The Illumination of Ursula Flight

by Anna-Marie Crowhurst

Books of the Month - <b>August</b> Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Illumination of Ursula Flight

May 2018 Book of the Month

An intimate, beautifully told, occasionally rambunctious tale set in 17th century England. Ursula Flight was born at an inauspicious time, she tells her own highly entertaining, yet poignant tale from birth. Ursula bounded from the page into wondrous life, I could feel her emotions, her wild, kind, impetuous nature spoke to me. Anna-Marie Crowhurst has created a vibrant, stunning setting for Ursula, the countryside of her childhood is so beautifully imagined, I found myself looking around, smelling, touching, feeling. Ursula’s own writing is scattered through the novel, her thoughts, letters and plays allow direct contact with her, as when she writes she is free, and unencumbered by the morals of the time. I have to admit to feeling a certain amount of disquiet as I read, one part of me was in the present, living life with Ursula, the other part was wondering what would become of this spirited young woman. A blistering darkness slices through ‘The Illumination of Ursula Flight’ taking its turn in the orbiting dance of life alongside the colour and passion, which creates a truly wonderful captivating read, and I loved it.

Liz Robinson

The Illumination of Ursula Flight Synopsis

'ON THE 15TH DAY OF DECEMBER IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD 1664, A GREAT LIGHT BLOOMED IN THE DARK SKY...' Born on the night of a bad-luck comet, Ursula Flight has a difficult destiny written in the stars. Growing up with her family in the country, she is educated by a forward-thinking father who enables her to discover a love of reading, writing and astrology. Ursula dreams of becoming a famous playwright, but is devastated to learn she must instead fulfil her family's expectations and marry. Trapped and lost, Ursula plots her escape - but her freedom will come at a price. As Ursula's dangerous desires play out, both on and off the stage, she's flung into a giddy world of actors, aristocrats and artistic endeavours which will change her life irrevocably. A gutsy coming-of-age story about a spirited young woman struggling to lead a creative life, this uplifting tale vividly evokes the glittering world of Restoration-era theatre. For anyone who has ever tried to succeed against the odds, The Illumination of Ursula Flight is an inspiring journey of love and loss, heartbreak and all-consuming passion. This is a debut pulsating with life for readers of Jessie Burton, Sarah Waters and Sarah Perry.

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Closing date: 31/08/2018

We are offering THREE lucky people the chance to win the Series 4 box set of the hit ITV period drama (RRP: £24.99). 1796: To defend Cornwall and those he loves from an empowered George, Ross must learn to play the political game on a journey that takes him to the nation's capital and into new perils. While Demelza manages the Poldark’s affairs at home, Elizabeth moves to further secure her marriage. Drake struggles in resigning Morwenna to life with Osborne and the Enyses are tested as never before. Prime Minister Pitt calls an election and uncertainty grips the country. While Ross watches Cornwall suffer under the power of Truro’s MP, George Warleggan, Demelza’s infidelity leaves her strained between her husband and a lovesick Hugh, who is set to rival George in the upcoming election. The Enyses contemplate having a child and Elizabeth seeks the same to secure her marriage. Meanwhile, Morwenna uses Osborne’s affair with her sister Rowella to keep the reverend’s advances at bay and Demelza seeks to reconcile rival local Lords Falmouth and Basset. The draw closes on the 31st August and the winner will be notified by the 7th September.

Enter Now

The Illumination of Ursula Flight Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

The Illumination of Ursula Flight is a lively and, at times, mischievous journey through the whims and fancies of Restoration England. Full review

Josie Barton

A brilliant debut novel by Anna- Marie Crowhurst, a coming of age story with a difference. A Seventeenth century romp through the age of bawdy behaviour and male dominance. Full review

Glenda Worth

I think that the title page is very good, it would attract me to pick the book up, once seeing the inside, I would have been intrigued enough to buy it. I belong to Reading Groups, I will recommend it Full review

Marjorie Lacy

A delicious romp of a story. Full review

Sarah Webb

There are not many books that touch you in ways you can't describe- the books that stay with you ages after you've read them. This is one of those books. Full review

Humaira Kauser

Clever, spirited, funny and full of life, Ursula uses her plays to say the things and live the life she dare not dream of. I loved her, even though perhaps at times I shouldn’t have. Fie! Full review

Deborah Dumville

Well historically researched with an obvious 21st Century emancipated woman slant. Full review

Sharon Wood

The beautiful, charming story. Will keep the reader wanting more long after the last page has been turned, Ursula Flight is a heroine for 2018! Full review

Angie Rhodes

Fantastic story!! I found this such an enjoyable read. A fun historical novel based around the life of the lovable character Ursula. Full review

Kathryn Whitfield

The Illumination of Ursula Flight Press Reviews

I find this funny, eccentric, touching novel fairly irresistible. Ursula's story is told in an inventive mix of modes, through fragments and lists and plays and letters; it's a spirited funny romp and yet it feels much more than that too - touching and urgent and vivid. It's fluent, accomplished, polished, funny and charming. -- Tessa Hadley

This 17th century coming-of-age tale is at once subversive, moving and utterly fresh and original. -- Nathan Filer

This sprightely, romping novel revels in its period: the Restoration world of Ursula Flight is presented with irresistible relish. Crowhurst's enthusiasm for her subject is contagious, and her playful handling of form shows great control and confidence. Bravo! -- Imogen Hermes Gower

This debut novel sweeps us away to the world of Ursula Flight, wannabe actress and playwright in 17th-century Britain. Ursula is a spirited and funny protagonist. -- Sarah Shaffi 

A glorious book, cleverly done and lushly written with a witty, vivid heroine.--  Kiran Millwood Hargrave


If you loved this, you might like these...

The Binding
The Angel's Mark
The Ghost Tree
The Mystery of Three Quarters

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781760632014
Publication date: 03/05/2018
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781760632014
Publication date: 3rd May 2018
Author: Anna-Marie Crowhurst
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Reader Reviewed Books, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Historical fiction,

About Anna-Marie Crowhurst

Anna-Marie Crowhurst has worked as a freelance journalist and columnist for more than 15 years, contributing to The Times, The Guardian, Time Out, Newsweek, Emerald Street and Stylist. In 2016 she studied for an MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, where her debut novel The Illumination of Ursula Flight was born. She lives in London.

More About Anna-Marie Crowhurst

Share this book