Undertow

by Elizabeth Heathcote

Relationship Stories Thriller and Suspense Family Drama Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Undertow

A tension-filled family drama, which encourages thoughts to twist and turn. The prologue sets questions in motion, trapping them in the back of your mind, ready to pounce. A chance meeting places Carmen on a path of no return when she starts to investigate the death of her husband’s previous partner. Carmen’s thoughts fly one way and then another as different events warp her feelings, creating tense uncertainty. Elizabeth Heathcote leaves deliberate gaps in the time frame, I found myself unsettled as I wondered at the missing information. ‘Undertow’ encourages questions, prods at feelings and is an intriguing, provocative read. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Undertow Synopsis

A heart-pounding psychological thriller for fans of Disclaimer and Apple Tree Yard. My husband's lover. They said her death was a tragic accident. And I believed them ...until now. Carmen is happily married to Tom, a successful London lawyer and divorce with three children. She is content to absorb the stresses of being a stepmother to teenagers and the stain of 'second wife'. She knows she'll always live in the shadow of another woman - not Tom's first wife Laura, who is resolutely polite and determinedly respectable, but the lover that ended his first marriage: Zena. Zena who was shockingly beautiful. Zena who drowned swimming late one night. But Carmen can overlook her husband's dead mistress ...until she starts to suspect that he might have been the person who killed her.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781786481696
Publication date: 23rd February 2017
Author: Elizabeth Heathcote
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 30/09/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from July to September. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: The Beresford by Will Carver - Published 22nd July Girls Who Lie by Eva Bjorg Aegisdottir - Published 22nd July No Honour by Awais Khan - Published 19th August The Great Silence by Doug Johnstone - Published 19th August Black Reed Bay by Rod Reynolds - Published 2nd September This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th September 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Undertow

The Girlfriend
Behind Closed Doors
A Suitable Lie
Blood Orange

Elizabeth Heathcote Press Reviews

'Absolutely gripping, I raced through Undertow at the speed of knots - if you've got a journey to go on, an appointment to wait for, then pick it up and watch the time disappear' Rosamund Lupton, Richard and Judy bestselling author

'A tense, gripping thriller that kept me turning the pages long into the night, desperate to know whom to trust' Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781786481696
Publication date: 23/02/2017
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781786481665
Publication date: 01/09/2016
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781786481689
Publication date: 01/09/2016
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Elizabeth Heathcote

Elizabeth Heathcote has worked as a feature writer and editor on newspapers and magazines for many years. Her jobs have included women's editor and deputy features editor at the Independent on Sunday, as well as freelance feature writing for publications such as the Independent, Observer, Guardian, Marie Claire and Red. She is presently associate editor at Psychologies magazine. Elizabeth's home is southeast London, where she lives with her partner and two children.

More About Elizabeth Heathcote

More Books By Elizabeth Heathcote

Undertow
View All Books By Elizabeth Heathcote

Share this book