Rules of Civility

by Amor Towles

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on Rules of Civility

Featured on The TV Book Club on More4 on 26 February 2012.

For fans of Fitzgerald and Capote, a witty, elegant fairytale of New York, set in 1938. 'If you want shopping at Bendel's, gin martinis at a debutante's mansion and jazz bands playing until 3am, RULES OF CIVILITY has it all and more ...While you're lost in the whirl of silk stockings, furs and hip flasks, all you care about is what Katey Kontent does next. Another one bartender, please' said The Observer.

Rules of Civility Synopsis

Everything about this novel, set in 1930s New York, is achingly stylish - from the author's name to the slinky jacket design.

 

Katey Kontent, daughter of Russian immigrants, and Evie Ross, from the sleepy midwest, are an ambitious, wisecracking pair who, despite lack of money and connections, aim to set the city alight. A fortuitous meeting with the apparently wealthy Tinker Grey on New Year's Eve, 1937, will change the course of both their lives.  

 

Rules of Civility Press Reviews

'Terrific. A smart, witty, charming dry-martini of a novel.'
David Nicholls, author of One Day

'Achingly stylish ... witty, slick production, replete with dark intrigue, period details, and a suitably Katharine Hepburn-like heroine.'
Guardian

'The summer's must-read: gripping and beautiful.'
Sunday Times

'This is a flesh-and-blood tale you believe in, with fabulous period detail. It's all too rare to find a fun, glamorous, semi-literary tale to get lost in ... While you're lost in the whirl of silk stockings, fur and hip flasks, all you care about is what Katey Kontent does next.'
Viv Groskop, Observer

'Irresistible ... A cross between Dorothy Parker and Holly Golightly, Katey Kontent is a priceless narrator in her own right - the brains of a bluestocking with the legs of a flapper and the mores of Carrie Bradshaw.'
Elena Seymenliyska, Telegraph

'Because who doesn't want to be transported to Thirties Manhattan?'
Lucy Mangan

 

'Irresistible ...A cross between Dorothy Parker and Holly Golightly, Katey Kontent is a priceless narrator in her own right - the brains of a bluestocking with the legs of a flapper and the mores of Carrie Bradshaw.'

- Telegraph

 

'Towles creates a narrative that sparkles with sentences so beautiful you'll stop and re-read them. A delicious and memorable novel that will leave you wistful ...and desperate for a martini.' - Stylist 'My book of the year. If the unthinkable happened and I could never read another new work of fiction in 2011, I'd simply re-read this sparkling, stylish book, with yet another round of martinis as dry as the author's wit.'

- Herald

If you loved this, you might like these...

Girl, Balancing & Other Stories
Inside the Wave
Birdcage Walk
Exposure

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781444708875
Publication date: 05/01/2012
Publisher: Sceptre an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444708875
Publication date: 5th January 2012
Author: Amor Towles
Publisher: Sceptre an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Amor Towles

Amor Towles was born and raised in the Boston area.  He graduated from Yale University and received an MA in English from Stanford University.  An investment professional for over twenty years, he now devotes himself full time to writing.  Towles lives in Manhattan with his wife and two children.

More About Amor Towles

More Books By Amor Towles

Cover for A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles
Cover for A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles
View All Books By Amor Towles

Share this book