Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen

by Alison Weir

Books of the Month - <b>May</b> Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen

One of our Books of the Year 2016.

When you settle into an Alison Weir you settle into history itself. She is thorough, detailed and hugely knowledgeable. Here she delivers the first of a projected series to cover each of Henry VIII’s wives in big passionate reads. Getting under the skin of Katherine of Aragon she delivers us a frightened, lonely, 16-year who becomes a spirited, determined woman not afraid of standing up to her second husband and challenging him right to the end, not afraid to stand up for her faith and fight for her daughter, Mary. More challenging than Philippa Gregory, drier than Elizabeth Chadwick, Alison’s non-fiction background shines through. Steep yourself in the Tudor Court.

May 2016 Book of the Month.

Sarah Broadhurst

Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen Synopsis

Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of The Lost Tudor Princess, is the first in a spellbinding six novel series about Henry VIII's Queens.

Alison Weir lets you walk in Katherine's footsteps and so understand this extraordinary woman as never before. History tells us how Katherine died; this captivating novel shows us how she lived. A must-read for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick. 'Shatters the many myths about Henry VIII's long-suffering first wife' - Tracy Borman A Spanish princess. Raised to be modest, obedient and devout. Destined to be an English Queen. Six weeks from home across treacherous seas, everything is different: the language, the food, the weather. And for her there is no comfort in any of it. At sixteen years-old, Catalina is alone among strangers. She misses her mother. She mourns her lost brother. She cannot trust even those assigned to her protection. KATHERINE OF ARAGON. The first of Henry's Queens. Her story. Acclaimed, bestselling historian Alison Weir has based her enthralling account of Henry VIII's first wife on extensive research and new theories. She reveals a strong, spirited woman determined to fight for her rights and the rightful place of her daughter. A woman who believed that to be the wife of a King was her destiny. History tells us how she died. This captivating novel shows us how she lived.

Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Sarah Musk - 'A sympathetic gripping account of the decline of the marriage of Henry VIII and Katharine of Aragon.  At the end England would never be the same again.'
  • Sue Cunliffe - 'A fascinating read, depicting the love triangle of Henry, Katherine and Anne. Katherine remains steadfast to her beliefs to the end. The consequences changing the course of history forever.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Wow!! I have learnt more from this book, than I did at school.'
  • Lisa Hall - 'I was bowled over by this book - an enchanting, intriguing look into the life of Katherine of Aragon, as opposed to what happened after she was removed as Henry's Queen, I was mesmerised.'
  • Kathy Howell - 'I have read and enjoyed Alison Weir’s books and really enjoyed reading this one too. All her books are well researched but easy to read.'
  • Mollie Mayson-Simpson - 'Historical fiction as presented by a true historian - edge-of-the-seat confrontation between the one true queen and the husband attempting to depose of her.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'History and the story of Katherine's life in one book. Told from Katherine's point of view from the day she arrives in England...As a history lover, this book was a pleasure to read.'
  • Margaret Freeman - 'An enjoyable fictional biography of Katherine of Aragon, based on historical fact.'
  • Joy Finlayson - 'Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen gives voice to an essential player in the 16th Century, displaying strength of character and an unwavering faith.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'This is the story about Katherine of Aragon who became Queen of England. Katherine was married to Henry VIII and reading the story about their notorious marriage was impossible to put

Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen Press Reviews

'In this, the first novel of the Six Tudor Queens series, Alison Weir brings Katherine of Aragon dazzlingly to life. Based upon extensive new research, it is a portrayal that shatters the many myths about Henry VIII's long-suffering first wife. Far from being the one-dimensional victim of history, she emerges as a charismatic, indomitable and courageous heroine whose story never fails to enthral' Tracy Borman

'Yet again, Alison Weir has managed to intertwine profound historical knowledge with huge emotional intelligence, to compose a work that throws light on an endlessly fascinating historical figure. Yet her real gift in all of this is making it feel so fresh and alive' Earl Spencer

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Tudor
Dark Tracks
The Autumn Throne
Order of Darkness

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781472227478
Publication date: 05/05/2016
Publisher: Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472227478
Publication date: 5th May 2016
Author: Alison Weir
Publisher: Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Hardback
Genres: Books of the Month, Reader Reviewed Books, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction,
Categories:

About Alison Weir

Alison Weir is the top-selling female historian (and the fifth bestselling historian overall) in the United Kingdom, and has sold over 2.7 million books worldwide. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Sciences and an Honorary Life Patron of Historic Royal Palaces, and is married with two adult children. Anne Boleyn is the second in the Six Tudor Queens series of novels about the wives of Henry VIII, which began with Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen - a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller. Author photo © Miklos Csepely-Knorr

More About Alison Weir

More Books By Alison Weir

Cover for Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession by Alison Weir
Cover for Queens of the Conquest England's Medieval Queens by Alison Weir
Cover for Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn by Alison Weir
View All Books By Alison Weir

Share this book