twitter Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Speak by Louisa Hall
  

Speak

Science Fiction   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Highly Recommended.

You might imagine that a novel about the development of an Artificial Intelligence might be dry or technical. Louisa Hall’s wonderful novel is anything but. This is a warm and rich tale of loss and love written in prose that is often poetic but always pulls you through. It should appeal to fans of David Mitchell and Margaret Atwood.

From a 17th century girl’s diary (I loved the spirit and courage of Mary Bradford especially), to the 2040 confessions of the man accused of creating machines, like Mary3, that are too human, via imagined letters of troubled scientific genius Alan Turing; this is a gripping weaving together of several very different stories. In less controlled hands this could be a problem but Speak’s threads come together to be always coherent and always touching. This is a story about how words and memories work to make us our characters and to allow us to be with other people. It’s about how we define ourselves and how we work out what love us.

Artificial Intelligences are becoming the stuff of reality but this SF novel shows that the search for AI says most about us and what makes us human. E.M. Forster implored us to “Only Connect” – Louisa Hall’s novel is all about that. ~ Simon Spanton

The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse by Alexander Mccall Smith

One very lucky winner will receive a signed copy by Alexander McCall Smith of his latest novel, The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 January 2018. The winner will be notified by 15th January 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/01/2018

Synopsis

Speak by Louisa Hall

She cannot run. She cannot walk. She cannot even blink. As her batteries run down for the final time, all she can do is speak. Will you listen? From a pilgrim girl's diary, to a traumatised child talking to a software program; from Alan Turing's conviction in the 1950s, to a genius imprisoned in 2040 for creating illegally lifelike dolls: all these lives have shaped and changed a single artificial intelligence - MARY3. In Speak she tells you their story, and her own. It is the last story she will ever tell, spoken both in celebration and in warning. When machines learn to speak, who decides what it means to be human?

Reviews

'SPEAK is that rarest of finds: a novel that doesn't remind me of any other book I've ever read. A complex, nuanced, and beautifully written meditation on language, immortality, the nature of memory, the ethical problems of artificial intelligence, and what it means to be human.' -- Emily St. John Mandel, author of STATION ELEVEN

'Beautifully illustrates the human longing at the heart of our obsession with technology ... a hypnotic read' Guardian

'Transfixing' New York Times

'Brilliant' Huffington Post

'Incredible' Buzzfeed

'Hypnotic' Guardian

'A masterpiece' NPR

About the Author

Louisa Hall

Louisa Hall was born in Philadelphia in 1982 and grew up in the nearby suburb of Haverford. She graduated from Harvard in 2004 and went on to play squash professionally for three years. She is now completing her Ph.D. in literature at the University of Texas at Austin, and lives in Los Angeles with her husband. Her poems have been published in journals such as The New Republic, The Southwest Review, and Ellipsis. The Carriage House is her first novel.

Author photo © Ben Steinbauer

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th February 2016

Author

Louisa Hall

More books by Louisa Hall
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

louisahall.net/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Science Fiction
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Science fiction

ISBN

9780356506098

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools