LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Fiona Gibson - Author

About the Author

Fiona Gibson is an author and journalist who has written for many UK publications including The Observer, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, New Woman, Top Sante and Elle. For several years she has written a popular weekly column chronicling her family life in The Sunday Herald newspaper.

Fiona lives in Scotland with her husband, their twin sons and daughter. She likes to draw, run 10k races, play her saxophone and lie in the bath with a big glass of wine, although not all at once.

Featured books by Fiona Gibson

Take Mum Out

Take Mum Out

Author: Fiona Gibson Format: Paperback Release Date: 13/03/2014

What do you need a boyfriend for? You're a mum. Fiona Gibson returns with a laugh-out-loud read, sharply observed and full of dating disasters. Three blind dates Two teenage boys messing up her plans And one man who'll melt Alice's heart. 'You need to get back in the saddle...' Alice despises that phrase. She's fine being single - with two slothful teenage boys and a meringue business to run, she has enough on her plate without negotiating the troublesome world of modern dating. However, Alice's three best friends have other ideas. Each one will present her with an utterly delicious, eligible man - all Alice has to do is pick her favourite. Perfect for fans of Tracy Bloom, Kate Long and Tess Stimson.

ebook of the month
Pedigree Mum

Pedigree Mum

Author: Fiona Gibson Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/02/2013

A straying husband. A broken heart. And a crazy rescue dog in a town of posh pooches...When Kerry Tambini upped sticks with her family to a new home on the coast, she couldn't have been happier. Then husband Rob made the biggest mistake of his life...Stranded with her children in snooty Shorling, Kerry has plenty on her plate. So how can she say no to the kids' pleas for a dog when they're missing their father dreadfully? Will adopting a wayward hound lead Kerry to a new love - or has she bitten off more than she can chew? As she steps back into the dating world Kerry must juggle her family, her neurotic dog and try to fit in with the local pedigree mums, making her a true heroine for our time.

ebook of the month

Other books by Fiona Gibson

Mummy Said the F-Word

Mummy Said the F-Word

Author: Fiona Gibson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/02/2009

When Cait, a chaotic single mother, becomes the agony aunt for a glossy parenting magazine, she thinks she might be the single worst person to do the job. But despite her early unwillingness, she gradually realises that the women writing might really need her help. Perhaps mothers need to realise that they're not actually expected to be perfect, after all? Then Cait gets an email from a mysterious reader - a single dad who simply signs his name R...

The Fish Finger Years

The Fish Finger Years

Author: Fiona Gibson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/06/2006

If you have an embarrassing child who bursts into friends' houses announcing 'It stinks in here' or shouts 'why is that man so fat?' on the bus (and not a spooky child who replaces felt-tip lids and enjoys dusting) then this book is for you. Self-confessed imperfect mum Fiona Gibson blends her own hilarious tales of raising three children with anecdotes and nuggets of advice from 300 fellow parents who admit they too get things wrong occasionally. Stories and tips cover a huge range of parenting dilemmas, from 'what to do if your child has a screaming, plank-rigid wobbler in M&S, and everyone's giving you Bad Parent looks' and 'how to handle a foul-mouthed monster obsessed with the toilet parts of horses' to 'sex: should you make the effort or just not bother?'. Above all, this funny, refreshingly honest look at being a real-life mum will come as a welcome reminder that yours is not the only family who can't go to Ikea without tears, tantrums and the threat of divorce...