Started Early, Took My Dog

by Kate Atkinson

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Thriller and Suspense Crime and Mystery eBooks of the Month Books of the Month Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of Started Early, Took My Dog


Shortlisted for the Galaxy UK Author of the Year 2010.


Another outing for Jackson Brodie in Atkinson's next crime novel. She seems to really be getting in to her stride with this series and as each book can be read as a stand alone has not tied herself down to any set rules, but then when does she ever? Told with all her usual quirkiness and entertaining characters this is another must read.


September 2010 Good Housekeeping selection.


The Goodhousekeeping view...

The fourth title in the bestselling series sees former detective Jackson Brodie on the trail of the
birth family of an adopted girl who officially doesn’t exist. Atkinson’s novels have so far sold two million copies in the UK and this is another sharply observed piece of storytelling.


Started Early, Took My Dog Synopsis

Tracy Waterhouse leads a quiet, ordered life as a retired police detective-a life that takes a surprising turn when she encounters Kelly Cross, a habitual offender, dragging a young child through town. Both appear miserable and better off without each other-or so decides Tracy, in a snap decision that surprises herself as much as Kelly. Suddenly burdened with a small child, Tracy soon learns her parental inexperience is actually the least of her problems, as much larger ones loom for her and her young charge.Meanwhile, Jackson Brodie, the beloved detective of novels such as Case Histories, is embarking on a different sort of rescue-that of an abused dog. Dog in tow, Jackson is about to learn, along with Tracy, that no good deed goes unpunished.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780316122863
Publication date: 21st March 2011
Author: Kate Atkinson
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company Reagan Arthur Books
Format: Ebook
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:

What To Read After Started Early, Took My Dog

The Insect Farm
The Snow Kimono
Turn of Mind

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780316122863
Publication date: 21/03/2011
Format: Ebook

ISBN: 9780552772464
Publication date: 17/02/2011
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780385608022
Publication date: 19/08/2010
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson won the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum, and has been a critically acclaimed writer ever since. Her four bestselling novels featuring former detective Jackson Brodie became the BBC television series Case Histories, starring Jason Isaacs. Her latest novel Life After Life was shortlisted for several prestigious literary prizes including the Women’s (formerly Orange) and the Costa Novel Prize. She was appointed MBE in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.Kate Atkinson was born in York and now lives in Edinburgh.

More About Kate Atkinson

More Books By Kate Atkinson

Started Early, Took My Dog
Started Early, Took My Dog
Started Early, Took My Dog
View All Books By Kate Atkinson

Share this book