LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Abbi Waxman - Author

About the Author

ABBI WAXMAN is a chocolate-loving, dog-loving woman, who lives in Los Angeles and lies down as much as possible. She worked in advertising for many years, which is how she learned to write fiction. She has three daughters, two dogs, three cats, six chickens, two guinea pigs and one very patient husband. I Was Told it Would Get Easier is Abbi's fourth novel. Her previous books are The Garden of Small Beginnings, Other People's Houses and The Bookish Life of Nina Hill. You can keep in touch with Abbi through her website www.abbiwaxman.com, or on Instagram @abbiwaxman

Featured books by Abbi Waxman

Other books by Abbi Waxman

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

Author: Abbi Waxman Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 11/07/2019

Other People's Houses

Other People's Houses

Author: Abbi Waxman Format: eBook Release Date: 03/04/2018

"e;Abbi Waxman is both irreverent and thoughtful."e;--#1 New York Times bestselling author Emily GiffinNamed A Highly Anticipated Book for 2018 by InStyle online, Elite Daily, and Hello Giggles!One of Popsugar's "e;10 Books Your Favorite Celebrities Are Reading This Spring"e;The author of The Garden of Small Beginnings returns with a hilarious and poignant new novel about four families, their neighborhood carpool, and the affair that changes everything.At any given moment in other people's houses, you can find...repressed hopes and dreams...moments of unexpected joy...someone making love on the floor to a man who is most definitely not her husband...*record scratch*As the longtime local carpool mom, Frances Bloom is sometimes an unwilling witness to her neighbors' private lives. She knows her cousin is hiding her desire for another baby from her spouse, Bill Horton's wife is mysteriously missing, and now this...After the shock of seeing Anne Porter in all her extramarital glory, Frances vows to stay in her own lane. But that's a notion easier said than done when Anne's husband throws her out a couple of days later. The repercussions of the affair reverberate through the four carpool families--and Frances finds herself navigating a moral minefield that could make or break a marriage.

The Garden of Small Beginnings

The Garden of Small Beginnings

Author: Abbi Waxman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/02/2018

'A feel-good, hate-to-put-it-down, kind of book!' ChickLit Central Life is about to blossom for Lili . . . In the three years since her husband died in a car accident, Lili has just about managed to resume her day-to-day life as a single mother and successful illustrator. She can now get her two girls to school, show up to work and watch TV like a pro. But there's still the small problem of the aching loss she feels inside. When she's commissioned to illustrate a series of horticultural books, and signs up to a weekly gardening class, finally her life starts to bloom again. The class provides Lili with a new network of unexpected friends - friends with their own heartaches and problems - and, maybe, another chance at love . . . 'Like a conversation with the funniest person you know - just lovely' Katie Fforde _____ Fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Wilde Like Me will fall in love with this gloriously funny and uplifting novel about friendship, love and grabbing life by the roots. 'A cosy, life-affirming read' Cathy Hopkins 'Witty, uplifting and unashamedly honest' Heidi Swain 'Funny and uplifting' Good Housekeeping 'Filled with characters you'll love and wish you lived next door to in real life' Bustle 'Waxman's voice is witty, emotional and often profound' InStyle 'A quirky, funny, and deeply thoughtful book' hellogiggles 'Abbi Waxman is both irreverent and thoughtful' Emily Giffin, author of First Comes Love

Garden of Small Beginnings

Garden of Small Beginnings

Author: Abbi Waxman Format: eBook Release Date: 02/05/2017

As seen in Elle.com, The Washington Post, Woman's World, Flavorwire, HelloGiggles, Bustle, Brit & Co, and more!';A quirky, funny, and deeply thoughtful bookWe're already dying to know if there will be a sequel.'HelloGiggles ';Filled with characters you'll love and wish you lived next door to in real life.'Bustle ';So witty, amusing, and perceptive that I can't decide if I liked the writing, the characters, or the story better. They're all so well done.'Kirkus Reviews (starred review)';Waxman's voice is witty, emotional and often profound.'InStyle.com (UK)Grab life by the roots. Lilian Girvan has been a single mother for three yearsever since her husband died in a car accident. One mental breakdown and some random suicidal thoughts later, she's just starting to get the hang of this widow thing. She can now get her two girls to school, show up to work, and watch TV like a pro. The only problem is she's becoming overwhelmed with being underwhelmed. At least her textbook illustrating job has some perkslike actually being called upon to draw whale genitalia. Oh, and there's that vegetable-gardening class her boss signed her up for. Apparently, being the chosen illustrator for a series of boutique vegetable guides means getting your hands dirty, literally. Wallowing around in compost on a Saturday morning can't be much worse than wallowing around in pajamas and self-pity. After recruiting her kids and insanely supportive sister to join her, Lilian shows up at the Los Angeles botanical garden feeling out of her element. But what she'll soon discoverwith the help of a patient instructor and a quirky group of gardenersis that into every life a little sun must shine, whether you want it to or not...READERS GUIDE INCLUDED

Gegen Liebe ist kein Kraut gewachsen

Gegen Liebe ist kein Kraut gewachsen

Author: Abbi Waxman Format: eBook Release Date: 24/03/2017

Die Kunst, die Radieschen von oben zu sehenWer hat schon Lust, einen Gemsegarten umzugraben? Lilian jedenfalls nicht. Sie hat mit ihrem Job, den beiden kleinen Tchtern und dem Kummer um ihren verstorbenen Mann genug zu tun. Danach fragt ihre Chefin jedoch nicht und meldet sie beim Grtnerkurs eines wichtigen Kunden an. Der ist gar nicht mal so unsympathisch. Und Lilian ist verblfft, was sie da auf dem Acker alles ausgrbt: Wrmer, Lebensfreude, Baumwurzeln, Plastikfeen, Unkraut, Freunde, Radieschen, einen ziemlich groartigen Mann, und den Mut, sich neu zu verlieben

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more