Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Simon Lelic - Author

About the Author

Simon Lelic was our Guest Editor in January 2012 - click here - to see the books that inspired his writing.

 

Simon Lelic has worked as a journalist and currently runs his own business. He was born in Brighton in 1976 and recently returned with his family to live there. His first two novels Rupture and The Facility were huge critical successes. Rupture won a Betty Trask Award, was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger and longlisted for the Desmond Elliot Prize and the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. Simon was shortlisted in the New Writer of the Year category at the Galaxy British Book Awards.

 

Author photo © Kate Eshelby

Featured books by Simon Lelic

Other books by Simon Lelic

The Liar's Room The addictive new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of THE HOUSE

The Liar's Room The addictive new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of THE HOUSE

Author: Simon Lelic Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/08/2018

'BRILLIANTLY CHILLING' Cara Hunter, author of In the Dark 'YOU'LL TRY TO OUTGUESS THE PLOT BUT ALWAYS BE ONE STEP BEHIND' C J Tudor One Room. Two Liars. Who will make it out alive? FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE HOUSE, COMES THE NEW SPINE-TINGLING THRILLER YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO PUT DOWN Susanna Fenton has a secret. Fourteen years ago she left her identity behind, reinventing herself as a counsellor and starting a new life. It was the only way to keep her daughter safe. But everything changes when Adam Geraghty walks into her office. She's never met this young man before - so why does she feel like she knows him? Then Adam starts to tell her about a girl. A girl he wants to hurt. And Susanna realises she was wrong. She doesn't know him. BUT HE KNOWS HER. AND THE GIRL HE PLANS TO HURT IS HER DAUGHTER... The addictive new thriller with an ending you'll never guess, The Liar's Room is perfect for readers of Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door and A J Finn's The Woman in the Window. SIMON LELIC - THRILLERS TO KEEP YOU UP ALL NIGHT: 'Had me in a headlock from the start and wouldn't loosen its grip till the last page' John Marrs 'Deliciously dark and clever' Mark Edwards 'Taut, unsettling and brilliantly done' Tim Logan 'Tense and unputdownable as anything. A fantastic read' Luca Veste 'A superbly written and well-crafted thriller. It will have you up all hours of the night!' Kathryn Croft 'The Liar's Room is a book you can't walk away from' Emma Kavanagh 'A wonderfully claustrophobic read exposing the fault lines in families and the terrible danger of secrets' Cath Staincliffe 'Brilliant ... complex characters that draw you in and won't let you go' Amy Lloyd 'Hugely gripping and spooky as hell' Mark Billingham 'Taught, tense and terrifying, I loved it!' Sharon Bolton 'A darkly disturbing thriller that hooked me from the first page. Highly recommended!' Nuala Ellwood, author of My Sister's Bones 'This terrifying thriller sent shivers through me' Jane Corry, author of My Husband's Wife

New Neighbors

New Neighbors

Author: Simon Lelic Format: eBook Release Date: 10/04/2018

The Girl Before meets The Couple Next Door in a Hitchcockian thriller about a couple who moves into their dream neighborhood only to discover nothing is as it seems...The perfect couple. The perfect house. The perfect crime.Londoners Jack and Syd found their dream home: lots of space, a great location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it. Everything is exactly what they hoped for when they move in--except Jack makes a disturbing discovery in the attic, and Syd begins to wonder about the girl next door. And they each keep the other in the dark.A mistake.Because someone has just been killed outside their back door, and now the police are watching them. This is their chance to prove they're innocent--or to get away with murder. Whose story do you believe?

Die Einrichtung

Die Einrichtung

Author: Simon Lelic Format: eBook Release Date: 27/07/2015

England in naher Zukunft. Da der Ausbruch einer lebensbedrohlichen Seuche droht, greift die Regierung zu drakonischen Mitteln: Alle Trager des Virus werden in einer geheimen Einrichtung, einer Art Klinik, zwangsinterniert. Doch nicht alle "e;Insassen"e; haben gesundheitliche Probleme. Arthur Priestley, ein ganz normaler Zahnarzt, findet sich eines Tages in der Einrichtung mitten in einem brutalen Verhor wieder - und kampft verzweifelt um Erklarungen und um seine Freiheit. Drauen riskiert seine Frau Julia mit Hilfe eines Journalisten Leib und Leben, um ihren verschwundenen Mann zu finden. Doch die Mauern eines Systems, das Menschenversuche als Pflege des Gemeinwohls verkauft, sind unuberwindbar. Fast ...

Das Kind, das totet

Das Kind, das totet

Author: Simon Lelic Format: eBook Release Date: 26/07/2013

Leo Curtice scheint das groe Los gezogen zu haben. Der bisher wenig erfolgreiche Anwalt wird Pflichtverteidiger in einem spektakularen Fall: Ein erst zwolfjahriger Junge hat auf brutale Weise eine Elfjahrige ermordet. Wider Erwarten packt Leo der Ehrgeiz, dem Jungen wirklich helfen zu wollen. Doch er rechnet nicht mit der Hexenjagd, die nun beginnt. Und dann kommt es zur Katastrophe, die sein Leben auf immer verandern wird. Simon Lelics aufwhlendes Meisterstck ber Schuld und Vergebung, Liebe und Pflicht

Ein toter Lehrer

Ein toter Lehrer

Author: Simon Lelic Format: eBook Release Date: 14/03/2011

Nachdem der junge Lehrer Samuel Szajkowski mit seinem Amoklauf funf Leben auf einen Schlag beendet hat, scheint die Zeit an der Londoner Eliteschule stehengeblieben. Der Direktor ist sich einig mit den Oberen der Polizei: Dieser Fall muss so schnell wie moglich in Vergessenheit geraten. Schlielich ist offensichtlich, dass Samuel ein Psychopath war. Doch Ermittlerin Lucia May hat ein ungutes Gefuhl und stellt sich bald die Frage, die sonst niemand stellen will: Was trieb einen kultivierten, schuchternen Mann zu diesem grauenvollen Verbrechen? Wie ein Puzzle setzen sich die Aussagen der Lehrer, Kinder und Eltern, die sie befragt, zu einem erschutternden Bild zusammen. Lucia stot auf Sensationslust, Verzweiflung, Verleugnung - und auf beunruhigende Gemeinsamkeiten mit dem Lehrer. Als der Druck von oben, den Fall nun endlich zu begraben, immer groer wird, steht fur sie fest: Sie wird die Wahrheit enthullen. Was auch immer es sie kosten mag ... Ein toter Lehrer von Simon Lelic: Spannung pur im eBook!