Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

book price comparison join us on facebook books of the month

Undertow by Elizabeth Heathcote
  

Undertow

Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

September 2016 Debut of the Month.

A tension-filled family drama, which encourages thoughts to twist and turn. The prologue sets questions in motion, trapping them in the back of your mind, ready to pounce. A chance meeting places Carmen on a path of no return when she starts to investigate the death of her husband’s previous partner. Carmen’s thoughts fly one way and then another as different events warp her feelings, creating tense uncertainty. Elizabeth Heathcote leaves deliberate gaps in the time frame, I found myself unsettled as I wondered at the missing information. ‘Undertow’ encourages questions, prods at feelings and is an intriguing, provocative read. ~ Liz Robinson

Win a SIGNED FIRST EDITION of Damaged.

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED FIRST EDITIONS competition! We are giving away ONE first edition hardback of Martina Cole's new crime thriller, Damaged, signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

Undertow by Elizabeth Heathcote

A heart-pounding psychological thriller for fans of Disclaimer and Apple Tree Yard. My husband's lover. They said her death was a tragic accident. And I believed them ...until now. Carmen is happily married to Tom, a successful London lawyer and divorce with three children. She is content to absorb the stresses of being a stepmother to teenagers and the stain of 'second wife'. She knows she'll always live in the shadow of another woman - not Tom's first wife Laura, who is resolutely polite and determinedly respectable, but the lover that ended his first marriage: Zena. Zena who was shockingly beautiful. Zena who drowned swimming late one night. But Carmen can overlook her husband's dead mistress ...until she starts to suspect that he might have been the person who killed her.

Reviews

'Absolutely gripping, I raced through Undertow at the speed of knots - if you've got a journey to go on, an appointment to wait for, then pick it up and watch the time disappear' Rosamund Lupton, Richard and Judy bestselling author

'A tense, gripping thriller that kept me turning the pages long into the night, desperate to know whom to trust' Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad

About the Author

Elizabeth Heathcote has worked as a feature writer and editor on newspapers and magazines for many years. Her jobs have included women's editor and deputy features editor at the Independent on Sunday, as well as freelance feature writing for publications such as the Independent, Observer, Guardian, Marie Claire and Red. She is presently associate editor at Psychologies magazine. Elizabeth's home is southeast London, where she lives with her partner and two children.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st September 2016

Author

Elizabeth Heathcote

More books by Elizabeth Heathcote
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Quercus Publishing

Format

Hardback
352 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781786481665

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools