finding gobi paypal eleanor oliphant books of the month before the fall
Search our site
Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley Read the opening extract of the brand new Steven Rowley book before its publication on 05/10/2017

A Guide for the Perplexed by Jonathan Levi
  

A Guide for the Perplexed

Literary Fiction   Thriller / Suspense   Fantasy   Relationship Stories   Summer Reading   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A flamboyantly fantastical literary voyage in which two strangers stranded at a Spanish airport during a strike are brought together by their mutual travel agent, whose Guide for the Perplexed travel book they both have.

Executed with intellectual and sensual exuberance, this ingeniously original novel defies definition at every turn as the two marooned women share their remarkable stories. Holland is a British filmmaker and in Spain to interview a reclusive violinist, while Miami widow Hanni is set on finding a letter that will confirm her ancestral connection to Esau, purportedly the real discoverer of the New World. The language dances and sparkles as the narrative traverses time, religions and momentous historical events, and the serpentine structure of stories within stories is a flabbergasting imaginative feat. Truly a Pandora’s box of cerebral delights in the vein of Eco and Calvino, it dazzles, and demands one’s absolute attention. ~ Joanne Owen

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 September 2017. The winners will be notified by 13 October 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/09/2017

Synopsis

A Guide for the Perplexed by Jonathan Levi

A Guide for the Perplexed combines the romantic erudition of Umberto Eco and A.S. Byatt with the ingenious storytelling of Scheherazade and A Thousand and One Nights; a tour de force that should not be missed. A late-night strike closes down an airport leaving two women stranded on their respective journeys in the bewitched Spanish town of Mariposa. Holland, an English filmmaker, has come to interview Sandor, the famous but reclusive violinist. Hanni, a Miami widow, is on a quest to recover a lost letter that confirms her link to her ancestor Esau, who was allegedly the true discoverer of America. Each woman has had her trip arranged by Ben, a cosmological travel agent and each has a copy of his tourist guide, entitled Guide for the Perplexed. As the women share cabs, surreal adventures and their fantastic personal histories, Levi's mesmerizing tale spirals back in time, embracing stories about Jews, the Inquisition and Columbus's first voyage. Fairy tale-like narratives within the main narrative dramatize issues of religion, compromise and survival, ultimately evolving into a dazzling improvisation on the theme of journeys and exile.

Reviews

'A first novel of monumental ambition and striving imagination'
New York Times

'Levi's audacious debut rings changes on a variety of intellectual themes while chronicling the friendship of two women, both visitors in Spain, who discover their common bonds'
Publisher's Weekly

'Writes with a Saul Bellow-like braininess and brashness while also bearing the mark of such fabulists as Gunter Grass and Gabriel Garcia Marquez... vigorous, vivid, and grounded in the pleasures of the senses'
Newsday

About the Author

Jonathan Levi

Jonathan Levi is an American writer and producer, and author of Septimania. His short stories and articles have also appeared in many magazines including Granta, Conde Nast Traveler, GQ, Terra Nova, The Nation and The New York Times. Born in New York, he currently lives in Rome.

Author photo © Jeanette Barron

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th May 2017

Author

Jonathan Levi

More books by Jonathan Levi
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jonathanlevi.com/

Publisher

Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Thriller / Suspense
Fantasy
Relationship Stories
Summer Reading
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
Fantasy
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780715651735

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools