desmond elliott 2017 orange blossom days tudor queens series make the most of Lovereading killer on the wall
Vouchers


Undertow by Elizabeth Heathcote
  

Undertow

Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

September 2016 Debut of the Month.

A tension-filled family drama, which encourages thoughts to twist and turn. The prologue sets questions in motion, trapping them in the back of your mind, ready to pounce. A chance meeting places Carmen on a path of no return when she starts to investigate the death of her husband’s previous partner. Carmen’s thoughts fly one way and then another as different events warp her feelings, creating tense uncertainty. Elizabeth Heathcote leaves deliberate gaps in the time frame, I found myself unsettled as I wondered at the missing information. ‘Undertow’ encourages questions, prods at feelings and is an intriguing, provocative read. ~ Liz Robinson

Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

This month we have 3 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 2 May 2017. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 14 May 2017.

lovereading canvas bags

Our canvas bags are also available for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 02/05/2017

Synopsis

Undertow by Elizabeth Heathcote

A heart-pounding psychological thriller for fans of Disclaimer and Apple Tree Yard. My husband's lover. They said her death was a tragic accident. And I believed them ...until now. Carmen is happily married to Tom, a successful London lawyer and divorce with three children. She is content to absorb the stresses of being a stepmother to teenagers and the stain of 'second wife'. She knows she'll always live in the shadow of another woman - not Tom's first wife Laura, who is resolutely polite and determinedly respectable, but the lover that ended his first marriage: Zena. Zena who was shockingly beautiful. Zena who drowned swimming late one night. But Carmen can overlook her husband's dead mistress ...until she starts to suspect that he might have been the person who killed her.

Reviews

'Absolutely gripping, I raced through Undertow at the speed of knots - if you've got a journey to go on, an appointment to wait for, then pick it up and watch the time disappear' Rosamund Lupton, Richard and Judy bestselling author

'A tense, gripping thriller that kept me turning the pages long into the night, desperate to know whom to trust' Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad

About the Author

Elizabeth Heathcote has worked as a feature writer and editor on newspapers and magazines for many years. Her jobs have included women's editor and deputy features editor at the Independent on Sunday, as well as freelance feature writing for publications such as the Independent, Observer, Guardian, Marie Claire and Red. She is presently associate editor at Psychologies magazine. Elizabeth's home is southeast London, where she lives with her partner and two children.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st September 2016

Author

Elizabeth Heathcote

More books by Elizabeth Heathcote
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Quercus Publishing

Format

Hardback
352 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781786481665

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools