LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Something to Live For

by Richard Roper

Book Club Recommendations Debut Books of the Month Debuts Feel-Good Fiction Humour (fiction) Relationship Stories Star Books

LoveReading View on Something to Live For

Our July 2020 Book Club Recommendation.

Click here to see our Reading Group Questions.

A completely divine and ultimately uplifting debut, I cried, I smiled, I laughed, I loved it. With the best intentions Andrew has told a fib which has grown to surround and become a part of him, his life is then thrown up in the air when he meets Peggy. Ahh, Andrew, I admit to completely falling for this shy, kind, thoughtful man. The first few pages had me smiling, humour finely balancing and holding hands with poignancy. Richard Roper has developed the most fabulous characters and one heck of an emotional setting, which he handles with beautiful sensitivity. As the story developed, I hoped, oh how I hoped for a happy ending but I really couldn’t tell what the final outcome was going to be. With heartache tempered by gentle good humour Something To Live For casts the warmest of glows. I have no doubt that it will be topping my favourite reads of the year. We adore this quirky must-read and have chosen it to sit as a Debut of the Month, Liz Pick, and LoveReading Star Book!

Explore our '80+ Books That Deliver a Hug' listicle for more feel-good or uplifting books.

Liz Robinson

Something to Live For Synopsis

MEET ANDREW.

Everybody likes Andrew. But they don't really know him.

They know what he's told them - that he's happily married with two kids. Living the kind of life that's either so boring it's true, or so perfect it's a lie . . .

ENTER PEGGY.

Peggy arrives in Andrew's life in a burst of kindness and possibility. For the first time in ages, Andrew feels alive again. So now that he has everything to lose, can he risk it all and tell Peggy the truth?

A big-hearted story about love, loneliness, and the importance of taking a chance when we feel we have the most to lose.

Something to Live For Press Reviews

A beautiful, heart-warming laugh out loud story. - Dinah Jefferies via Twitter

Richard Roper has crafted a compelling mystery in this clever and uplifting debut... Something to Live For is a story about the problems we encounter as human beings and the connections that save us. -- Sarah Gilmartin - IRISH TIMES

Life-affirming...moments of hilarity while conveying a message about stepping out of comfort zones - GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

Quirky and heartfelt... Andrew's past traumas are revealed gradually, and the reasons behind his isolation are heartbreaking and poignant. A moving and funny look at grief, hope, and the power of human connections. - KIRKUS REVIEWS

Tragic, sweet, and hopeful... This novel will appeal to fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. - BOOKLIST

Roper's delightful debut is as funny as it is touching... This story of a neurotic, tenderhearted man struggling to learn how not to be alone is irresistible. - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Darkly humorous. - ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY

Gentle comedy and these characters' innately kind natures enriches what might have been starkly sad moments... [Roper] admirably tackles a painful subject with goodhearted characters it's easy to root for. - USA TODAY

[An] off-beat and winning debut..., [Something To Live For] earns its pathos. Even more to its credit, it gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name. - WALL STREET JOURNAL

A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant! -- Matt Dunn A definite contender for my book of the year . . . funny, heartbreaking and cleverly observed -- Claire Frost Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine - Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters

Funny, moving and uplifting... I loved it. - Libby Page, author of THE LIDO

Nick Hornby and David Nicholls' quirky love child would write like Richard Roper. Something to Live For is endearing, funny and life-affirming, with a perfect dose of loneliness and human kindness -- Caroline Smailes Warmed my heart, broke it a little, then put it back together -- Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of the THE FLATSHARE Just finished Something To Live For with tears running down my cheeks. Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming. Some descriptions of loneliness took my breath away. This book deserves to be HUGE. - Holly Bourne

Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut. - Gill Hornby

Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge! -- Lucy Foley, author of THE HUNTING PARTY Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this. - Clare Mackintosh

A poignant, superbly funny debut novel about love, loneliness and the many ways life doesn't always go to plan. - WATERSTONES

Endearing. -- Patricia Nicol - SUNDAY TIMES CULTURE

A poignant but uplifting novel that's related with great compassion and humour. -- Fanny Blake - DAILY MAIL

A sweetly poignant debut. -- Eithne Farry - SUNDAY EXPRESS S MAGAZINE

A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny all at once. - WOMAN'S OWN

It's no surprise that TV rights to this funny, tender and all-the-feels book have already been snapped up. -- Sarra Manning - RED

Richard Roper's debut is heart-breaking, uplifting, funny and brimming with human kindness. - SUNDAY HERALD

This could almost be the tie-in novel for a Richard Curtis romcom... Something To Live For benefits from the same earnest charm. -- Thomas Barrie - GQ

Eleanor Oliphant for men -- David Sexton - EVENING STANDARD

Something To Live For is a heart-warming, funny yet poignant debut novel. Exploring loneliness and family breakdown, Richard Roper has created a cast of colourful and weirdly wonderful characters. An uplifting and life-affirming read. -- Anne Cater - DAILY EXPRESS

A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny... an inspiring, life-affirming read. -- Zoe West - WOMAN'S WEEKLY

This is a story that gets under your skin - and a must read. -- Natasha Harding - THE SUN

This perfect, quirky summer page-turner... a life-affirming debut. -- Sharmaine Lovegrove - SUNDAY TIMES STYLE

Endearing and delightful. -- Nina Pottell - PRIMA

I loved this novel with my whole heart. - THE NEW YORK TIMES

If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read... We completely fell in love with this funny, uplifting debut. -- Claire Frost - FABULOUS

The story Roper tells is a charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem. -- Rebecca Thomas - BBC NEWS ONLINE, Best Fiction of 2019

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Book of Hopes Words and Pictures to Comfort, Inspire and Entertain
How to Raise an Elephant
Tiny Tales
To the Land of Long Lost Friends

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781409185611
Publication date: 23/07/2020
Publisher: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781409185611
Publication date: 23rd July 2020
Author: Richard Roper
Publisher: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: Book Club Recommendations, Debuts of the Month, Debuts, Feel-Good Fiction, Humour, Liz Robinson's Picks of the Month, Relationship Stories, Star Books,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Fiction & related items,

About Richard Roper

Richard Roper was inspired by an article he read about the council workers who deal with situations when someone dies alone. Their days are spent sifting through the ephemera of those who've slipped through the cracks, searching for clues to a next of kin. Council workers are under no obligation to attend the funerals. Yet they do, sometimes dozens of them a year, just to make sure at least someone is there. Richard Roper lives in London. SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR is his first novel.

More About Richard Roper

More Books By Richard Roper

Cover for Something to Live For  by Richard Roper
Cover for Something to Live For  by Richard Roper
View All Books By Richard Roper

Share this book