Undertow

by Elizabeth Heathcote

Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month Family Drama Relationship Stories Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Undertow

September 2016 Debut of the Month.

A tension-filled family drama, which encourages thoughts to twist and turn. The prologue sets questions in motion, trapping them in the back of your mind, ready to pounce. A chance meeting places Carmen on a path of no return when she starts to investigate the death of her husband’s previous partner. Carmen’s thoughts fly one way and then another as different events warp her feelings, creating tense uncertainty. Elizabeth Heathcote leaves deliberate gaps in the time frame, I found myself unsettled as I wondered at the missing information. ‘Undertow’ encourages questions, prods at feelings and is an intriguing, provocative read. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Undertow Synopsis

A heart-pounding psychological thriller for fans of Disclaimer and Apple Tree Yard. My husband's lover. They said her death was a tragic accident. And I believed them ...until now. Carmen is happily married to Tom, a successful London lawyer and divorce with three children. She is content to absorb the stresses of being a stepmother to teenagers and the stain of 'second wife'. She knows she'll always live in the shadow of another woman - not Tom's first wife Laura, who is resolutely polite and determinedly respectable, but the lover that ended his first marriage: Zena. Zena who was shockingly beautiful. Zena who drowned swimming late one night. But Carmen can overlook her husband's dead mistress ...until she starts to suspect that he might have been the person who killed her.

Undertow Press Reviews

'Absolutely gripping, I raced through Undertow at the speed of knots - if you've got a journey to go on, an appointment to wait for, then pick it up and watch the time disappear' Rosamund Lupton, Richard and Judy bestselling author

'A tense, gripping thriller that kept me turning the pages long into the night, desperate to know whom to trust' Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad

If you loved this, you might like these...

Watching You
The French Girl
The Dead Ex
Awakened A Novel

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781786481665
Publication date: 01/09/2016
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781786481665
Publication date: 1st September 2016
Author: Elizabeth Heathcote
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: Debuts of the Month, eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Relationship Stories, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense,

About Elizabeth Heathcote

Elizabeth Heathcote has worked as a feature writer and editor on newspapers and magazines for many years. Her jobs have included women's editor and deputy features editor at the Independent on Sunday, as well as freelance feature writing for publications such as the Independent, Observer, Guardian, Marie Claire and Red. She is presently associate editor at Psychologies magazine. Elizabeth's home is southeast London, where she lives with her partner and two children.

More About Elizabeth Heathcote

More Books By Elizabeth Heathcote

Cover for Undertow by Elizabeth Heathcote
View All Books By Elizabeth Heathcote

Share this book