LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Helen Russell - Author

About the Author

Helen Russell was formerly the editor of marieclaire.co.uk, writes for the Guardian, as well as writing a longstanding column for The Telegraph. She now writes for magazines and newspapers around the world, including Stylist, The Observer, The Times, The Sunday Times, Grazia, Metro, Stella and The i Newspaper. Russell's first book, The Year of Living Danishly - Uncovering the Secrets of the World's Happiest Country (TCM c.50k) became an international bestseller and has been optioned for television. She's spent the last eight years studying cultural approaches to emotions and regularly speaks about her work around the world, including at TEDx and in her hugely popular Action for Happiness talks. As the former editor of marieclaire.co.uk, Helen spent twelve years in London but currently lives in Jutland, Denmark with her husband and three children.

Featured books by Helen Russell

Other books by Helen Russell

Leap Year

Leap Year

Author: Helen Russell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/04/2021

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE YEAR OF LIVING DANISHLY - How to make big decisions, be more resilient, and change your life for good. Having spent the last few years in Denmark uncovering the secrets of the happiest country in the world, Helen Russell knows it's time to move back to the UK. She thinks. Maybe. Or maybe that's a terrible idea? Like many of us, she suffers from chronic indecision and a fear of change. So she decides to give herself a year for an experiment: to overhaul every area of her life, learn how to embrace change, and become a lean, mean decision-making machine. From how to cope with changing work lives and evolving relationships, to how we feel about our bodies, money and well-being, Helen investigates the benefits of new beginnings, the secrets of decisive people and what makes changes last - and uncovers the practical life lessons we can all use thrive when change is afoot - and inject some freshness and magic if it's not.

How to be Sad

How to be Sad

Author: Helen Russell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/03/2021

We live in an age when most reality TV shows climax in a tearful finale. But feeling sad - genuinely sad - is still taboo. Yet, sadness happens to us all, sometimes in heartbreakingly awful ways. If we don't know how to be sad, it can be isolating for those experiencing it and baffling for those trying to help loved ones through dark times. Today, most of us know intellectually that 'sad' is normal. But we're not always brilliant at allowing for it, in practice. Sadness is going to happen, so we might as well know how to 'do it' right. And it's time to start facing our problems and talking about them. Positive psychology may have become more accepted in mainstream culture, but rates of depression have continued to rise. We're trying so hard to be happy. But studies show that we could all benefit from learning the art of sadness and how to handle it, well.

The Atlas of Happiness

The Atlas of Happiness

Author: Helen Russell Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/11/2018

'A DELIGHT' Grazia 'THE GLOBAL SECRETS TO HAPPINESS THAT CAN CHANGE OUR LIVES' Good Housekeeping 'BEAUTIFULLY ILLUSTRATED AND FASCINATING' Emerald Street 'POSITIVITY JUMPS OUT OF EVERY PAGE' The Lady From the bestselling author of The Year of Living Danishly, an entertaining, reassuring and useful trip around the world, discovering the secrets of happiness from 30 countries. - Feeling terrified of that upcoming job interview? Take inspiration from the Icelanders and get some THetta reddast, the unwavering belief that everything will work out in the end. - Lost your way in life? Make like the Chinese and find your xingfu, or the thing that gives you real purpose. - Too much on your plate? The Italians can help you learn the fine art of dolce far niente, aka the sweetness of doing nothing at all. - Overwhelmed by busyness and disconnected from nature? The Swedish have a solution - just find your smultronstalle, or 'wild strawberry patch', your perfect escape from the rest of the world. From Australia to Wales, via Bhutan, Ireland, Finland, Turkey, Syria, Japan, and many more besides, The Atlas of Happiness uncovers the global secrets to happiness, and how they can change our lives.

Gone Viking

Gone Viking

Author: Helen Russell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/04/2018

Be bold. Be brave. Be Viking... Forget hygge, this autumn you need to go Viking. An uplifting, laugh out loud debut novel to curl up with from the bestselling author of THE YEAR OF LIVING DANISHLY. Frazzled mum Alice Ray likes to think she's on top everything - she has FOUR bags-for-life in the boot of her car for heaven's sake. But after spectacularly embarrassing herself at work, she finally gives in to her sister's pleas to take a much needed break. But this is not the luxury spa holiday Alice hoped for - instead, she finds herself in Denmark, in the middle of nowhere, on a 'How to be a Viking' getaway. Can the two sisters finally learn to get along or will learning to embrace their inner warrior just make them better at fighting? Two sisters. One Scandi holiday they'll never forget... GONE VIKING is a laugh out loud debut novel perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella's Surprise Me

Hygg Hygg Hurra!

Hygg Hygg Hurra!

Author: Helen Russell Format: eBook Release Date: 27/04/2017

Mit Hygge zum GluckDanemark gilt seit 40 Jahren als glucklichstes Land der Welt. Die Journalistin Helen Russell ist dennoch hochst skeptisch, als ihr Mann einen Job bei Lego annimmt - und sie als uberzeugte Londoner Grostadterin mit ihm in die danische Einode ziehen soll. In Jutland angekommen, findet Helen Russell Schritt fur Schritt heraus, was hinter dem geheimnisvollen Wohlfuhl-Konzept "e;Hygge"e; steckt, das die Danen den langen Wintern, der Kalte und Dunkelheit trotzen lasst. Hygge ist... mit Freunden an einem lauen Sommerabend bis spat in die Nacht im Garten zu sitzen. Hygge ist... ein schon gedeckter Tisch fur die Familie bei Kerzenschein. Hygge ist... ein gemutlicher Winterabend vor dem Kamin im selbstgestrickten Pulli. Hygge ist... viel Holz, Blumen und Gemutlichkeit. Hygge ist... der Duft von frisch gebruhtem Kaffee und Zimtschnecken. Hygge ist...die danische Art, das Leben zu genieen.Ein wunderschones Memoir einer humorvollen jungen Frau, die die zehn Geheimnisse der glucklichsten Menschen entdeckt.Fur alle leidenschaftlichen Skandinavien-Fans, die immer noch etwas Neues uber ihre liebste Region erfahren wollen.

The Year of Living Danishly

The Year of Living Danishly

Author: Helen Russell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/12/2015

* NOW WITH A NEW CHAPTER * 'A hugely enjoyable romp through the pleasures and pitfalls of setting up home in a foreign land.'- Guardian Given the opportunity of a new life in rural Jutland, Helen Russell discovered a startling statistic: Denmark, land of long dark winters, cured herring, Lego and pastries, was the happiest place on earth. Keen to know their secrets, Helen gave herself a year to uncover the formula for Danish happiness. From childcare, education, food and interior design to SAD and taxes, The Year of Living Danishly records a funny, poignant journey, showing us what the Danes get right, what they get wrong, and how we might all live a little more Danishly ourselves. In this new edition, six years on Helen reveals how her life and family have changed, and explores how Denmark, too - or her understanding of it - has shifted. It's a messy and flawed place, she concludes - but can still be a model for a better way of living.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more