twitter desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Speak by Louisa Hall
  

Speak

Science Fiction   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Highly Recommended.

You might imagine that a novel about the development of an Artificial Intelligence might be dry or technical. Louisa Hall’s wonderful novel is anything but. This is a warm and rich tale of loss and love written in prose that is often poetic but always pulls you through. It should appeal to fans of David Mitchell and Margaret Atwood.

From a 17th century girl’s diary (I loved the spirit and courage of Mary Bradford especially), to the 2040 confessions of the man accused of creating machines, like Mary3, that are too human, via imagined letters of troubled scientific genius Alan Turing; this is a gripping weaving together of several very different stories. In less controlled hands this could be a problem but Speak’s threads come together to be always coherent and always touching. This is a story about how words and memories work to make us our characters and to allow us to be with other people. It’s about how we define ourselves and how we work out what love us.

Artificial Intelligences are becoming the stuff of reality but this SF novel shows that the search for AI says most about us and what makes us human. E.M. Forster implored us to “Only Connect” – Louisa Hall’s novel is all about that. ~ Simon Spanton

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Speak by Louisa Hall

She cannot run. She cannot walk. She cannot even blink. As her batteries run down for the final time, all she can do is speak. Will you listen? From a pilgrim girl's diary, to a traumatised child talking to a software program; from Alan Turing's conviction in the 1950s, to a genius imprisoned in 2040 for creating illegally lifelike dolls: all these lives have shaped and changed a single artificial intelligence - MARY3. In Speak she tells you their story, and her own. It is the last story she will ever tell, spoken both in celebration and in warning. When machines learn to speak, who decides what it means to be human?

Reviews

'SPEAK is that rarest of finds: a novel that doesn't remind me of any other book I've ever read. A complex, nuanced, and beautifully written meditation on language, immortality, the nature of memory, the ethical problems of artificial intelligence, and what it means to be human.' -- Emily St. John Mandel, author of STATION ELEVEN

'Beautifully illustrates the human longing at the heart of our obsession with technology ... a hypnotic read' Guardian

'Transfixing' New York Times

'Brilliant' Huffington Post

'Incredible' Buzzfeed

'Hypnotic' Guardian

'A masterpiece' NPR

About the Author

Louisa Hall

Louisa Hall was born in Philadelphia in 1982 and grew up in the nearby suburb of Haverford. She graduated from Harvard in 2004 and went on to play squash professionally for three years. She is now completing her Ph.D. in literature at the University of Texas at Austin, and lives in Los Angeles with her husband. Her poems have been published in journals such as The New Republic, The Southwest Review, and Ellipsis. The Carriage House is her first novel.

Author photo © Ben Steinbauer

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th February 2016

Author

Louisa Hall

More books by Louisa Hall
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

louisahall.net/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Science Fiction
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Science fiction

ISBN

9780356506098

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools