Harry Potter House Eds book price comparison
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen by Alison Weir
  

Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen

Historical Fiction   Books of the Month   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Books of the Year 2016.

When you settle into an Alison Weir you settle into history itself. She is thorough, detailed and hugely knowledgeable. Here she delivers the first of a projected series to cover each of Henry VIII’s wives in big passionate reads. Getting under the skin of Katherine of Aragon she delivers us a frightened, lonely, 16-year who becomes a spirited, determined woman not afraid of standing up to her second husband and challenging him right to the end, not afraid to stand up for her faith and fight for her daughter, Mary. More challenging than Philippa Gregory, drier than Elizabeth Chadwick, Alison’s non-fiction background shines through. Steep yourself in the Tudor Court. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

May 2016 Book of the Month.

If you like Alison Weir you might also like to read books by Elizabeth Freemantle, Elizabeth Chadwick and Joanna Hickson.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Sarah Musk - 'A sympathetic gripping account of the decline of the marriage of Henry VIII and Katharine of Aragon.  At the end England would never be the same again.'
  • Sue Cunliffe - 'A fascinating read, depicting the love triangle of Henry, Katherine and Anne. Katherine remains steadfast to her beliefs to the end. The consequences changing the course of history forever.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Wow!! I have learnt more from this book, than I did at school.'
  • Lisa Hall - 'I was bowled over by this book - an enchanting, intriguing look into the life of Katherine of Aragon, as opposed to what happened after she was removed as Henry's Queen, I was mesmerised.'
  • Kathy Howell - 'I have read and enjoyed Alison Weir’s books and really enjoyed reading this one too. All her books are well researched but easy to read.'
  • Mollie Mayson-Simpson - 'Historical fiction as presented by a true historian - edge-of-the-seat confrontation between the one true queen and the husband attempting to depose of her.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'History and the story of Katherine's life in one book. Told from Katherine's point of view from the day she arrives in England...As a history lover, this book was a pleasure to read.'
  • Margaret Freeman - 'An enjoyable fictional biography of Katherine of Aragon, based on historical fact.'
  • Joy Finlayson - 'Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen gives voice to an essential player in the 16th Century, displaying strength of character and an unwavering faith.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'This is the story about Katherine of Aragon who became Queen of England. Katherine was married to Henry VIII and reading the story about their notorious marriage was impossible to put

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen by Alison Weir

Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of The Lost Tudor Princess, is the first in a spellbinding six novel series about Henry VIII's Queens.

Alison Weir lets you walk in Katherine's footsteps and so understand this extraordinary woman as never before. History tells us how Katherine died; this captivating novel shows us how she lived. A must-read for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick. 'Shatters the many myths about Henry VIII's long-suffering first wife' - Tracy Borman A Spanish princess. Raised to be modest, obedient and devout. Destined to be an English Queen. Six weeks from home across treacherous seas, everything is different: the language, the food, the weather. And for her there is no comfort in any of it. At sixteen years-old, Catalina is alone among strangers. She misses her mother. She mourns her lost brother. She cannot trust even those assigned to her protection. KATHERINE OF ARAGON. The first of Henry's Queens. Her story. Acclaimed, bestselling historian Alison Weir has based her enthralling account of Henry VIII's first wife on extensive research and new theories. She reveals a strong, spirited woman determined to fight for her rights and the rightful place of her daughter. A woman who believed that to be the wife of a King was her destiny. History tells us how she died. This captivating novel shows us how she lived.

Reviews

'In this, the first novel of the Six Tudor Queens series, Alison Weir brings Katherine of Aragon dazzlingly to life. Based upon extensive new research, it is a portrayal that shatters the many myths about Henry VIII's long-suffering first wife. Far from being the one-dimensional victim of history, she emerges as a charismatic, indomitable and courageous heroine whose story never fails to enthral' Tracy Borman

'Yet again, Alison Weir has managed to intertwine profound historical knowledge with huge emotional intelligence, to compose a work that throws light on an endlessly fascinating historical figure. Yet her real gift in all of this is making it feel so fresh and alive' Earl Spencer

About the Author

Alison Weir

Alison Weir is the top-selling female historian (and the fifth bestselling historian overall) in the United Kingdom, and has sold over 2.7 million books worldwide. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Sciences and an Honorary Life Patron of Historic Royal Palaces, and is married with two adult children. Anne Boleyn is the second in the Six Tudor Queens series of novels about the wives of Henry VIII, which began with Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen - a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.

Author photo © Miklos Csepely-Knorr

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th May 2016

Author

Alison Weir

More books by Alison Weir
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.alisonweir.org.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Hardback
624 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Books of the Month
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781472227478

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools