debuts of the month Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Rules of Civility by Amor Towles
  

Rules of Civility

Historical Fiction   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Featured on The TV Book Club on More4 on 26 February 2012.

For fans of Fitzgerald and Capote, a witty, elegant fairytale of New York, set in 1938. 'If you want shopping at Bendel's, gin martinis at a debutante's mansion and jazz bands playing until 3am, RULES OF CIVILITY has it all and more ...While you're lost in the whirl of silk stockings, furs and hip flasks, all you care about is what Katey Kontent does next. Another one bartender, please' said The Observer.

If you like Amor Towles you might also like to read books by Colson Whitehead, Anthony Doerr and Helen Dunmore.

The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse by Alexander Mccall Smith

One very lucky winner will receive a signed copy by Alexander McCall Smith of his latest novel, The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 January 2018. The winner will be notified by 15th January 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/01/2018

Synopsis

Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

Everything about this novel, set in 1930s New York, is achingly stylish - from the author's name to the slinky jacket design.

Katey Kontent, daughter of Russian immigrants, and Evie Ross, from the sleepy midwest, are an ambitious, wisecracking pair who, despite lack of money and connections, aim to set the city alight. A fortuitous meeting with the apparently wealthy Tinker Grey on New Year's Eve, 1937, will change the course of both their lives.

Reviews

'Terrific. A smart, witty, charming dry-martini of a novel.'
David Nicholls, author of One Day

'Achingly stylish ... witty, slick production, replete with dark intrigue, period details, and a suitably Katharine Hepburn-like heroine.'
Guardian

'The summer's must-read: gripping and beautiful.'
Sunday Times

'This is a flesh-and-blood tale you believe in, with fabulous period detail. It's all too rare to find a fun, glamorous, semi-literary tale to get lost in ... While you're lost in the whirl of silk stockings, fur and hip flasks, all you care about is what Katey Kontent does next.'
Viv Groskop, Observer

'Irresistible ... A cross between Dorothy Parker and Holly Golightly, Katey Kontent is a priceless narrator in her own right - the brains of a bluestocking with the legs of a flapper and the mores of Carrie Bradshaw.'
Elena Seymenliyska, Telegraph

'Because who doesn't want to be transported to Thirties Manhattan?'
Lucy Mangan

'Irresistible ...A cross between Dorothy Parker and Holly Golightly, Katey Kontent is a priceless narrator in her own right - the brains of a bluestocking with the legs of a flapper and the mores of Carrie Bradshaw.'

- Telegraph

'Towles creates a narrative that sparkles with sentences so beautiful you'll stop and re-read them. A delicious and memorable novel that will leave you wistful ...and desperate for a martini.' - Stylist 'My book of the year. If the unthinkable happened and I could never read another new work of fiction in 2011, I'd simply re-read this sparkling, stylish book, with yet another round of martinis as dry as the author's wit.'

- Herald

About the Author

Amor Towles

Amor Towles was born and raised in the Boston area. He graduated from Yale University and received an MA in English from Stanford University. An investment professional for over twenty years, he now devotes himself full time to writing. Towles lives in Manhattan with his wife and two children.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th January 2012

Author

Amor Towles

More books by Amor Towles
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.amortowles.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Sceptre an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781444708875

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools