LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

by Abbi Waxman

Family Drama Feel-Good Fiction Humour (fiction) Modern and Contemporary Fiction Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

Abbi Waxman’s The Bookish Life of Nina Hill will raise many smiles as it follows twenty-nine-year-old Nina’s journey from self-contained bookworm to open book (pun entirely intended).

LA resident Nina is perfectly happy with her life, thank you very much. She loves working in a bookstore, loves her cat Phil, loves excelling at quiz nights and loves how organised her life is. Yet “she had a niggling suspicion she was underperforming in some way. Surely her purpose in life wasn’t simply to read as many books as possible?” And she’s also aware that “the trivia, the reading, the book club... they were simply weapons of self-defense.” These niggles escalate when Nina’s regimentally planned life is disrupted by falling for a member of an opposition quiz team, and discovering a huge new family when the father she never knew passes away and leaves her something in his will. Suddenly – horrors of horrors! – Nina is forced to interact with a whole bunch of strangers, but to her surprise she discovers she actually likes spending time with other people, and that maybe – just maybe – she does have space in her life for a significant other. 

Truly a treat for bibliophiles who’ll nod knowingly at Nina’s devotion to reading, her complex home library cataloguing system, her observation that “coming out of a book was always painful”, this is also excellent on female camaraderie, anxiety and the complexities of family bonds. Awash with whimsy and peppered with amusing asides addressed to the reader, this is romantic fiction at its feel-good, funny, outlandish best.

Explore our '80+ Books That Deliver a Hug' listicle for more feel-good or uplifting books.

Joanne Owen

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill Synopsis

Comedy Women in Print Prize 2020 Shortlist

Abbi Waxman's charming novel follows introvert and bookworm Nina Hill as she discovers if real life can ever live up to fiction... Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Maria Semple.

Meet Nina Hill: A young woman supremely confident in her own. . . shell.

Nina has her life just as she wants it: a job in a bookstore, an excellent trivia team and a cat named Phil. If she sometimes suspects there might be more to life than reading, she just shrugs and picks up a new book.

So when the father she never knew existed dies, leaving behind innumerable sisters, brothers, nieces, and nephews, Nina is horrified. They all live close by! She'll have to Speak. To. Strangers.

And if that wasn't enough, Tom, her trivia nemesis, has turned out to be cute, funny and interested in getting to know her...

It's time for Nina to turn her own fresh page, and find out if real life can ever live up to fiction. . .

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill Press Reviews

Cosy, life-affirming read - Cathy Hopkins, author of The Kicking the Bucket List

The Garden of Small Beginnings is a quirky, funny, and deeply thoughtful book. . . . We're already dying to know if there will be a sequel - HelloGiggles on The Garden of Small Beginnings

Waxman has given us a grow bag full of emotion - witty, uplifting and unashamedly honest - Heidi Swain, Sunday Times bestselling author of Summer at Skylark Farm

Abbi Waxman is both irreverent and thoughtful - #1 New York Times bestselling author Emily Giffin

Like a conversation with the funniest person you know - just lovely - Katie Fforde

A funny and uplifting debut novel - Good Housekeeping

If you loved this, you might like these...

Just Like You
The Sun Sister
The Hidden Beach
Pondweed

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781472266217
Publication date: 09/07/2019
Publisher: Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472266217
Publication date: 9th July 2019
Author: Abbi Waxman
Publisher: Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: Family Drama, Feel-Good Fiction, Humour, Modern and Contemporary Fiction, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Adult & contemporary romance,

About Abbi Waxman

ABBI WAXMAN is a chocolate-loving, dog-loving woman, who lives in Los Angeles and lies down as much as possible. She worked in advertising for many years, which is how she learned to write fiction. She has three daughters, two dogs, three cats, six chickens, two guinea pigs and one very patient husband. I Was Told it Would Get Easier is Abbi's fourth novel. Her previous books are The Garden of Small Beginnings, Other People's Houses and The Bookish Life of Nina Hill. You can keep in touch with Abbi through her website www.abbiwaxman.com, or on Instagram @abbiwaxman

More About Abbi Waxman

More Books By Abbi Waxman

Cover for I Was Told It Would Get Easier  by Abbi Waxman
Cover for The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman
Cover for Other People's Houses by Abbi Waxman
View All Books By Abbi Waxman

Share this book