This Side of Paradise

by F. Scott Fitzgerald

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on This Side of Paradise

A critical account of its own era, introducing many themes which would be developed in later works, Fitzgerald's first novel was an instant critical and commercial success, propelling him into the limelight as a literary celebrity.

 

Baz Luhrmann's film adaptation of The Great Gatsby, starring Leonardo DiCaprio, opened the 66th Cannes Film Festival.

 

A 'Piece of Passion' from Alessandro Gallenzi on the Alma Classics editions...
'F. Scott Fitzgerald has been long a favourite of mine. Since I discovered The Great Gatsby at university, I have been avidly reading all of his work. I am particularly fond of some of his short stories, from ‘The Rich Boy’ (in All the Sad Young Men) to ‘The Diamond as Big as the Ritz’ and ‘The Curious Case of Benjamin Button’ (in Tales of the Jazz Age).
 
I have poured all my passion and love for Fitzgerald’s work into these stylish editions, with front-cover illustrations by Art-Deco genius Georges Barbier, flaps, pictures and a wealth of extra material. These books are a publisher’s and a fan’s tribute to one of the greatest masters of world literature.'

This Side of Paradise Synopsis

This Side of Paradise charts the life of Amory Blaine, an ambitious young man loosely based on Fitzgerald himself, as he moves from his well-heeled Midwest home to study at Princeton and then starts frequenting the circles of high society as an aspiring writer. Experiencing failure and frustration in love and in his career, Blaine finds his youthful enthusiasm gradually giving way to disillusionment, cynicism and a life of dissolution.

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Closing date: 24/05/2018

Molly Green is back this spring, with the perfect read for fans of 'Call The Midwife' and 'Grantchester'. Celebrating Molly Green's newest release 'An Orphan's War' we are giving away 10 copies of this book to TEN lucky winners. War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love, loss and war.   To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that the draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 24 May 2018. The Winners will be notified by 4 June 2018. Good luck!

Enter Now

If you loved this, you might like these...

A Sacred Storm
The Last Hours
Queen of the North
Her Hidden Life

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781847492227
Publication date: 27/09/2012
Publisher: Alma Classics an imprint of Alma Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781847492227
Publication date: 27th September 2012
Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald
Publisher: Alma Classics an imprint of Alma Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction,
Categories: Classic fiction (pre c 1945),

About F. Scott Fitzgerald

F. Scott Fitzgerald was born in 1896 in St Paul, Minnesota, and went to Princeton University which he left in 1917 to join the army. Fitzgerald was said to have epitomised the Jazz Age, an age inhabited by a generation he defined as ‘grown up to find all Gods dead, all wars fought, all faiths in man shaken’.In 1920 he married Zelda Sayre. Their destructive relationship and her subsequent mental breakdowns became a major influence on his writing. Among his publications were five novels, This Side of Paradise, The Great Gatsby, The Beautiful and Damned, Tender is the Night and ...

More About F. Scott Fitzgerald

More Books By F. Scott Fitzgerald

Cover for The Last Tycoon by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Cover for The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Cover for Tales of the Jazz Age by F. Scott Fitzgerald
View All Books By F. Scott Fitzgerald

Share this book