orange blossom days katie fforde broken trilogy book price comparison birdcage walk helen dunmore
Vouchers


Reader Reviewed
Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen by Alison Weir
  

Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen

Part of the Six Tudor Queens Series
Historical Fiction   Books of the Year 2016   Literary Fiction   Free Prize Draws   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Books of the Year 2016.

When you settle into an Alison Weir you settle into history itself. She is thorough, detailed and hugely knowledgeable. Here she delivers the first of a projected series to cover each of Henry VIII’s wives in big passionate reads. Getting under the skin of Katherine of Aragon she delivers us a frightened, lonely, 16-year who becomes a spirited, determined woman not afraid of standing up to her second husband and challenging him right to the end, not afraid to stand up for her faith and fight for her daughter, Mary. More challenging than Philippa Gregory, drier than Elizabeth Chadwick, Alison’s non-fiction background shines through. Steep yourself in the Tudor Court. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Alison Weir you might also like to read books by Elizabeth Chadwick, Elizabeth Freemantle and Joanna Hickson.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Sarah Musk - 'A sympathetic gripping account of the decline of the marriage of Henry VIII and Katharine of Aragon.  At the end England would never be the same again.'
  • Sue Cunliffe - 'A fascinating read, depicting the love triangle of Henry, Katherine and Anne. Katherine remains steadfast to her beliefs to the end. The consequences changing the course of history forever.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Wow!! I have learnt more from this book, than I did at school.'
  • Lisa Hall - 'I was bowled over by this book - an enchanting, intriguing look into the life of Katherine of Aragon, as opposed to what happened after she was removed as Henry's Queen, I was mesmerised.'
  • Kathy Howell - 'I have read and enjoyed Alison Weir’s books and really enjoyed reading this one too. All her books are well researched but easy to read.'
  • Mollie Mayson-Simpson - 'Historical fiction as presented by a true historian - edge-of-the-seat confrontation between the one true queen and the husband attempting to depose of her.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'History and the story of Katherine's life in one book. Told from Katherine's point of view from the day she arrives in England...As a history lover, this book was a pleasure to read.'
  • Margaret Freeman - 'An enjoyable fictional biography of Katherine of Aragon, based on historical fact.'
  • Joy Finlayson - 'Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen gives voice to an essential player in the 16th Century, displaying strength of character and an unwavering faith.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'This is the story about Katherine of Aragon who became Queen of England. Katherine was married to Henry VIII and reading the story about their notorious marriage was impossible to put

Win tickets to Chiddingstone Castle Lit Fest

We have four pairs of tickets to give away to hear Alison Weir at the Chiddingstone Castle Literary Festival Sunday 30 April 4 - 5 pm. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once and the prize cannot be exchanged for cash and does not include transport or accommodation. Draw closes on Friday 17 April. The winners will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 20 April 2017.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 17/04/2017

Synopsis

Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen by Alison Weir

*A Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller* Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of The Lost Tudor Princess, is the first in a spellbinding six novel series about Henry VIII's Queens. Alison takes you on an engrossing journey at Katherine's side and shows her extraordinary strength of character and intelligence. Ideal for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick. 'Shatters the many myths about Henry VIII's long-suffering first wife' Tracy Borman 'Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life' Guardian A Spanish princess. Raised to be modest, obedient and devout. Destined to be an English Queen. Six weeks from home across treacherous seas, everything is different: the language, the food, the weather. And for her there is no comfort in any of it. At sixteen-years-old, Catalina is alone among strangers. She misses her mother. She mourns her lost brother. She cannot trust even those assigned to her protection. KATHERINE OF ARAGON. The first of Henry's Queens. Her story. History tells us how she died. This captivating novel shows us how she lived. SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS. Praise for Alison Weir and Katherine of Aragon: 'A tender understanding of and genuine sympathy for this proud, much-loved and honourable Queen...I was gripped [from] start to finish' Mavis Cheek 'Well-researched and engrossing' Good Housekeeping 'Yet again, Alison Weir has managed to intertwine profound historical knowledge with huge emotional intelligence, to compose a work that throws light on an endlessly fascinating historical figure. Yet her real gift in all of this is making it feel so fresh and alive' Earl Spencer 'This exquisite book charts the rise and fall of Henry VIII's first wife, Katherine...A fascinating insight into this period of our history. Weir's undeniable strength is her immaculate description, enabling the reader to be transported back to Tudor England' Sun 'Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen is a true tour de force. Finely crafted, this novel is wonderful historical fiction and an outstanding introduction to the Six Tudor Queens series' Queen Anne Boleyn Blog 'Known for bestselling historical biographies, Alison Weir is in command of her detail ...her handling of Katherine's misery and dignified response to her predicament is very touching' Elizabeth Buchan, Daily Mail

Reviews

'In this, the first novel of the Six Tudor Queens series, Alison Weir brings Katherine of Aragon dazzlingly to life. Based upon extensive new research, it is a portrayal that shatters the many myths about Henry VIII's long-suffering first wife. Far from being the one-dimensional victim of history, she emerges as a charismatic, indomitable and courageous heroine whose story never fails to enthral' -- Tracy Borman

'A tender understanding of and genuine sympathy for this proud, much-loved and honourable Queen... I was gripped [from] start to finish' -- Mavis Cheek

'Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life Guardian Yet again, Alison Weir has managed to intertwine profound historical knowledge with huge emotional intelligence, to compose a work that throws light on an endlessly fascinating historical figure. Yet her real gift in all of this is making it feel so fresh and alive' -- Earl Spencer

'This exquisite book charts the rise and fall of Henry VIII's first wife, Katherine ... A fascinating insight into this period of our history. Weir's undeniable strength is her immaculate description, enabling the reader to be transported back to Tudor England' Sun

'Weir manages to untangle the complex web of 16th-century politics, shown through Katherine's duties as ambassador, and her astute reading of the games being played. This adds greatly to the heft of the character, demonstrating what a competent woman she was becoming' Herald Scotland

'Alison Weir clearly admires her heroine ... meticulously researched' The Times

About the Author

Alison Weir

Alison Weir is the top-selling female historian in the United Kingdom, and has sold over 2.7 million books worldwide. She has published seventeen history books, including Elizabeth the Queen, Eleanor of Aquitaine, The Lady in the Tower and Elizabeth of York, and five historical novels. Her latest biography is The Lost Tudor Princess. Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen is the first in a series of novels about the wives of Henry VIII.

Author photo © Miklos Csepely-Knorr

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th January 2017

Author

Alison Weir

More books by Alison Weir
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.alisonweir.org.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Paperback
624 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Books of the Year 2016
Literary Fiction
Free Prize Draws
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781472227515

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools