LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Devil Aspect

by Craig Russell

Books of the Month Crime / Mystery Historical Fiction Spine-Chilling Fiction Star Books Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Devil Aspect

This is an absolute belter of a novel. Awaiting you is a stunning, murderous mix of Eastern European folklore and a serial killer, set during 1935 in rural Czechoslovakia. Psychiatrist Dr Viktor Kosarek takes up a position in Hrad Orlu Asylum for the criminally insane to study the ‘Devil’s Six’, while in Prague, a serial killer is announced. The page and a half prologue sets the novel up brilliantly, the last sentence, so starkly delivered, chilled me to the bone. My mind entered the most vividly real locations, I slipped through the streets of Prague and flinched as I entered the Castle. Craig Russell crosses several genres and balances a number of themes seamlessly, which I just adored. My thoughts pushed and pulled at my emotions as they balanced together on a cliff edge. The Devil Aspect, is a dark, haunting whopper of a story and it set my imagination on fire. So good, it has been chosen as a LoveReading Star Book and just had to be one of my Liz Robinson picks of the month.

Liz Robinson

The Devil Aspect Synopsis

How do you find a killer when you're surrounded by madness?

1935. As Europe prepares itself for a calamitous war, six homicidal lunatics - the so-called 'Devil's Six' - are confined in a remote castle asylum in rural Czechoslovakia. Each patient has their own dark story to tell and Dr Viktor Kosarek, a young psychiatrist using revolutionary techniques, is tasked with unlocking their murderous secrets.

At the same time, a terrifying killer known as 'Leather Apron' is butchering victims across Prague. Successfully eluding capture, it would seem his depraved crimes are committed by the Devil himself. Maybe they are... and what links him with the insane inmates of the Castle of the Eagles?

Only the Devil knows. And it is up to Viktor to find out.

 

Win an Epic Crime Fiction Bundle from Orenda!

Win an Epic Crime Fiction Bundle from Orenda!

Closing date: 30/11/2020

We have a brilliant selection of crime fiction books up for grabs from Orenda! This brilliant prize includes some of their latest releases over the next 3 months and would be the perfect head start on the holiday shopping or an early Christmas present to yourself! Books included in the bundle will be: A Song of Isolation by Michael J. Malone - published 17/09/2020 The Seven Doors by Agnes Ravatn - Published 17/09/2020 The Creak on the Stairs by Eva Bjoerg AEgisdottir - published 01/10/2020 Betrayal by Lilja Sigurdardottir - published 01/10/2020 The Coral Bride by Roxanne Bouchard- published 12/11/2020 Fallen Angels by Gunnar Staalesen - published 12/11/2020 This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th November 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The Devil Aspect Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

A great page turner of a crime thriller. Deliciously creepy, with an almost Gothic horror flavour to it. Full review

Rachael Anderson

The Devil Aspect is a fascinating take on a serial killer thriller which I enjoyed immensely. Full review

Rachel Hall

The Devil Aspect by Craig Russell was a very pleasant read for me for many reasons! I am so glad I got the chance to read it! Full review

Ivana A.

Creepy, but such a good mystery! Full review

Charlotte Walker

The Devil Aspect Press Reviews

Sensational serial killer novel . . . in which twists are both jaw-dropping and logical . . . a mind-blowing story line that will appeal to fans of Caleb Carr and Thomas Harris - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Deliciously authentic and darkly atmospheric . . . a game-changer for the world of crime fiction -- Graham Smith A superior thriller, at once stylish, absorbing and compulsive . . . a taut and chilling tale, expertly crafted against the backdrop of ethnic tensions in pre-Second World War Czechoslovakia . . . I was gripped from the very first page right up to that haunting denouement -- Laura Carlin

Well-crafted gothic crime . . . more twists than a Chubby Checker album. A smart, atmospheric, and entertaining read - Kirkus Reviews

A Gothic masterpiece in psychological horror and creeping dread, The Devil Aspect is as disturbing as it is compelling. Be prepared to read it in one sitting - and to sleep with the lights on for a long time to come -- Neil Broadfoot

Dark, stylish and packed with jaw-dropping twists, The Devil Aspect stayed with me long after I'd turned the final page. Part Gothic horror, part crime thriller, it's an astonishing piece of work -- M. W. Craven

Deep, dark, and twisty, The Devil Aspect will keep you up all night reading... With all the lights on Russell has created a gripping masterpiece of a thriller! -- Alex Grecian

A tour de force: a clever and visceral thriller with a one-two-three knockout of an ending that left me dazed. -- Lincoln Child

Steeped in the chilling folklore of Eastern Europe and echoing the dread of a barbaric war to come, The Devil Aspect snatches the reader by the lapels for a thrilling, twisting trip through the darkest corridors of the human mind -- Daniel H. Wilson

A blood-pumping, nerve-shredding thriller - elegant, edgy, ingenious. Craig Russell conjures not one but two unforgettable settings: Prague between the wars, pulsing with menace, and a Gothic mental asylum, as exciting a house of horrors as I've ever visited. You'll enter both with dread. You'll dwell in them with relish -- A. J. Finn

A wildly entertaining story that grabs you on page 1 and drags you into its dark world kicking and screaming . . . a truly frightening story, one that gets under your skin slowly, then goes deep, like the tip of a butcher knife. I read the novel one snowy night by the fire, unable to sleep until I finished, then unable to sleep once I had - New York Times

A splendidly Gothic story, inspired by European folklore, it asks difficult questions about how we judge evil - including whether the Devil can show himself in human form. It is breathtaking. - Daily Mail

If you loved this, you might like these...

Little Bones
A Conspiracy of Bones
Walk the Wire
The Nesting

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781472128331
Publication date: 31/10/2019
Publisher: Constable an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472128331
Publication date: 31st October 2019
Author: Craig Russell
Publisher: Constable an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Crime / Mystery, Historical Fiction, Liz Robinson's Picks of the Month, Spine-Chilling Fiction, Star Books, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense, Horror & ghost stories,

About Craig Russell

Craig Russell was born in 1956, in Fife, Scotland. He served as a police officer and worked in the advertising industry as a copywriter and creative director. Russell, who speaks German and has a long-standing interest in post-war German history and society, has been a freelance writer for twelve years; Blood Eagle is his first novel. He now lives in the West of Scotland.

More About Craig Russell

More Books By Craig Russell

Cover for The Ghosts of Altona by Craig Russell
Cover for Blood Eagle by Craig Russell
Cover for Hyde by Craig Russell
View All Books By Craig Russell

Share this book