eligible curtis sittenfeld tudor queens series desmond elliott 2017 win prizes summer reading

Undertow by Elizabeth Heathcote
  

Undertow

Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

September 2016 Debut of the Month.

A tension-filled family drama, which encourages thoughts to twist and turn. The prologue sets questions in motion, trapping them in the back of your mind, ready to pounce. A chance meeting places Carmen on a path of no return when she starts to investigate the death of her husband’s previous partner. Carmen’s thoughts fly one way and then another as different events warp her feelings, creating tense uncertainty. Elizabeth Heathcote leaves deliberate gaps in the time frame, I found myself unsettled as I wondered at the missing information. ‘Undertow’ encourages questions, prods at feelings and is an intriguing, provocative read. ~ Liz Robinson

Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

This month we have 3 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 3 July 2017. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 17 July 2017.

lovereading canvas bags

Our canvas bags are also available for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/07/2017

Synopsis

Undertow by Elizabeth Heathcote

A heart-pounding psychological thriller for fans of Disclaimer and Apple Tree Yard. My husband's lover. They said her death was a tragic accident. And I believed them ...until now. Carmen is happily married to Tom, a successful London lawyer and divorce with three children. She is content to absorb the stresses of being a stepmother to teenagers and the stain of 'second wife'. She knows she'll always live in the shadow of another woman - not Tom's first wife Laura, who is resolutely polite and determinedly respectable, but the lover that ended his first marriage: Zena. Zena who was shockingly beautiful. Zena who drowned swimming late one night. But Carmen can overlook her husband's dead mistress ...until she starts to suspect that he might have been the person who killed her.

Reviews

'Absolutely gripping, I raced through Undertow at the speed of knots - if you've got a journey to go on, an appointment to wait for, then pick it up and watch the time disappear' Rosamund Lupton, Richard and Judy bestselling author

'A tense, gripping thriller that kept me turning the pages long into the night, desperate to know whom to trust' Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad

About the Author

Elizabeth Heathcote has worked as a feature writer and editor on newspapers and magazines for many years. Her jobs have included women's editor and deputy features editor at the Independent on Sunday, as well as freelance feature writing for publications such as the Independent, Observer, Guardian, Marie Claire and Red. She is presently associate editor at Psychologies magazine. Elizabeth's home is southeast London, where she lives with her partner and two children.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st September 2016

Author

Elizabeth Heathcote

More books by Elizabeth Heathcote
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Quercus Publishing

Format

Hardback
352 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781786481665

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools