join us on facebook eleanor oliphant debuts of the month
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Billie Jo by Kimberley Chambers
  

Billie Jo

Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   Family Drama   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

March 2009 Debut of the Month.

This will certainly appeal to fans of Martina Cole and June Hampson. Billie Jo’s father has been a villain all his life but kept himself very much in the background, avoiding the long arm of the law. Things are soon to change for his family though and Billy Jo is about to find her world falling apart around her. Told with a very authentic East End feel, Kimberley Chambers is a new voice in the genre and one to definitely keep an eye on.

If you like Kimberley Chambers you might also like to read books by dreda say mitchell, jessie keane and Martina Cole.

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

Billie Jo by Kimberley Chambers

'Not once had Terry ever been hauled in by old bill. He was sure the filth was aware of him, as he had his fingers stuck in many pies, but he was a background man and that's the way he liked it. He made sure that he kept well away from the dodgy motors, the thieves and the yards...'

Terry - the lucky villain with a heart of gold - is riding for a fall. Michelle - the wife he hates and is plotting to leave - knows something is afoot, but not quite what. Billie Jo - their adored only daughter - loathes her parents quarrelling and her mother drinking, but will she understand when Terry tells her the truth: that he is planning to marry his pregnant secretary? Jade is a cut above the rest and waits patiently for the day when she and Terry can live peacefully together on his ill-gotten gains, probably on the Costa del Sol. But fate is about to deal a terrible hand, leaving Billie Jo's protected world in tatters.

Reviews

'Gangland bestseller writer Martina Cole had better watch out - there's a new kid in the block ... Ms Chambers first novel is a thrilling read and her take on the East End is clever enough to make you believe she's Martina Cole's little sister.' News of the World

About the Author

Kimberley Chambers

Kimberley Chambers lives in Romford and has been, at various times, a disc jockey and a street trader. She is now a full-time writer.

Author photo © Eammon McCabe

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

19th February 2009

Author

Kimberley Chambers

More books by Kimberley Chambers
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.kimberleychambers.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Preface Publishing

Format

Paperback

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
Family Drama
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781848090316

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools