pentagonal Spire, Tom and his friends are midlevel cadets in the elite combat corps known as the Intrasolar Forces. But as training intensifies and a moment arrives that could make or break his entire career, Toms loyalties are again put to the test.Encouraged to betray his ideals and friendships for the sake of his country, Tom is convinced there must be another way. And the more aware he becomes of the corruption surrounding him, the more determined he becomes to fight it, even if he sabotages his own future in the process.Drawn into a power struggle more dramatic than he has ever faced before, Tom stays a hyperintelligent step ahead of everyone, like the exceptional gamer he isor so he believes. But when he learns that he and his friends have unwittingly made the most grievous error imaginable, Tom must find a way to outwit an enemy so nefarious that victory seems hopeless. Will his idealism and bravado cost him everythingand everyonethat matters to him?Filled with action and intelligence, camaraderie and humor, the second book in S. J. Kincaids futuristic World War III Insignia trilogy continues to explore fascinating and timely questions about power, politics, technology, loyalty, and friendship.

Allies

Allies

Author: S. J. Kincaid Format: eBook Release Date: 07/05/2013

In S. J. Kincaid's fast-paced and humorous sci-fi Insignia trilogy, the earth is in the middle of World War III when teen gamer Tom Raines is recruited to train with other young cadets as a pivotal member of the elite combat corps, the Intrasolar Forces. At the Pentagonal Spire's training academy, he makes the best friends of his lifefellow government weapons-in-training Wyatt Enslow, Vik Ashwan, and Yuri Sysevich.In this 47-page prequel novella to the series, budding genius Wyatt Enslowintensely loyal and hyperintelligent if occasionally, hilariously, socially awkwardtakes center stage as S. J. Kincaid reveals Wyatt's life before she found her place, and her own inner strength, among her devoted band of friends at the Spire.Praise for Insignia: "e;The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won't be able to put this book down."e;Veronica Roth, New York Times bestselling author of DivergentEpic Reads Impulse is a digital imprint with new releases each month.

Insignia

Insignia

Author: S. J. Kincaid Format: eBook Release Date: 10/07/2012

More than anything, Tom Raines wants to be important, though his shadowy life is anything but that. For years, Toms drifted from casino to casino with his unlucky gambler of a dad, gaming for their survival. Keeping a roof over their heads depends on a careful combination of skill, luck, con artistry, and staying invisible.Then one day, Tom stops being invisible. Someones been watching his virtual-reality prowess, and hes offered the incrediblea place at the Pentagonal Spire, an elite military academy. There, Toms instincts for combat will be put to the test and if he passes, hell become a member of the Intrasolar Forces, helping to lead his country to victory in World War III. Finally, hell be someone important: a superhuman war machine with the tech skills that every virtual-reality warrior dreams of. Life at the Spire holds everything that Toms always wantedfriends, the possibility of a girlfriend, and a life where his every action mattersbut what will it cost him?Gripping and provocative, S. J. Kincaids futuristic thrill ride of a debut crackles with memorable characters, tremendous wit, and a vision of the future that asks startling, timely questions about the melding of humanity and technology.